Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,354 Members 41,796 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

{Trick} Get Around "RAT SELECTION RESTRICTED" on i897 modems!

Tip us?
 
Johnsondr80
Old
(Last edited by Johnsondr80; 28th July 2011 at 08:56 PM.)
#1  
Johnsondr80's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4996
Posts: 3,432
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa

 
DONATE TO ME
Default {Trick} Get Around "RAT SELECTION RESTRICTED" on i897 modems!

First off i need to thank Xda user KevL for putting me on the first step in the right direction to getting here! Thanks!!!


For any one using and running i897 modem for the love of audience chip support on their device and also need band selection to lock 850 band, this thread is for you!!!
I first started using i9000 modem kernal combos just for the band selection ability.
After AdamHolden85 Allowed me to continue development on his KB1 Fusion rom i started a mission to unlock the "Rat". I gathered much information from users that suffered from "Rat". (weird that some users with i897 modems installed don't have this restriction, but most do)

Some may ask "What is "Rat"?"
dial *#2263# on your captivate while running a i897 modem and you get:

but what you are after is:


So lets get to it shall we!
This is really more of a security loop hole!!

1=Remove the simcard from your phone with out removing battery!
(use your nail to lift the edge of the card over the battery lip)


2=dial *#2263# and you will first get "RAT", wait for this pop up!


3=hit "OK" and dial *#2263#, and now you are in!!

4=select the bands you wish to use

5=Menu hard key to get popup here and select end!


6=place device into airplane mode!!


7=reinsert your sim with out removing battery!!

8=Turn off airplane mode and watch cell bars grow and data to connect in your status bar.

9=Dail in *#0011# and check for your self!!


May work on other band selection RAT modems, I only can confirm JH7,JH6,JI6,KB1,and KF1!
My Current Devices: GalaxyNote And SkyRocket
If you Would Like to Make a monetary Contribution to the team for their time and energy
Never Required But Greatly Appreciated
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to Johnsondr80 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DaNaRkI
Old
(Last edited by DaNaRkI; 28th July 2011 at 10:35 PM.) Reason: He's a sneak!
#2  
DaNaRkI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 552
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ???
Default FAQ, at OP's request

FAQ

1.
Quote:
Does this mean UL/DL speeds can be improved on those listed modems?
and in response
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsondr80 View Post
Not there yet. But they say 850 is faster due to less users clogging the line.
This does not effect data speeds because this has nothing to do with HSDPA/HSUPA/HSPA+. That is dependent on something written within the modem that XDA is yet to learn about. (no one seems to wanna touch the modems, in part because they are heavy with proprietary code for things like the bluetooth chip and the GPS chip. proprietary = closed source and a PITA to mod) Tho using GSM = 2G and WCDMA = 3G, so be careful about which 850 or 1900 band you are choosing.

2.
Quote:
And the same bugs with using a I9000 kernal aply, no buetooth, is that corect?
This does not allow for mismatch with kernels, as that is HW communication dependent. Your kernel talking in a 1234 pattern and your modem talking in a 4321 has NOTHING to do with RAT or the band/frequency that your phone it trying to speak to the antenna with.

3.
Quote:
I have tried this a couple times and it doesn't seem to work for me. RAT is still restricted at the main menu.
This does not remove RAT, it gives us a means to work around it. At this point we still don't even know what triggers RAT as some I897 users have shown to not have such restrictions. Until we have figured that out we can't kill RAT, tho we do know it is something within the I897 aka AT&T modems.

4.
Quote:
I notice if I reboot my phone it sets back to 1900 again. I made sure to follow the steps correctly three times. Is this how it works?
and in response
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsondr80 View Post
Most times it will stick past reboot.
Unless you visit recovery for some reason and then reboot from there.
Try a airplane toggle
I find that if I get back on 1900 for some reason. Airplane mode for a second and it goes back to 850.
Settings may get dropped on reboot, sry but for now this is only a change held in the RAM.


Other things to note:


Phone stays on and running the whole time. The most time consuming part of this is waiting for the phone to realize the removal/insertion of the sim card.

-SGS Tools / nitrality- apps have the "secret/service codes" to speeds up and or ease the process.

No love for WCDMA 900... even on fully auto that lone band is unused.

Folks, follow the instructions exact, and take your time. I tried toying around and skipping = not successful.
Lastly you can't seem to force it to run an unsupported band (like I did with the WCDMA 900), it will eventually seek its way into service again. Keep in mind that having RAT means we have limited control over this aspect of the phone.

Also, LOL that I can force it to use GSM and only have edge data
SGS I897 info: ROM-Is Here Kernel-(custom The Collective built) Modem-same...

I'm not always logged on, just to lazy to log off

xda is not your personal mechanic. You broke it! You fix it! Tho we will be glad to offer advice
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DaNaRkI For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
4-2ndtwin
Old
(Last edited by 4-2ndtwin; 28th July 2011 at 01:59 AM.)
#3  
4-2ndtwin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2473
Posts: 3,034
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arkansas

 
DONATE TO ME
Awesome !! And big thanks for this Johnsondr80 !! And a thanks to KevL also !!




 
xpakage
Old
#4  
xpakage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 425
Posts: 1,622
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Does this mean UL/DL speeds can be improved on those listed modems?
 
Johnsondr80
Old
#5  
Johnsondr80's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4996
Posts: 3,432
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpakage View Post
Does this mean UL/DL speeds can be improved on those listed modems?
Not there yet. But they say 850 is faster due to less users clogging the line.

sign up for dropbox using this link to get 250mb free and help fusion at the same time.
http://db.tt/cCn3zrY
presented by Xdapremium app
My Current Devices: GalaxyNote And SkyRocket
If you Would Like to Make a monetary Contribution to the team for their time and energy
Never Required But Greatly Appreciated
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Johnsondr80 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DaNaRkI
Old
#6  
DaNaRkI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 552
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ???
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsondr80 View Post
Not there yet. But they say 850 is faster due to less users clogging the line.
Also the 850 Band travels better so you'll see stronger signal more often. Should also give better call quality, tho I'm not 100% on that part.
SGS I897 info: ROM-Is Here Kernel-(custom The Collective built) Modem-same...

I'm not always logged on, just to lazy to log off

xda is not your personal mechanic. You broke it! You fix it! Tho we will be glad to offer advice
 
thumper_1151
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2009
I just wated to verify.....So there will still be no hspa with the i897 modems... And the same bugs with using a I9000 kernal aply, no buetooth, is that corect? This just alows band selection?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
 
DaNaRkI
Old
(Last edited by DaNaRkI; 28th July 2011 at 08:59 PM.)
#8  
DaNaRkI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 552
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ???
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumper_1151 View Post
I just wated to verify.....So there will still be no hspa with the i897 modems... And the same bugs with using a I9000 kernal aply, no buetooth, is that corect? This just alows band selection?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
Yep, I897 modem is still hsdpa only. Yep, does not add any new kernel compatibility. Yep, does allow for band selection (tho still not a easily as those without RAT)


So, it is mainly useful for devs / testers, and ppl who have dumb phones that love using 1900 band during heavy traffic and/or low signal.
SGS I897 info: ROM-Is Here Kernel-(custom The Collective built) Modem-same...

I'm not always logged on, just to lazy to log off

xda is not your personal mechanic. You broke it! You fix it! Tho we will be glad to offer advice
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DaNaRkI For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Johnsondr80
Old
#9  
Johnsondr80's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4996
Posts: 3,432
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaNaRkI View Post
Also the 850 Band travels better so you'll see stronger signal more often. Should also give better call quality, tho I'm not 100% on that part.
No, you are right.
It dose travel better and reach futher, with stronger.signal.

sign up for dropbox using this link to get 250mb free and help fusion at the same time.
http://db.tt/cCn3zrY
presented by Xdapremium app
My Current Devices: GalaxyNote And SkyRocket
If you Would Like to Make a monetary Contribution to the team for their time and energy
Never Required But Greatly Appreciated
 
nappent
Old
(Last edited by nappent; 28th July 2011 at 05:53 AM.)
#10  
nappent's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 422
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bothell, Wa
I know you guys said this was for testing but I just tried this with the KF1 modem. So I left my self a voicemail, listened to the vm and wow the voice quality sounds really bad. Is anyone else having the same problem?

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes