Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD] EVO 3D Overclocked to 1.8GHz!

OP coolbho3000

8th July 2011, 03:36 AM   |  #21  
beyond882001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lawrence
Thanks Meter: 28
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Good Job On this guys, its amazing
8th July 2011, 03:40 AM   |  #22  
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 766
 
886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueGoldAce

So does the performance governor lock both cores into that speed?

I got 2995 on quadrant, then my phone rebooted...

Yes.

Looks like your settings were't stable enough for your particular device - which voltage and scpll_l_val were you using?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to coolbho3000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2011, 03:41 AM   |  #23  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,283
 
5,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Here is what I got in the ten min. I spent nice work guys.

used:

Quote:

adb shell insmod /data/local/tmp/8x60_oc.ko scpll_l_val=30 vdd_uv=1375000


Just don't reboot, LOL
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device2.jpg
Views:	906
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	648589   Click image for larger version

Name:	device3.jpg
Views:	1177
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	648598  
Last edited by zone23; 8th July 2011 at 03:47 AM.
8th July 2011, 03:46 AM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbho3000

Yes.

Looks like your settings were't stable enough for your particular device - which voltage and scpll_l_val were you using?


So then if this is a reliable bench? So does this mean the SGS2 blows away the evo3d, even overclocked, or are we looking at sense being the culprit? Could it be the increase resolution?

On paper the soc should be ever bit as good as the sgs2, so I am just curious to what is going on.

On a side note, great job. I used the setting you listed in the post. After the first reboot, it has ran fine ever since.\

I only ran quadrant once after a reboot, this is what I go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	967
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	648596  
8th July 2011, 03:48 AM   |  #25  
Member
Flag Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueGoldAce

So then if this is a reliable bench? So does this mean the SGS2 blows away the evo3d, even overclocked, or are we looking at sense being the culprit? Could it be the increase resolution?

On paper the soc should be ever bit as good as the sgs2, so I am just curious to what is going on.

On a side note, great job. I used the setting you listed in the post. After the first reboot, it has ran fine ever since.\

I only ran quadrant once after a reboot, this is what I go.

in a benchmark such as quadrant it is running at Native resolutions... so yes, resolution needs to be taken into account when using that as a determination of which is better.
8th July 2011, 03:48 AM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Flag Aibonito
Thanks Meter: 342
 
856 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I want to try this on my Sensation; but

The requested URL /files/8x60_oc_gb786da.ko was not found on this server.

Please fix this

And thank you coolbho3k!
8th July 2011, 03:51 AM   |  #27  
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 766
 
886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek0228

I want to try this on my Sensation; but

The requested URL /files/8x60_oc_gb786da.ko was not found on this server.

Please fix this

And thank you coolbho3k!

Link fixed. Let me know how it works.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to coolbho3000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2011, 03:52 AM   |  #28  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,283
 
5,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
It will be nice when someone writes a script that we could one click the speed and it would auto root and set the speed.
8th July 2011, 03:54 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastorbob

in a benchmark such as quadrant it is running at Native resolutions... so yes, resolution needs to be taken into account when using that as a determination of which is better.

So should we see a 35% decrease due to the resolution? That would be the evo3d on par with the sgs2 without the overclock.

Sorry just trying to understand everything here. Curiosity I guess.
8th July 2011, 03:55 AM   |  #30  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1,307
 
9,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastorbob

in a benchmark such as quadrant it is running at Native resolutions... so yes, resolution needs to be taken into account when using that as a determination of which is better.

That's correct but the synthetic benchmarks are still a bit odd to me. In theory the qualcomm chip should be about equal to that of the exynos used by the SGS2. However, I have my sgs2 (stock, not rooted) sitting right next to my Evo 3D (@1.8ghz) and every benchmark except for V8 is in favor of the sgs2 (by quite a bit). So it's not the resolution since I've taken that into account when comparing scores. I guess Sense 3.0 is just a bloated resource hog.

I didn't use Quadrant because that benchmark straight blows

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes