Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Downgrade G2 (2.3.X) & DZ (2.3.X) & mT4g (2.3.4) & DHD w/ S-ON to Stock Froyo

OP Setherio

26th August 2011, 06:21 AM   |  #131  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 7
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
The only way that could be happening is if you skipped the initial steps and just downloaded froyo, put it in the root of your SD card and tried to do the update (downgrade) without taking the initial steps necessary to fool the system into thinking you're on an older version, or you performed those steps but did not pay attention to the results and failed.

The OP included the responses you should see to indicate success on those steps, so there should be no reason to assume they worked and try to perform the downgrade.

My guess is you never tried them and just attempted the final step, hence it failed. If you need help I'll be glad to do what I can.
26th August 2011, 07:23 AM   |  #132  
Setherio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualflyer

Hi, I've put your guide into a complete downgrading and rooting guide on an Italian forum. I'm gonna link this thread and mention it's all your work. If you don't want me to post it there in Italian, let me know.

I don't mind, but could you give me the link so I could make a section of "Translations of this Guide"?
The Following User Says Thank You to Setherio For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2011, 07:32 AM   |  #133  
Setherio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by $pitacular1

Figured it out. This should solve the problem for anyone who faces the "permission denied" problem

When the OP said to "Download the attached files, unzip them, and place them in your platform-tools directory" he should have made it clear that it's the files INSIDE of the unzipped folders that you want.

I would unzip them on your desktop or downloads folder, then drag the FILES named "fre3vo" and "misc_version" to your platform-tools directory (do NOT drag the entire FOLDERS).

Problem is, once you push the folders instead of the files into /data/local/tmp, NOTHING will work until you delete those folders and re-push the files.

So if you made the same mistake I did and pushed the entire folders for either one of those files, make sure you wipe the /data/local/tmp folder completely by deleting all folders and files, then re-push the single files, not the folders.

After that, it will work just fine.

Hope I helped someone.

Thanks for pointing that out, I updated the guide, hopefully now it's elaborate and understood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Setherio

Download the attached files, unzip them, and place the files in your platform-tools folder. To elaborate, place the fre3vo file inside of the fre3vo.zip file and the misc_version file inside the misc_version_01.zip file in your platform-tools directory.).

26th August 2011, 10:50 AM   |  #134  
virtualflyer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setherio

I don't mind, but could you give me the link so I could make a section of "Translations of this Guide"?

It's here http://www.androidworld.it/forum/mod...79/#post236867 It's a complete DZ rooting guide, so it's not only this guide, but there is it too.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to virtualflyer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2011, 03:13 PM   |  #135  
Senior Member
Flag Milan
Thanks Meter: 10
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
great job
26th August 2011, 09:27 PM   |  #136  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
i think a video should made showing this...
anything for MAC?
27th August 2011, 08:17 AM   |  #137  
Setherio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:

i think a video should made showing this...
anything for MAC?

Mac as in OS X? Everything mentioned in the guide can be used on os x, Linux, and windows.

As for a video, that's crossed my mind a few times, but I just don't have the time up do it.
27th August 2011, 02:23 PM   |  #138  
AwesomeTurtle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 101
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Allrighty. I have no computer of any sort at the moment, so adb is out of the question. 'cat /dev/msm_rotator' through terminal emulator gives me the good ol' permission denied, so my question is: Is adb the difference maker here?
27th August 2011, 04:28 PM   |  #139  
VoiD_Dweller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 877
 
921 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Worked great for my MT4G replacement phone this morning, took a while but it was seamless, thanks for the guide! +1 I'm currently restoring my VU 1.31 backup!
27th August 2011, 07:12 PM   |  #140  
Setherio's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AwesomeTurtle

Allrighty. I have no computer of any sort at the moment, so adb is out of the question. 'cat /dev/msm_rotator' through terminal emulator gives me the good ol' permission denied, so my question is: Is adb the difference maker here?

Yeah... too bad too because I just think I found a way to install rom without the use of a sdcard.

Code:
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                   185.3M     32.0K    185.3M   0% /dev
/dev/block/mmcblk0p27
                        198.3M     45.3M    142.8M  24% /cache
/dev/block/mmcblk0p26
                          1.3G    736.1M    506.5M  59% /data
/dev/block/mmcblk0p25
                        409.2M    138.9M    270.3M  34% /system
/dev/block/mmcblk0p27
                        198.3M     45.3M    142.8M  24% /sdcard
/data/local #
Then again, I wouldn't be sure how to mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p27 (/cache) to /sdcard without being back to use adb...


So in short, I don't think there is a way...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
downgrade fastboot
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes