Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,072 Members 47,069 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] EVO 3D Overclocked to 1.8GHz!

Tip us?
 
beyond882001
Old
#21  
beyond882001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 279
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lawrence
Good Job On this guys, its amazing
Dont FEAR Change, accept it.Winners write history books.





Evo 3D
Evo 4G
Nook Color
 
coolbho3000
Old
#22  
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 761
Posts: 886
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueGoldAce View Post
So does the performance governor lock both cores into that speed?

I got 2995 on quadrant, then my phone rebooted...
Yes.

Looks like your settings were't stable enough for your particular device - which voltage and scpll_l_val were you using?
Galaxy Nexus (GSM)
Control your Android phone's CPU! SetCPU for Root Users
Follow me on Twitter!

Like my work? Buy SetCPU on the market or buy me some [insert drink here].
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to coolbho3000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zone23
Old
(Last edited by zone23; 8th July 2011 at 02:47 AM.)
#23  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,199
Posts: 5,262
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Here is what I got in the ten min. I spent nice work guys.

used:

Quote:
adb shell insmod /data/local/tmp/8x60_oc.ko scpll_l_val=30 vdd_uv=1375000

Just don't reboot, LOL
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device2.jpg
Views:	906
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	648589   Click image for larger version

Name:	device3.jpg
Views:	1177
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	648598  
 
BlueGoldAce
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 511
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbho3000 View Post
Yes.

Looks like your settings were't stable enough for your particular device - which voltage and scpll_l_val were you using?

So then if this is a reliable bench? So does this mean the SGS2 blows away the evo3d, even overclocked, or are we looking at sense being the culprit? Could it be the increase resolution?

On paper the soc should be ever bit as good as the sgs2, so I am just curious to what is going on.

On a side note, great job. I used the setting you listed in the post. After the first reboot, it has ran fine ever since.\

I only ran quadrant once after a reboot, this is what I go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	967
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	648596  
 
pastorbob
Old
#25  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 42
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueGoldAce View Post
So then if this is a reliable bench? So does this mean the SGS2 blows away the evo3d, even overclocked, or are we looking at sense being the culprit? Could it be the increase resolution?

On paper the soc should be ever bit as good as the sgs2, so I am just curious to what is going on.

On a side note, great job. I used the setting you listed in the post. After the first reboot, it has ran fine ever since.\

I only ran quadrant once after a reboot, this is what I go.
in a benchmark such as quadrant it is running at Native resolutions... so yes, resolution needs to be taken into account when using that as a determination of which is better.
 
Derek0228
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 342
Posts: 854
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aibonito
I want to try this on my Sensation; but

The requested URL /files/8x60_oc_gb786da.ko was not found on this server.

Please fix this

And thank you coolbho3k!
Proud owner of a Sprint HTC One.
Boomsound, Zoe, 1080P Screen, LTE... :sweetjesus:

History:
Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300
Samsung Galaxy Note GT N7000
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
HTC Sensation 4G
HTC HD2
HTC Touch P3450 Elf[

 
coolbho3000
Old
#27  
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 761
Posts: 886
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek0228 View Post
I want to try this on my Sensation; but

The requested URL /files/8x60_oc_gb786da.ko was not found on this server.

Please fix this

And thank you coolbho3k!
Link fixed. Let me know how it works.
Galaxy Nexus (GSM)
Control your Android phone's CPU! SetCPU for Root Users
Follow me on Twitter!

Like my work? Buy SetCPU on the market or buy me some [insert drink here].
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to coolbho3000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zone23
Old
#28  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,199
Posts: 5,262
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
It will be nice when someone writes a script that we could one click the speed and it would auto root and set the speed.
 
BlueGoldAce
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 511
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastorbob View Post
in a benchmark such as quadrant it is running at Native resolutions... so yes, resolution needs to be taken into account when using that as a determination of which is better.
So should we see a 35% decrease due to the resolution? That would be the evo3d on par with the sgs2 without the overclock.

Sorry just trying to understand everything here. Curiosity I guess.
 
jlevy73
Old
#30  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,297
Posts: 9,243
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastorbob View Post
in a benchmark such as quadrant it is running at Native resolutions... so yes, resolution needs to be taken into account when using that as a determination of which is better.
That's correct but the synthetic benchmarks are still a bit odd to me. In theory the qualcomm chip should be about equal to that of the exynos used by the SGS2. However, I have my sgs2 (stock, not rooted) sitting right next to my Evo 3D (@1.8ghz) and every benchmark except for V8 is in favor of the sgs2 (by quite a bit). So it's not the resolution since I've taken that into account when comparing scores. I guess Sense 3.0 is just a bloated resource hog.

I didn't use Quadrant because that benchmark straight blows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes