Post Reply

[GUIDE][07/07/11]How to Partition your SD Card

OP Dredz

20th February 2012, 08:51 PM   |  #371  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5,125
 
8,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by weztcoazt

so i have a lil question...once my sd card is partitiion n all is well...if i want to flash another rom..do i still wipe everythiing with sd card or do i jus wipe everything but the sd card..

wipe everything except sdcard

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to Notorious For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2012, 11:49 AM   |  #372  
Dredz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag B'ham, AL
Thanks Meter: 369
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by weztcoazt

so i have a lil question...once my sd card is partitiion n all is well...if i want to flash another rom..do i still wipe everythiing with sd card or do i jus wipe everything but the sd card..

You should wipe as you normally would before you partitioned and also wipe SDEXT.
23rd February 2012, 02:37 AM   |  #373  
btaylor545's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 54
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
quick question if i want to revert my sdcard back how do i do so i upgraded my phone and i dont need the a2sd anymore on the phone and want to have the 2gb back
23rd February 2012, 02:45 AM   |  #374  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5,125
 
8,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor545

quick question if i want to revert my sdcard back how do i do so i upgraded my phone and i dont need the a2sd anymore on the phone and want to have the 2gb back

Back up everything to your PC then
Repartition In recovery 0 swap 0ext that's it then transfer everything back

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
23rd February 2012, 02:49 AM   |  #375  
Tekn010933's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Strong Beach
Thanks Meter: 113
 
769 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo4gnoob

Back up everything to your PC then
Repartition In recovery 0 swap 0ext that's it then transfer everything back

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

Sup Evo just wanted to confirm, what about backup on comp and just a hardreset from settings>SD&phone Storage>Factory data reset>erase Sd too. Would that be the same?
23rd February 2012, 02:50 AM   |  #376  
btaylor545's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 54
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo4gnoob

Back up everything to your PC then
Repartition In recovery 0 swap 0ext that's it then transfer everything back

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

heh thanks man i think ill miss ya the most on here dunno how many times you've helped me out lol i just switched to the Epic 4G Touch you should come over this way lol
23rd February 2012, 02:54 AM   |  #377  
Notorious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5,125
 
8,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor545

heh thanks man i think ill miss ya the most on here dunno how many times you've helped me out lol i just switched to the Epic 4G Touch you should come over this way lol

I don't want to learn to use Odin its to much work


Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
23rd February 2012, 02:57 AM   |  #378  
btaylor545's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 54
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo4gnoob

I don't want to learn to use Odin its to much work


Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

its not too complicated plenty of threads on it only need to really use it for modems and what not but yea im still learning a lot to start to get the hang of things
23rd February 2012, 08:50 PM   |  #379  
Dredz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag B'ham, AL
Thanks Meter: 369
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekn010933

Sup Evo just wanted to confirm, what about backup on comp and just a hardreset from settings>SD&phone Storage>Factory data reset>erase Sd too. Would that be the same?

It's not the same. The partition will not be changed or removed by this operation.
23rd February 2012, 09:12 PM   |  #380  
Tekn010933's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Strong Beach
Thanks Meter: 113
 
769 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dredz

It's not the same. The partition will not be changed or removed by this operation.

Thanks that make sense, so we remove from recovery.
Reminds me of fedora and trying to install windows, grub won't let me until I removed /dev/sda1 or /hda0 etc; leaving only the O/S partition and boot from cd again, all this for nothing now since I just went ahead and decided to put the latest Ubuntu ver on it ? Lol!

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes