Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 39,812 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] to increase internal memory using micro sd card

Tip us?
 
nivedith007
Old
#1  
nivedith007's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 35
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bangalore
Smile [Q] to increase internal memory using micro sd card

Hi guys , I have been using this handset since october, i have tried all roms till date and other tweaks , one thing i still couldnt get it is how to increase the internal memory.. the whole things is still a zig zag puzzle for me. if sumone can help me with step by step tutorial , will be gr8. i have tried creating partition in my sd card via cwm , bt in vain. infact ended up corrupting my card and got it replaced.
 
dhirend_6d
Old
#2  
dhirend_6d's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1211
Posts: 2,383
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by nivedith007 View Post
Hi guys , I have been using this handset since october, i have tried all roms till date and other tweaks , one thing i still couldnt get it is how to increase the internal memory.. the whole things is still a zig zag puzzle for me. if sumone can help me with step by step tutorial , will be gr8. i have tried creating partition in my sd card via cwm , bt in vain. infact ended up corrupting my card and got it replaced.
Create partitions using Minitools partition wizard. Create ext4(256-512) and linux swap(0-128) partitions. Switch off your phone. Put the SD card in, trboot into recovery and wipe data. And then reboot.

EVERYTHING IS CONNECTED. CONNECTION IS POWER.

Samsung Galaxy SIII: AOSP Neat ROM | Boeffla v2.x | PhilZ Touch 6.19.3
Theme Applied: Stock
 
mrn123
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhirend_6d View Post
Create partitions using Minitools partition wizard. Create ext4(256-512) and linux swap(0-128) partitions. Switch off your phone. Put the SD card in, trboot into recovery and wipe data. And then reboot.
Coul you just elaborate about the Linux swap file? Is it just like the virtual memory on the SD Card? Suppose if we have 16GB card and create larger EXT4 partitions, would we have to still create Linux swap partition of just 128MB?
 
sanjay.july
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 80
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: hyderabad
For those who facing problem of low internel memory(ROOT REQUIRED)
No need to partition SD card
1) install the app
2) backup with titanium backup
2)uninstall the app
4) go to titaninium backup->Preferences->Restore Backup to->externel media
5) Restore the app with Titanium backup,,

by app2sd u can verify location where the app installed.
And your memory will never go low.. u can manage easily..
 
mrn123
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 138
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjay.july View Post
For those who facing problem of low internel memory(ROOT REQUIRED)
No need to partition SD card
1) install the app
2) backup with titanium backup
2)uninstall the app
4) go to titaninium backup->Preferences->Restore Backup to->externel media
5) Restore the app with Titanium backup,,

by app2sd u can verify location where the app installed.
And your memory will never go low.. u can manage easily..
Through this way without partition, i guess the apps would be installed in FAT32 partition of the SD Card which is comparatively much slower to EXT4.
 
dhirend_6d
Old
#6  
dhirend_6d's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 1211
Posts: 2,383
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrn123 View Post
Coul you just elaborate about the Linux swap file? Is it just like the virtual memory on the SD Card? Suppose if we have 16GB card and create larger EXT4 partitions, would we have to still create Linux swap partition of just 128MB?
Recommended is 128 MB. 128 MB is more than enough. Swap basically is storage place which can be used as memory by the operating system when system RAM is low.

EVERYTHING IS CONNECTED. CONNECTION IS POWER.

Samsung Galaxy SIII: AOSP Neat ROM | Boeffla v2.x | PhilZ Touch 6.19.3
Theme Applied: Stock
 
Krishna parmar
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: mumbai
Default logi or prima

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhirend_6d View Post
Recommended is 128 MB. 128 MB is more than enough. Swap basically is storage place which can be used as memory by the operating system when system RAM is low.
linux swap logical or primary?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...