Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] to increase internal memory using micro sd card

OP nivedith007

24th July 2011, 05:45 AM   |  #1  
nivedith007's Avatar
OP Member
Flag bangalore
Thanks Meter: 5
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Hi guys , I have been using this handset since october, i have tried all roms till date and other tweaks , one thing i still couldnt get it is how to increase the internal memory.. the whole things is still a zig zag puzzle for me. if sumone can help me with step by step tutorial , will be gr8. i have tried creating partition in my sd card via cwm , bt in vain. infact ended up corrupting my card and got it replaced.
24th July 2011, 02:42 PM   |  #2  
dhirend_6d's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,217
 
2,385 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nivedith007

Hi guys , I have been using this handset since october, i have tried all roms till date and other tweaks , one thing i still couldnt get it is how to increase the internal memory.. the whole things is still a zig zag puzzle for me. if sumone can help me with step by step tutorial , will be gr8. i have tried creating partition in my sd card via cwm , bt in vain. infact ended up corrupting my card and got it replaced.

Create partitions using Minitools partition wizard. Create ext4(256-512) and linux swap(0-128) partitions. Switch off your phone. Put the SD card in, trboot into recovery and wipe data. And then reboot.
26th July 2011, 08:26 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Mangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhirend_6d

Create partitions using Minitools partition wizard. Create ext4(256-512) and linux swap(0-128) partitions. Switch off your phone. Put the SD card in, trboot into recovery and wipe data. And then reboot.

Coul you just elaborate about the Linux swap file? Is it just like the virtual memory on the SD Card? Suppose if we have 16GB card and create larger EXT4 partitions, would we have to still create Linux swap partition of just 128MB?
26th July 2011, 08:38 AM   |  #4  
Member
Flag hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 3
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Thumbs up
For those who facing problem of low internel memory(ROOT REQUIRED)
No need to partition SD card
1) install the app
2) backup with titanium backup
2)uninstall the app
4) go to titaninium backup->Preferences->Restore Backup to->externel media
5) Restore the app with Titanium backup,,

by app2sd u can verify location where the app installed.
And your memory will never go low.. u can manage easily..
26th July 2011, 08:46 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Mangalore
Thanks Meter: 7
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjay.july

For those who facing problem of low internel memory(ROOT REQUIRED)
No need to partition SD card
1) install the app
2) backup with titanium backup
2)uninstall the app
4) go to titaninium backup->Preferences->Restore Backup to->externel media
5) Restore the app with Titanium backup,,

by app2sd u can verify location where the app installed.
And your memory will never go low.. u can manage easily..

Through this way without partition, i guess the apps would be installed in FAT32 partition of the SD Card which is comparatively much slower to EXT4.
26th July 2011, 04:44 PM   |  #6  
dhirend_6d's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 1,217
 
2,385 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrn123

Coul you just elaborate about the Linux swap file? Is it just like the virtual memory on the SD Card? Suppose if we have 16GB card and create larger EXT4 partitions, would we have to still create Linux swap partition of just 128MB?

Recommended is 128 MB. 128 MB is more than enough. Swap basically is storage place which can be used as memory by the operating system when system RAM is low.
18th November 2011, 05:55 AM   |  #7  
Member
Flag mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
logi or prima
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhirend_6d

Recommended is 128 MB. 128 MB is more than enough. Swap basically is storage place which can be used as memory by the operating system when system RAM is low.

linux swap logical or primary?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes