Post Reply

Syncing contacts over bluetooth to car issues / problems / won't work

5th July 2011, 04:04 PM   |  #1  
Neo3D's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 227
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Do your contacts sync over to your car?

I bought an Evo 3D and now my contacts won't sync over bluetooth to my car! This sucks, I need this essential feature to work or I'll have to return this phone. Dialing from my car is much easier and safer than dialing from the phone. My contacts synced just fine over bluetooth to my car with my old Evo.

The Evo 3D will connect to my car over bluetooth and can work in "phone audio" mode, but how come the contacts won't sync like before?

What's the difference between the Evo 3D's bluetooth and the Evo 4G's bluetooth?
5th July 2011, 05:01 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Keep an eye on your phone. Even though its already paired up with the radio it will still ask for permission (on the phone) to connect via BT and access the information.
The Following User Says Thank You to rancherochido For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2011, 07:07 PM   |  #3  
Neo3D's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 227
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rancherochido

Keep an eye on your phone. Even though its already paired up with the radio it will still ask for permission (on the phone) to connect via BT and access the information.

Will do, I'll try it again but I think lots of people are having this problem. Especially with BMW.
5th July 2011, 07:30 PM   |  #4  
guyandhisdog's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 84
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
No problems with Ford / MS Sync

...adjusting to life without the trackball
5th July 2011, 07:36 PM   |  #5  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 828
 
4,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo3D

Will do, I'll try it again but I think lots of people are having this problem. Especially with BMW.


If you have a 7 series you have to call the BMW dealership to get the correct code. The 0000 and all of the rest of the standard codes never worked for me. When I called the dealership I had to bring it in and was told it was something with the idrive settings. Hope this helps.


Locked & Loaded
5th July 2011, 08:26 PM   |  #6  
Neo3D's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 227
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by laie1472

If you have a 7 series you have to call the BMW dealership to get the correct code. The 0000 and all of the rest of the standard codes never worked for me. When I called the dealership I had to bring it in and was told it was something with the idrive settings. Hope this helps.


Locked & Loaded

Thanks, but I have a 5 series
6th July 2011, 04:16 PM   |  #7  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 828
 
4,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo3D

Thanks, but I have a 5 series



Still worth a shot. Try it and see if the dealership can help. More than likely they'll tell you to bring it in. Hope you get it worked out.

Locked & Loaded
6th July 2011, 06:16 PM   |  #8  
Neo3D's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 227
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by laie1472

Still worth a shot. Try it and see if the dealership can help. More than likely they'll tell you to bring it in. Hope you get it worked out.

Locked & Loaded

So, you got your 3vo to sync contacts over bluetooth? What model year is your 7? My 5 is a 2006 so I hope that's not "too old" for it to work w/the newer phones. I'll drop by the dealer and see what they can do. May test drive the F10 while I"m there.
6th July 2011, 08:03 PM   |  #9  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 828
 
4,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo3D

So, you got your 3vo to sync contacts over bluetooth? What model year is your 7? My 5 is a 2006 so I hope that's not "too old" for it to work w/the newer phones. I'll drop by the dealer and see what they can do. May test drive the F10 while I"m there.



No. I couldn't, the dealership did. Hope you get it working.

Locked & Loaded
10th July 2011, 04:16 PM   |  #10  
Neo3D's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 227
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by laie1472

No. I couldn't, the dealership did. Hope you get it working.

Locked & Loaded

I went to the dealer and they couldn't get it to work. On the 2006 5 Series, the iDrive lets you select any pairing code you want, so it's not pre-programmed into the iDrive.

I also tried another user's suggestion of properly using both First Name and Last Name fields in my contacts, I have some single word contacts, like "Home" and "Mom" and that didn't work either

Really sucks, I'm really loving Sense 3.0. I just figured out how to change my lockscreen to display photos from a folder, it's such eye candy!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes