What’s Next For Pebble?

It is all well and good stating figures, but what does $20 million of crowd funding mean for a company? … more

LG G4 Note Picture Leaked, Oxygen OS Delayed – XDA TV

The LG G4 Note has been leaked! That and much more news is covered by Jordan … more

Unofficial Android 5.1 for Samsung Galaxy Note 4

The Qualcomm edition of the Samsung Galaxy Note 4 is another device that received … more

Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[GUIDE] UK Language settings for USfirmware

13th July 2011, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
iammodo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag hell
Thanks Meter: 546
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quick guide for all anyone who has installed the US firmware on a UK Xoom and wants it to UK language.

First step keyboard

Settings>Language & input>Current input method>Configure input methods>Active input methods...

untick "Use system language"
Tick "english (UK) keyboard
Untick the rest.


Now for the "system language"

go to market and install MoreLocate 2 ( does not need root)
http://t.co/hvXhoZ3

open the app

click options (grid icon)

"add Locate"

Label - UK
Language - en
Country - GB

then click add

should now say English (united Kingdom) at the top if not tap UK


Hope this helps everyone.

Things its solved I can now use the app movies ( review app not google one) from the market before it just forced closed.

Okay also got UK bluetooth keyboard working as it should.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9#post16090999


If you found this helpful click the thanks button
Last edited by iammodo; 2nd August 2011 at 01:37 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iammodo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th July 2011, 06:38 AM   |  #2  
Lothaen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 410
 
4,011 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Any idea if this works for the BT UK layout keyboard too?
14th July 2011, 08:17 AM   |  #3  
iammodo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag hell
Thanks Meter: 546
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothaen

Any idea if this works for the BT UK layout keyboard too?

Don't have one so can't test sorry

Sent from my Phone
14th July 2011, 05:43 PM   |  #4  
Lothaen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 410
 
4,011 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
it doesnt by the way, but there is an issue on google android bug tracker that has been picked up for alternative layouts it seems
14th July 2011, 07:54 PM   |  #5  
iammodo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag hell
Thanks Meter: 546
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothaen

it doesnt by the way, but there is an issue on google android bug tracker that has been picked up for alternative layouts it seems

Can you not change settings again once its connected?

Sent from my Phone
15th July 2011, 06:39 AM   |  #6  
Lothaen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 410
 
4,011 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iammodo

Can you not change settings again once its connected?

Sent from my Phone

nope - looks known a known google problem
15th July 2011, 12:12 PM   |  #7  
iammodo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag hell
Thanks Meter: 546
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
using my mac keyboard and mouse on the xoom ( connected with out a problem im very impressed)

but even though all mac keyboards are us layout i cant change it on the xoom.

thats a shame.

Sent from my Tablet
15th July 2011, 02:55 PM   |  #8  
Lothaen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 410
 
4,011 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iammodo

using my mac keyboard and mouse on the xoom ( connected with out a problem im very impressed)

but even though all mac keyboards are us layout i cant change it on the xoom.

thats a shame.

Sent from my Tablet

I checked out the android bug tracker thing, and there's a few people asking for different layouts, incl. dvorak to be able to be switched to and one android dev said they were working on it.
i left a comment anyway, as moto said it would be in their version of 3.1 - so who knows what will happen...

i was really hoping this would be in for 3.2 though


http://code.google.com/p/android/iss...ummary%20Stars
Last edited by Lothaen; 15th July 2011 at 06:37 PM.
2nd August 2011, 01:37 PM   |  #9  
iammodo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag hell
Thanks Meter: 546
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
uk bluetooth keyboard support has now been added.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
3.2, language, morelocate2, settings, xoom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes