5,597,354 Members 32,536 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Easily resize system + data partitions!

Tip us?
 
effortless.
Old
(Last edited by effortless.; 13th October 2011 at 12:12 PM.)
#1  
effortless.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default [HOW-TO] Easily resize system + data partitions!

BIG THANKS TO MUR4IK FOR THIS TOOL! Be sure to donate to him and support his work!

Cannot get the builder to run or use Linux/Mac? Solution here!

In this guide I will be showing you how to resize your data + system partitions for more/less space.

Things you will need:
LG GT540 w/ A Fastboot ROM installed
LG drivers and Fastboot/ADB drivers installed
Windows (with .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 installed. If you have trouble launching the program, (re)install .NET 3.5 SP1. Also this tool will not work with Wine on Linux.)
Your phones USB cable.

WARNING: MAKE SURE TO NANDROID BACKUP YOUR ROM BEFORE CHANGING THE PARTITION SIZES! YOU MAY NEED IT LATER. ALSO, THIS TOOL DOES NOT REMOVE RECOVERY.
First of all, grab the SwiftBootloaderBuilder.zip from http://kulkoff.com/swift/ or from here.
(Mur4ik's site is recommended)

Next, put your phone into Fastboot Mode (Camera+Power)

Extract the files to your Desktop using any archiving program. Then go to the folder you extracted. Right Click and Select 'Run as Administrator'


You will see a window like this pop up:

Now we can alter the partition sizes. If you want the same effects as Mur4ik's 234MB DATA KDZ, choose 150MB system, and the data column will change accordingly. If you want a bit more system space (eg. To run airbus360's LG Optimus One ROM) Select 190 system. Basically, adjust the settings to how you want. My recommendations are:

For SwiftDroid, joe.stone AOSP, airbus360 AOSP, EleganceSwift, MMXTREM 2.1 Lite, Quarx Black ROM: 150 system 234 data
For airbus360 Optimus One: 190 system 194 data
For stock 2.1: 250 system 134 data

Once you have decided on the size you want, hit 'Flash New Bootloader' and confirm you really want to do this. You will get a 'Done' message and then click OK. Select 'Wipe Data' and then Reboot Device. After you click reboot, hold down HOME until recovery pops up.

Now you have two choices. Either install a new ROM from scratch, or restore your nandroid backup you made earlier.
This tool also has the option to remove fastboot and recovery from the device, so you can return to stock firmware, and possibly use regular LG updates again.

Thats it!

If you've got any questions, PM me or reply to the thread.

Also, don't forget to say if I helped!
The Following 62 Users Say Thank You to effortless. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tejasdj12
Old
#2  
tejasdj12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 277
Posts: 525
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mumbai
Anyone with WinXP SP3 32-bit has got it working successfully?? I still can't make it work. Resizing, removing fastboot & recovery doesn't work for me.
Nexus 4 - OmniROM Nightlies (Kitkat) with Franco kernel
Nexus 7 - OmniROM Nightlies (Kitkat)

Past Phones:
LG GT540 (Touchscreen dead)
 
-Grift-
Old
#3  
-Grift-'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1901
Posts: 4,485
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Singapore
not sure it works on 32bit. it was tested by mur4ik using a 64bit windows7 computer.




Devices That I Have Rooted/Flashed/S-OFF
Asus Google Nexus 7 2012(Active)
LG GT540 Optimus Swift
LG Optimus 4X HD P880
LG Google Nexus 5 (Active)
Samsung Galaxy Mini
Samsung Galaxy Ace
Samsung Galaxy Note
Samsung Galaxy S II (<-- Best Phone Ever)
HTC Sensation XE

 
fishears
Old
#4  
fishears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2639
Posts: 2,305
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ask Google
Quote:
Originally Posted by bs828 View Post
not sure it works on 32bit. it was tested by mur4ik using a 64bit windows7 computer.
It works on 32bit Win7

Sent from my GT540 using XDA Premium App

 
thanatos87
Old
#5  
thanatos87's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: pembrokeshire
Works perfectly for me on win7 32bit! thanks for making this!!!
 
effortless.
Old
#6  
effortless.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tejasdj12 View Post
Anyone with WinXP SP3 32-bit has got it working successfully?? I still can't make it work. Resizing, removing fastboot & recovery doesn't work for me.
I have only tried on Windows 7, but i'll try it on my netbook soon (that runs XP)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to effortless. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
effortless.
Old
#7  
effortless.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jul 2011
Working fine for me (XP SP3 w/ .NET 3.5 SP1) No issues at all, also partitions resize ok too.
The Following User Says Thank You to effortless. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mur4ik
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 307
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi. Thats should be added in header that this "tool" has a requirements MS .NET frameworks 3.5 SP1 and adove.
I'm do not know anything about ROM's porting or development ...
The Following User Says Thank You to Mur4ik For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
effortless.
Old
#9  
effortless.'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jul 2011
Mur4ik,
Because this tool can save the bootloader instead of flashing it, would it work to save the bootloader using the tool in Wine, then flashing it with fastboot (maybe a solution for Linux users) What would the command be to flash this boot bootloader?
Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to effortless. For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mur4ik
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 307
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by effortless. View Post
Mur4ik,
Because this tool can save the bootloader instead of flashing it, would it work to save the bootloader using the tool in Wine, then flashing it with fastboot (maybe a solution for Linux users) What would the command be to flash this boot bootloader?
Thanks.
Code:
fastboot flash APPSBL your_file_filename.mbn
I'm do not know anything about ROM's porting or development ...

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mur4ik For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes