FORUMS

ZenFone 2 Lolliflash and ZenPower Giveaway!

We recently did an in-depth review of the Asus Zenfone 2 but one of the things people may … more

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

[Q] How to create a Backup of a stock A500 ?

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By king.mark, Junior Member on 5th July 2011, 08:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi fellow Android lovers

I'm still not sure how to make a proper backup of my completely stock A500 (HC 3.0.1).
My plan is:
1. Root with Gingerbreak
2. Install Acer Recovery Installer App
3. Backup my Recovery with the app
4. Install CWM with the app
5. Make a Backup with CWM

Is this a good/correct way to make a backup ?
What would be the best way ?

Thanks a lot for any useful input
 
 
5th July 2011, 08:35 PM |#2  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 538
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by king.mark

Hi fellow Android lovers

I'm still not sure how to make a proper backup of my completely stock A500 (HC 3.0.1).
My plan is:
1. Root with Gingerbreak
2. Install Acer Recovery Installer App
3. Backup my Recovery with the app
4. Install CWM with the app
5. Make a Backup with CWM

Is this a good/correct way to make a backup ?
What would be the best way ?

Thanks a lot for any useful input

Yes. This is EXACTLY what you should do but with a step 6 added.

Make a copy of your shiney new backups to seperate storage, such as your PC.
The Following User Says Thank You to FloatingFatMan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2011, 11:18 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Cool ...
Thanks for answering.
Of cause I will safely store that backup on my PC.
6th July 2011, 12:24 AM |#4  
Bec07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
More
A little bit more detail so you don't miss your original recovery.img:

Those interested in getting back their OTA, properly backing up their original ROMS or restoring them, please follow the tutorials in this thread:

Going back to stock TUTORIAL
28th July 2011, 04:23 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Question Backup Help
I have rooted the device and installed the Acer Recovery app. Where's the backup function ? I can do the restore but how do I backup the device and cw install?

thanks,
28th July 2011, 11:37 PM |#6  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 527
 
Donate to Me
More
Wink
you have to reboot into clockwork mod . Recovery .. then in there you can choose backup/recovery
28th July 2011, 11:54 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Another thing to try and remember, if/when Acer Recovery updates with a new version of CWM - when you are putting this version on your device and updating recover, don't backup - it will overwrite your "stock" recovery backup with the previous CWM backup (which is likely not really needed with the new version of CWM) - leaving your only way back the final Acer Recovery option of "use stock <whatever version is included with that version of Acer recovery but may not match your recovery version>"

Learned that the hard way
28th July 2011, 11:59 PM |#8  
The Odom Project's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Prescott AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfc.joker

Another thing to try and remember, if/when Acer Recovery updates with a new version of CWM - when you are putting this version on your device and updating recover, don't backup - it will overwrite your "stock" recovery backup with the previous CWM backup (which is likely not really needed with the new version of CWM) - leaving your only way back the final Acer Recovery option of "use stock <whatever version is included with that version of Acer recovery but may not match your recovery version>"

Learned that the hard way

I can, however, confirm that the stock recovery they have still works in all versions of 3.1. Just ran into that with the 4.010.13 update.
29th July 2011, 03:18 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cannot fullbackup in CWM
Hi all,
I did as follow:
install Acer recovery installer V 1.5
click Clockworkmod recovery rev 1.3.4 by thor...
install recovery image (recovey image installed successfully)
power off
press power and volume button enter CWM mode
highlight backup and restore
highlight full backup
it reply
clockworkmod recovery v5.0.0.0 (thor...)
Fixing A500 boot/recovery checksums
running itsmagic
done!
can't mount /sdcard
I really need help from you
thanks in advance
29th July 2011, 03:27 AM |#10  
WereCatf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ilmajoki
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangolia

Hi all,
I did as follow:
install Acer recovery installer V 1.5
click Clockworkmod recovery rev 1.3.4 by thor...
install recovery image (recovey image installed successfully)
power off
press power and volume button enter CWM mode
highlight backup and restore
highlight full backup
it reply
clockworkmod recovery v5.0.0.0 (thor...)
Fixing A500 boot/recovery checksums
running itsmagic
done!
can't mount /sdcard
I really need help from you
thanks in advance

Do you have a working SD card inserted?
29th July 2011, 03:49 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes, I have sdcard 16 gig from acer stock and external_sd memory card 8 gig, both of them work fine. I did remove external_sd card and repeat all steps it don't work...
Thanks
Last edited by mangolia; 29th July 2011 at 04:03 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes