Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to create a Backup of a stock A500 ?

OP king.mark

5th July 2011, 09:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hi fellow Android lovers

I'm still not sure how to make a proper backup of my completely stock A500 (HC 3.0.1).
My plan is:
1. Root with Gingerbreak
2. Install Acer Recovery Installer App
3. Backup my Recovery with the app
4. Install CWM with the app
5. Make a Backup with CWM

Is this a good/correct way to make a backup ?
What would be the best way ?

Thanks a lot for any useful input
5th July 2011, 09:35 PM   |  #2  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 538
 
2,663 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by king.mark

Hi fellow Android lovers

I'm still not sure how to make a proper backup of my completely stock A500 (HC 3.0.1).
My plan is:
1. Root with Gingerbreak
2. Install Acer Recovery Installer App
3. Backup my Recovery with the app
4. Install CWM with the app
5. Make a Backup with CWM

Is this a good/correct way to make a backup ?
What would be the best way ?

Thanks a lot for any useful input

Yes. This is EXACTLY what you should do but with a step 6 added.

Make a copy of your shiney new backups to seperate storage, such as your PC.
The Following User Says Thank You to FloatingFatMan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2011, 12:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Cool ...
Thanks for answering.
Of cause I will safely store that backup on my PC.
6th July 2011, 01:24 AM   |  #4  
Bec07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
A little bit more detail so you don't miss your original recovery.img:

Those interested in getting back their OTA, properly backing up their original ROMS or restoring them, please follow the tutorials in this thread:

Going back to stock TUTORIAL
28th July 2011, 05:23 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Question Backup Help
I have rooted the device and installed the Acer Recovery app. Where's the backup function ? I can do the restore but how do I backup the device and cw install?

thanks,
29th July 2011, 12:37 AM   |  #6  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 520
 
2,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Wink
you have to reboot into clockwork mod . Recovery .. then in there you can choose backup/recovery
29th July 2011, 12:54 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Another thing to try and remember, if/when Acer Recovery updates with a new version of CWM - when you are putting this version on your device and updating recover, don't backup - it will overwrite your "stock" recovery backup with the previous CWM backup (which is likely not really needed with the new version of CWM) - leaving your only way back the final Acer Recovery option of "use stock <whatever version is included with that version of Acer recovery but may not match your recovery version>"

Learned that the hard way
29th July 2011, 12:59 AM   |  #8  
The Odom Project's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Prescott AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfc.joker

Another thing to try and remember, if/when Acer Recovery updates with a new version of CWM - when you are putting this version on your device and updating recover, don't backup - it will overwrite your "stock" recovery backup with the previous CWM backup (which is likely not really needed with the new version of CWM) - leaving your only way back the final Acer Recovery option of "use stock <whatever version is included with that version of Acer recovery but may not match your recovery version>"

Learned that the hard way

I can, however, confirm that the stock recovery they have still works in all versions of 3.1. Just ran into that with the 4.010.13 update.
29th July 2011, 04:18 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Cannot fullbackup in CWM
Hi all,
I did as follow:
install Acer recovery installer V 1.5
click Clockworkmod recovery rev 1.3.4 by thor...
install recovery image (recovey image installed successfully)
power off
press power and volume button enter CWM mode
highlight backup and restore
highlight full backup
it reply
clockworkmod recovery v5.0.0.0 (thor...)
Fixing A500 boot/recovery checksums
running itsmagic
done!
can't mount /sdcard
I really need help from you
thanks in advance
29th July 2011, 04:27 AM   |  #10  
WereCatf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ilmajoki
Thanks Meter: 206
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangolia

Hi all,
I did as follow:
install Acer recovery installer V 1.5
click Clockworkmod recovery rev 1.3.4 by thor...
install recovery image (recovey image installed successfully)
power off
press power and volume button enter CWM mode
highlight backup and restore
highlight full backup
it reply
clockworkmod recovery v5.0.0.0 (thor...)
Fixing A500 boot/recovery checksums
running itsmagic
done!
can't mount /sdcard
I really need help from you
thanks in advance

Do you have a working SD card inserted?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes