FORUMS

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

OnePlus 2 Bares All in New Tear Down Gallery

Last year, the launch of the OnePlus One, dubbed ‘the flagship killer’, visibly … more

Focus – An Attractive But Raw Gallery Replacement

Focus is an attractive new app built by XDA members Liam Spradlin … more

[HOW-TO] - Enable GSM phone calls on your S-OFF Flyer :)

1,730 posts
Thanks Meter: 311
 
By clubtech, Senior Member on 25th July 2011, 10:30 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Prerequisite:

1) 3G Flyer
2) S-Off (get yours from Alpharev soon!)
3) Root

Using root explorer or your favorite text editor edit the build.prop file under /system/build.prop and edit the following lines:

Code:
ro.ril.reject.cs.ss.enabled=0
ro.ril.reject.mo.ussd.enabled=0
ro.phone.function=1
To enable Bt Headset profile change the following:

Code:
ro.bt.profiles	= 4270403
service.brcm.bt.ag_supported = 1

Save your changes and reboot your device. Look under the programs menu you will see the phone app you will now be able to make and receive calls.

Tested on a 3G UK unlocked flyer using an AT&T SIM.

EDIT: now with full BT support!!

Enjoy!
Last edited by clubtech; 25th July 2011 at 11:51 PM.
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to clubtech For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
25th July 2011, 10:32 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Aha, i was just looking for that, awesome, thanks!
25th July 2011, 10:38 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
Now someone please find out to enable the FULL market for us. Changing simply the fingerprint does not work!
25th July 2011, 11:52 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
Updated post to include full BT support!
26th July 2011, 12:02 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thumbs up
Hello clubtech,

Can this be done with just temp-root? Since /system/build.prop is the only file we need to edit.

Thanks.
26th July 2011, 12:19 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
Nope. I tried it and it didn't catch. must be S-off.
26th July 2011, 12:33 AM |#7  
contradude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 185
 
Donate to Me
More
Just out of curiosity, would a modification of this work on the view? I realize that our plans don't include it but it would be nice to mess with.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
26th July 2011, 12:38 AM |#8  
YOSEFE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 108
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokyew

Hello clubtech,

Can this be done with just temp-root? Since /system/build.prop is the only file we need to edit.

Thanks.

This is unlikely because the changes made in the said config file:
1. Cannot be saved and
2. When you reboot, root is lost.

S-Off is what we now need. Indeed, fingers crossed.
26th July 2011, 12:48 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 311
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by contradude

Just out of curiosity, would a modification of this work on the view? I realize that our plans don't include it but it would be nice to mess with.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

I am sure that BT part would work the View,a s for call - it might.
26th July 2011, 05:34 AM |#10  
crackeyes's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag knoxville
Thanks Meter: 187
 
Donate to Me
More
works but a little delayed but great find
26th July 2011, 08:18 AM |#11  
baadnewz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 30,829
 
Donate to Me
More
with temp root:
adb shell cat /system/build.prop > /data/build.prop
adb pull /data/build.prop

open pulled build.prop with notepad++ or whatever text editor you like, make changes suggested by OP. save file

adb push build.prop /data/build.prop
reboot .. and done

theory says that if a different build.prop file is in /data will overwrite the one from /system (same principle applies to apps from /system that when are updated in market new versions are installed to /data and system uses the ones from /data instead of ones from /system)
Last edited by baadnewz; 26th July 2011 at 08:21 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to baadnewz For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes