Post Reply

[GUIDE][US WIFI & 3G] How To Root Your Xoom From 3.2 Stock [PC & Mac]

OP jase33

15th July 2011, 09:46 PM   |  #1  
jase33's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
- /
Thanks Meter: 1,739
 
1,599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
**THIS IS FOR US WIFI & 3G XOOM**

This guide in no way implies or expresses any warranties.
What you choose to do with your equipment is your sole responsibilty.

__________________________________________________ ______________________________________

SUMMARY
  • You must already be running Honeycomb 3.2 on your Xoom **DO NOT USE WITH HC 3.2.1. IT HAS BEEN REPORTED TO CAUSE WIFI FAILURES** USE THIS TO ROOT HC 3.2 AND THEN UPDATE TO 3.2.1 USING THIS METHOD.
  • You will be unlocking your Xoom, if you have not already. This will wipe data so make sure to back everything up that you would like to keep.
  • You will be performing steps in ADB. If you are not familiar with this, read HERE first.
  • You will need Xoom USB drivers and Fastboot
  • You will need the WIFI boot (kernel) partition with rooted stock 3.2 kernel (thanks & credit to, solarnz)
  • OR You will need the 3G Verizon boot (kernel) partition with rooted stock 3.2 kernel (thanks & credit to, solarnz)
  • You will need Superuser.apk and su binary to enable functioning root
**Before you get started, make sure the USB Debugging option is enabled in the Settings. Go to Settings --> Applications --> Development -->USB Debugging**

PROCEDURE
  • Download and unzip files. Place rootboot.img, superuser.apk & su binary in the same place you will open your command window.
  • Open command window:
  • Type; adb devices - you should see a long serial number on the screen. If no serial number appears, recheck your adb, sdk & moto usb driver files.
  • Type; adb reboot bootloader
  • Type; fastboot oem unlock - and follow the steps on your xoom's screen (You have to accept the terms by pressing the volume down key, and then select 'accept' by pressing the volume up key.)
  • Allow the xoom to boot up completely and go back into settings and enable USB debugging again.
  • In the command window on your PC type; adb reboot bootloader - (if xoom does not respond, disconnect from pc and reboot manually by holding vol up + power. then reconnect after fully rebooted)
  • Type; fastboot flash boot rootboot.img (for WiFi)
  • OR Type; fastboot flash boot 3Grootboot.img (for 3G Verizon)
  • Type; fastboot reboot
  • Allow the xoom to boot completely - your xoom should be in normal operating mode for the remainder of the process.
  • In the command window on your PC type; adb remount
  • Type; adb push su /system/bin
  • Type; adb shell
  • Type; ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su (this line starts with lower case "L", like llama)
  • Type; chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
  • Type; exit
  • Type; adb push Superuser.apk /system/app
Thats it...your done!! Unplug the xoom and reboot. Your xoom is now stock rooted. You can now flash ClockworkMod, other kernels and roms. To verify root, download a root user app from the market and run it. You should be prompted to allow superuser permissions.





Mac Only Procedure

You will need fastboot for mac - download HERE

    • Open a terminal (located in the utilities folder)
    • Navigate to your sdk/platform-tools folder
    • Type; ./adb devices - (look for the xoom serial number to show its connected.)
    • Type; ./adb reboot bootloader
    • Type; chmod 755 fastboot
    • Type; ./fastboot oem unlock
    • Type; adb reboot bootloader
    • Type; ./fastboot flash boot rootboot.img
    • Type; ./fastboot reboot
    • Type; ./adb remount
    • Type; ./adb push su /system/bin
    • Type; ./adb shell
    • Type; chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    • Type; exit
    • Type; ./adb push Superuser.apk /system/app
Disconnect and reboot xoom. Download a root app and test.


If you found this helpfull press the THANKS button.
Last edited by jase33; 13th October 2011 at 05:15 AM.
The Following 70 Users Say Thank You to jase33 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th July 2011, 12:32 AM   |  #2  
Sodikop's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 6
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Excellent write-up, I'll try this when I get a chance.

Been trying to downgrade and then get to the rooted, stock 3.2 using a couple routes shown here. They seem to create an issue with CWM not sticking...
16th July 2011, 04:59 AM   |  #3  
Member
Veradale, Washington
Thanks Meter: 5
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Works great!
I just flashed back to 3.01, re-locked the WiFi Xoom (USA), OTA'd to 3.1 and followed that with the OTA to 3.2. I then unlocked and went thru your rooting procedure and it worked great. All tests indicate a successful root. Thanks for the practical guide!
16th July 2011, 07:15 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag istanbul
Thanks Meter: 104
 
446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
thanks for the easiest way (i dont have an sd card) ..

one Q; why is this boot file about only 2 mb? the original one is aprx. 8 mb.. are we missing some features by replacing the boot files? or is it completely "stock+root" only ?
16th July 2011, 09:31 AM   |  #5  
jase33's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
- /
Thanks Meter: 1,739
 
1,599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by _delice_doluca_

thanks for the easiest way (i dont have an sd card) ..

one Q; why is this boot file about only 2 mb? the original one is aprx. 8 mb.. are we missing some features by replacing the boot files? or is it completely "stock+root" only ?

It is only a boot partition with rooted stock 3.2 kernel.

Sent from my HD2
Last edited by jase33; 16th July 2011 at 09:34 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jase33 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th July 2011, 10:23 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:


[*]

In the command window on your PC type; adb remount
[*]
Type; adb push su /system/bin
[*]
Type; adb shell
[*]
Type; ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
[*]
Type; chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
[*]
Type; exit
[*]
Type; adb push Superuser.apk /system/app

when I type adb remount after completely boot, I've got error device not found !!! any idea??
16th July 2011, 10:52 PM   |  #7  
jase33's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
- /
Thanks Meter: 1,739
 
1,599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussain Isa

when I type adb remount after completely boot, I've got error device not found !!! any idea??

Are you in fastboot or is your Xoom booted normally? If you are in fastboot, reboot and let the Xoom load normally.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jase33 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th July 2011, 12:33 AM   |  #8  
eurominican's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Wow that was easy... Why cant all android devices be this open and straightforward? Im sooo pissed at HTC with the EVO 3D. Cant wait for the Galaxy S2 to come out

Mad respect to Motorola for getting this one right

And last but not least, Thanks so much to the OP for the great writeup!
17th July 2011, 04:44 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jase33

Are you in fastboot or is your Xoom booted normally? If you are in fastboot, reboot and let the Xoom load normally.

I tried both, enabled USB debugging.
After the xoom load or in fastboot I get the same error! !!!

Sent from my X10i using XDA App
17th July 2011, 07:26 AM   |  #10  
jase33's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
- /
Thanks Meter: 1,739
 
1,599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussain Isa

I tried both, enabled USB debugging.
After the xoom load or in fastboot I get the same error! !!!

Sent from my X10i using XDA App

Are you certain you have unlocked the bootloader?

Sent from my HD2

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jase33 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
root, xoom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xoom Android Development by ThreadRank