Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,137 Members 49,977 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BUILD] **Complete FroYo Bundle** FRX07.1 - Maintenance Release

Tip us?
 
arrrghhh
Old
#841  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3,531
Posts: 11,185
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo81 View Post
I've installed SD Booster and set the cache to 256 kb.

I believe it has improved the reset situation, but not eliminated them. I'm still getting 2 or 3 resets a day (vs ~10).

I'll keep playing I guess - sure would like to figure out what is causing it. Anyone know of better logs to look at than dropbox (not revealing much)?
Checkout my Speed Improvments thread. Perhaps that will help? I think I should probably add the cache topic as well. Results seem to vary drastically depending on the SD card. Might want to try different values to see if it makes any more of a difference - AFAIK the lowest setting is 128kb.

As for logs, with these types of resets (within Android) you should not lose any logs at all. Not sure to be honest, but I would think logcat would still roll, although that log does scroll off the buffer pretty quick (as they all do, but logcat seems to be the quickest one to overrun its buffer).

I'm kind of wondering if it is your SD card in general - have you tried a different card? Could be the time it takes to write on your SD is killing everything, and if the system hangs up, killall zygote is sent and boom... back to the boot animation.
The Following User Says Thank You to arrrghhh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eruisi
Old
#842  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 36
Join Date: Nov 2008
Amazing development work. Really appreciate it!

One minor question: I installed Talking Tom in this Android and couldn't get Tom hear my voice and play back in a funny way. Other features work fine.

Anyone know why or is there a workaround?

Thanks
Google Nexus 5
[ROM] stock

Hisense Sero 7 Pro
[ROM] stock
 
yoyo81
Old
#843  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2010
Thanks for the tips. I will definitely try. I have to find another microsd card somewhere.

But just as a clarification, i'm not getting the killall zygote to the animation screen. I'm getting full on resets into winmo. (I have seen the behavior you're speaking of, but not nearly as often as the full reset into winmo).



Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post

I'm kind of wondering if it is your SD card in general - have you tried a different card? Could be the time it takes to write on your SD is killing everything, and if the system hangs up, killall zygote is sent and boom... back to the boot animation.
 
argenisaz
Old
#844  
argenisaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 140
Join Date: May 2010
Location: El Tigrito, AnzoŠtegui
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo81 View Post
Thanks for the tips. I will definitely try. I have to find another microsd card somewhere.

But just as a clarification, i'm not getting the killall zygote to the animation screen. I'm getting full on resets into winmo. (I have seen the behavior you're speaking of, but not nearly as often as the full reset into winmo).
I used to have a soft reboot each and every time I installed or updated an app from Market.

Installed SD Booster, set cache to 256 Kb and up until now everything works perfect! I even dare say the phone is more responsive!

Thanks!
 
arrrghhh
Old
#845  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3,531
Posts: 11,185
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eruisi View Post
Amazing development work. Really appreciate it!

One minor question: I installed Talking Tom in this Android and couldn't get Tom hear my voice and play back in a funny way. Other features work fine.

Anyone know why or is there a workaround?

Thanks
Everyone has issues with this app. I don't use it, I don't get the point. Is there a use for this app? I might try to troubleshoot it if there is some use case, but I can't see one.

If you want to troubleshoot on your own, perhaps booting Android with a call into voicemail (perhaps on speakerphone) will help. Keep the call going while you boot Android. This was an old trick used back in the day when there was issues where the mic wasn't properly initialized.

I'm sure the new audio routing code will resolve this issue, assuming it ever stabilizes .

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo81 View Post
Thanks for the tips. I will definitely try. I have to find another microsd card somewhere.

But just as a clarification, i'm not getting the killall zygote to the animation screen. I'm getting full on resets into winmo. (I have seen the behavior you're speaking of, but not nearly as often as the full reset into winmo).
Now let's be careful here. Resets to WinMo are kernel panics, almost 100% of the time. Resets within Android (back to the boot animation) all stem from the system hanging and becoming unresponsive. Not sure the exact metrics, but if the system is unreachable for a certain period of time, it will force the phone to reset itself.
 
Luky522
Old
#846  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sokolov
Hi, Is there someone who can please help me with DroidExplorer, I still can't get it to work (I know, I'm noob in things like that). Thanks a lot.
 
arrrghhh
Old
#847  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3,531
Posts: 11,185
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luky522 View Post
Hi, Is there someone who can please help me with DroidExplorer, I still can't get it to work (I know, I'm noob in things like that). Thanks a lot.
Might want to explain the problems you're having with it.

Is it the USB drivers? Did you use PDA.net as directed? I'm assuming this is Windows? What actually is failing? Where are you getting stuck...? Do any devices show!?!?!
 
yoyo81
Old
#848  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2010
So I am experiencing kernel panics? That does not sound good. I can't imagine me executing some code path that is unique. I know there are others experiencing the full resets into winmo. Like I said, I didn't have this problem in FRX06 - and i've reinstalled data.img a few times as well as formatted the SD card using HP Tool.

You would think a kernel panic would leave remnants of something in the logs, but I haven't been able to find any. I'll keep digging.


Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post


Now let's be careful here. Resets to WinMo are kernel panics, almost 100% of the time. Resets within Android (back to the boot animation) all stem from the system hanging and becoming unresponsive. Not sure the exact metrics, but if the system is unreachable for a certain period of time, it will force the phone to reset itself.
 
arrrghhh
Old
#849  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3,531
Posts: 11,185
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo81 View Post
So I am experiencing kernel panics? That does not sound good. I can't imagine me executing some code path that is unique. I know there are others experiencing the full resets into winmo. Like I said, I didn't have this problem in FRX06 - and i've reinstalled data.img a few times as well as formatted the SD card using HP Tool.

You would think a kernel panic would leave remnants of something in the logs, but I haven't been able to find any. I'll keep digging.
Well resets to WinMo, you'll only get logs from Dropbox/ramconsole. You won't get logs any other way...

Kernel panics can happen for many reasons. Even things like a bad SD card could cause it. Obviously kernel panics should never happen, but our kernel is far from perfect . In reality, the kernel should be hardened against anything that could cause a panic, it should just generate an error for userland to deal with.

Make sure you're on the newest kernel & rootfs.
 
prexzone
Old
#850  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 66
Join Date: Apr 2011
Hello guys, my internet stopped working n i realized the 3G sign is gone. i tried turning my phone off n back on but still the same problem. i cant update anything or even receive mms. can anyone help me out?

Tags
htc touch pro2, xdandroid
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes