5,597,084 Members 46,153 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q&A] Ubuntu on the Transformer (eMMC install)

Tip us?
 
rdnetto
Old
#1011  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 317
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
what is "driver injection script" and where can I find it ?
also where can I find rootstock ?

edit: Ok; I got rootstock. But I still don't know what driver injection script is...

problem with rootstock:

root@ubuntu:~/tf/rootfs# sudo rootstock -f TF101 -l user -p mypassword --seed build-essential,openssh-server,nano,aptitude --imagesize 8G --components main,restricted,multiverse,universe --notarball -m http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports -d oneiric
I: Running on a i686 machine
Your debootstrap installation does not seem to have support for the oneiric distribution
root@ubuntu:~/tf/rootfs#
Driver injection script is in the flashkit.

Are you running rootstock on a 11.10 installation?
 
mrmrmrmr
Old
#1012  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,782
Join Date: Jan 2007
no. I have an old ubuntu installation on VMware.
ubuntu 10
 
rdnetto
Old
#1013  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 317
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
no. I have an old ubuntu installation on VMware.
ubuntu 10
Try running it off a 11.10 live cd (or installation).
 
mrmrmrmr
Old
#1014  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,782
Join Date: Jan 2007
no other way ?
 
rdnetto
Old
#1015  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 317
Join Date: Jul 2011
Regarding kernel patches, I noticed that there are a lot of error messages during bootup regarding the Apparmor 2.4 compatibility patches with the kernel from linux_kernel_TF101. This seems to fix the problem, but I'll leave it to someone who knows what they're doing to commit it to the repo.

Also, a note to anyone who uses the patched kernel: you need to disable the network manager (it's in init.d) to connect with wpa_supplicant).

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
no other way ?
Honestly, I haven't done it myself - that's just what I'd try. I can't imagine that running a live cd image would take too much effort though.
 
mrmrmrmr
Old
(Last edited by mrmrmrmr; 23rd October 2011 at 09:26 PM.)
#1016  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,782
Join Date: Jan 2007
ok; I've downloaded a vmware image for 11.10 and it's working now.
installed rootstock and creating rootfs with the command you've suggested.

I assume the output of this will be an ubuntu.img file to be used with the toolkit and I won't need to use the ubuntu.img given in the first/second post of this thread ?

about the driver injection script, which file is that ?
inject-firmware.sh ?

when shall I run it ? in APX mode juyst after the flashing of Ubuntu ?

edit:
this is an 8GB image , will it fit ?
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8589934592 2011-10-23 15:54 qemu-armel-201110231514.img

wtf ?
Code:
sending file: ./images/system.img
/ 536870912/536870912 bytes sent
./images/system.img sent successfully
./images/ubuntu.img is too large for partition
command failure: create failed 
root@ubuntu:~/tf/toolkit#
 
mrmrmrmr
Old
#1017  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,782
Join Date: Jan 2007
After sending the system.img , the script hangs on sending ubuntu.img :

Code:
root@ubuntu:~/tf/toolkit# ./flash-linux-android4.sh 
reading config file ./ubuntu/bootcfg/bootimg.cfg
reading kernel from ./ubuntu/zImage
reading ramdisk from ./ubuntu/initrd.img
Writing Boot Image linux.img
Nvflash started
rcm version 0X20001
System Information:
   chip name: t20
   chip id: 0x20 major: 1 minor: 4
   chip sku: 0x8
   chip uid: 0x037c7043424162d7
   macrovision: disabled
   hdcp: enabled
   sbk burned: true
   dk burned: true
   boot device: emmc
   operating mode: 4
   device config strap: 0
   device config fuse: 0
   sdram config strap: 0

sending file: ./images/transformer.bct
- 4080/4080 bytes sent
./images/transformer.bct sent successfully
odm data: 0x300d8011
downloading bootloader -- load address: 0x108000 entry point: 0x108000
sending file: ./images/bootloader.bin
| 976013/976013 bytes sent
./images/bootloader.bin sent successfully
waiting for bootloader to initialize
bootloader downloaded successfully
setting device: 2 3
creating partition: BCT
creating partition: PT
creating partition: EBT
creating partition: BAK
creating partition: GP1
creating partition: APP
creating partition: CAC
creating partition: MSC
creating partition: USP
creating partition: PER
creating partition: YTU
creating partition: UDA
creating partition: UBT
creating partition: SOS
creating partition: LNX
creating partition: GPT
Formatting partition 2 BCT please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 3 PT please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 4 EBT please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 7 BAK please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 8 GP1 please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 9 APP please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 10 CAC please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 11 MSC please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 12 USP please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 13 PER please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 14 YTU please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 15 UDA please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 16 UBT please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 5 SOS please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 6 LNX please wait.. done!
Formatting partition 17 GPT please wait.. done!
done!
sending file: ./images/bootloader.bin
| 976013/976013 bytes sent
./images/bootloader.bin sent successfully
sending file: ./images/system.img
/ 536870912/536870912 bytes sent
./images/system.img sent successfully
sending file: ./images/ubuntu4.img
What is wrong with my setup ?
 
Danzano
Old
#1018  
Danzano's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 361
Posts: 2,727
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland
sending file: ./images/ubuntu4.img
[/code]

What is wrong with my setup ?[/QUOTE]

I cant see anything wrong you sure you where not just being impatient i have a quad core laptop and it still took a good 20mins to complete the transfer it is a big file and nvflash communication isnt the quickest

Sent from my tf101 using xda premium 1.59Ghz
LG G2

Just installing a few roms to test then will settle on one :P
---------------------------------------------

Asus TF101 32GB with dock
500GB Seagate 2.5" HDD
My own personal re-worked flavour of AOKP built from source a lot of tweaking.
 
mrmrmrmr
Old
#1019  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 1,782
Join Date: Jan 2007
ok; I might be a little impatient, but the counter for sending bytes did not even show up.
in the previous step system.img is being sent and the counter goes through from 0 to 500M.
When sending of the ubuntu.img began, the counter did not start.

And I'm not using the standart rootfs; it's a self created rootfs with rootstock. So I thought there might be something wrong.
Any ideas ?
When should I expect to see the counter ?
 
rdnetto
Old
#1020  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 317
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
ok; I've downloaded a vmware image for 11.10 and it's working now.
installed rootstock and creating rootfs with the command you've suggested.

I assume the output of this will be an ubuntu.img file to be used with the toolkit and I won't need to use the ubuntu.img given in the first/second post of this thread ?

about the driver injection script, which file is that ?
inject-firmware.sh ?
when shall I run it ? in APX mode juyst after the flashing of Ubuntu ?
Yes, yes, and after Ubuntu has been booted.

Quote:
edit:
this is an 8GB image , will it fit ?
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8589934592 2011-10-23 15:54 qemu-armel-201110231514.img

wtf ?
Code:
sending file: ./images/system.img
/ 536870912/536870912 bytes sent
./images/system.img sent successfully
./images/ubuntu.img is too large for partition
command failure: create failed 
root@ubuntu:~/tf/toolkit#
You'll need to modify your .cfg file to increase the size of the Ubuntu partition. You can either use the one I posted a while ago (if you have a 32 GB drive) or read lilstevie's post on how to edit the file (it's not as simple as you'd think).

It'll take a bit less than an hour to copy, but you should see some feedback indicating that it is.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes