FORUMS

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Droid Turbo Lollipop OTA, 2015 Moto G Leaked – XDA TV

Android Lollipop for the Droid Turbo has been released. That and much more … more

A system update is available

734 posts
Thanks Meter: 99
 
By doublecheese, Senior Member on 8th July 2011, 03:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi guys

I have the Sensation and the Flyer so these days I was too busy trying to S-OFF them and to gain perm root. (no luck yet) During this time my Incredible S was turned off this means I have been away from my Incredible S for a month now.

Today I turned my Incredible S on and I saw that there is a new System update :

A SYSTEM UPDATE IS AVAILABLE
SYSTEM UPGRADE 2.30.405.1 (30.17MB)

My Incredible S has been S-OFF`ed since April by XTC CLIP and I have been on the stock Rom due to some errors on the customs roms like ( no harware backlight etc.)

My question is if I apply this update will I loose my S-OFF ?
Secondly If I loose S-OFF will XTC CLIP bring my S-OFF again ?

Thanks

DC
 
 
8th July 2011, 04:00 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I got that this morning.... but then it vanished when i checked again
8th July 2011, 04:17 PM |#3  
baste07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
i think if you're s-off already you won't lose it. and you have the xtc clip anyways, worse comes to worst you can use it again.

i read that if you upgrade to this versoin on stock and try alpharevx, you won't be able to s-off it
8th July 2011, 05:28 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Saujana Putra
Thanks Meter: 8
 
Donate to Me
More
i dont "think", i am 100% sure you will not lose your s-off
why? cuz i have tested every possible way to s-on again my phone..including OTA...
8th July 2011, 05:57 PM |#5  
ehsan76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
You will lose your S-off only when you overwrite bootloader.

I s-off my phone using AlphaRev but wanted to test a few things in full stock so installed my stock GB RUU to S-on my phone again.

After that I S-off again.
It will not s-on unless you run an RUU and overwrite bootloader. Even if you get it s-on accidentaly there its possible to s-off from any state So you shouldn't have any problem installing this OTA. This OTA doesn't have a bootloader (I assume you already on GB ). Froyo to GB OTA had a new bootloader in it.

Let me know if you face any problem s-offing and I'll assist you.

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using XDA App
Last edited by ehsan76; 8th July 2011 at 06:05 PM.
8th July 2011, 08:04 PM |#6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehsan76

You will lose your S-off only when you overwrite bootloader.

I s-off my phone using AlphaRev but wanted to test a few things in full stock so installed my stock GB RUU to S-on my phone again.

After that I S-off again.
It will not s-on unless you run an RUU and overwrite bootloader. Even if you get it s-on accidentaly there its possible to s-off from any state So you shouldn't have any problem installing this OTA. This OTA doesn't have a bootloader (I assume you already on GB ). Froyo to GB OTA had a new bootloader in it.

Let me know if you face any problem s-offing and I'll assist you.

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using XDA App

The OP has a XTC Clipped IncS that is S-OFF. This is not dependent on a patched HBOOT like AlphaRevX is; this is Radio S-OFF and will not be affected, even by running a RUU.
8th July 2011, 08:10 PM |#7  
doublecheese's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Ok I did the update but ,

I am getting an error installing the update 2.30.405.1

My current software is 2.12.405.7

Here is the video of the error .....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc8DPq6XlkA

Any ideas why ?

Maybe I might have installed another region RUU in April, but can't remember now.
Last edited by doublecheese; 8th July 2011 at 08:15 PM.
8th July 2011, 09:10 PM |#8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublecheese

Ok I did the update but ,

I am getting an error installing the update 2.30.405.1

My current software is 2.12.405.7

Here is the video of the error .....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc8DPq6XlkA

Any ideas why ?

In order to install the OTA, you need to replace ClockworkMod recovery with the recovery.img file from the 2.12.405.7 ROM.zip.

Maybe I might have installed another region RUU in April, but can't remember now.

I tried this last night and actually got a progress bar and it got about 1/3 of the way and then I got a red triangle with a !. I know that the radio I have installed is newer than the one in the 2.12.405.7 ROM.zip, so that may be my problem. Anyway, I'm going to pass on the OTA and just go ahead and flash the 2.30 ROM.zip using ClockworkMod instead.
8th July 2011, 11:33 PM |#9  
Maverick-DBZ-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpbklake

The OP has a XTC Clipped IncS that is S-OFF. This is not dependent on a patched HBOOT like AlphaRevX is; this is Radio S-OFF and will not be affected, even by running a RUU.

^^
This



RADIO S-OFF via XTC Clip is permanent as of right now.

AlphaRevX S-OFF method is reversible with a RUU.
8th July 2011, 11:45 PM |#10  
ehsan76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpbklake

The OP has a XTC Clipped IncS that is S-OFF. This is not dependent on a patched HBOOT like AlphaRevX is; this is Radio S-OFF and will not be affected, even by running a RUU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by doublecheese

Ok I did the update but ,

I am getting an error installing the update 2.30.405.1

My current software is 2.12.405.7

Here is the video of the error .....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc8DPq6XlkA

Any ideas why ?

Maybe I might have installed another region RUU in April, but can't remember now.

@tpbklake: Sorry I don't have any idea how XTC chip works as I bought Incredible S after a software s-off method had been confirmed

@doublecheese: Download the WWE_2.30.405.1 RUU from this link and try running it directly from your PC or use this guide to install it from boot-loader. Don't forget to take a Nandroid backup before upgrade
You wont need GoldCard in your case as you have WWE Incredible S and you are installing a WWE Rom on it

Hope this will help

Ehsan
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes