Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 44,184 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q&A] Ubuntu on the Transformer (eMMC install)

Tip us?
 
franky1029
Old
#121  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 99
Join Date: Aug 2009
How would I go about getting the kernel to get the headphone jack working?

And thank you to everyone who's gotten us this far, it's really awesome work! I hope to one day contribute myself. (Have some learning to do...)

Sent from my HTC Vision using Tapatalk
 
mgalyan
Old
(Last edited by mgalyan; 1st August 2011 at 02:19 PM.)
#122  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 91
Join Date: Aug 2010
Ok... well...

Got my wifi boot script working.
Daily Unity updates to fix the sidebar.
Logitech cordless mouse is working perfect.
Downloading codecs from the restricted repository...

All I really want now is speakers and touchpad. I'm unfortunately not much of a coder, so I doubt I can be of any dev help, but would be glad to try.

Thanks for making this possible. We are turning tablets into beasts!

Edit: Having trouble getting a Flash plugin installed. Searched a few sites but all the methods lead me nowhere.
 
lilstevie
Old
#123  
lilstevie's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1020
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgalyan View Post
Edit: Having trouble getting a Flash plugin installed. Searched a few sites but all the methods lead me nowhere.
flash does not exist for arm linux distributions, there are plugins which act as an intermediary service for firefox though I believe
 
salamandar
Old
#124  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 255
Join Date: Feb 2009
At work showing off Ubuntu on my TF101, is there a way to add a 2nd wifi AP to the wpa_supplicant.conf? Something along the lines of duplicating the info with my works SSID and Key?
 
aligatro2010
Old
(Last edited by aligatro2010; 1st August 2011 at 06:28 PM.)
#125  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 208
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstevie View Post
flash does not exist for arm linux distributions, there are plugins which act as an intermediary service for firefox though I believe
It exists, but I wasn't able to make it work. This one is compiled for Armel OMAP 3430. It's actually version 9, but patched to appear as version 10. When I tried to ld <name>.so it showed me bunch of warnings maybe that's why it makes ff crash.(I placed it in the correct folder) I can get you the whole maemo rootfs for n900 if you want.

http://maemo.org/packages/package_in.../3.0.0.82+0m5/
Attached Files
File Type: rar libflashplayer10_0_53.rar - [Click for QR Code] (2.13 MB, 12 views)
TF101 4.4.x KitKat


Nexus 5 CM11
 
jcarrz1
Old
#126  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1428
Posts: 1,627
Join Date: May 2009
your md5 is wrong for nvflash-ubuntu.tar.gz.

correct is 95eda389e64461533c51fd1e4e237a30

ubuntu.img contained inside is 43d8da14b2952c0a62302518c66707cf
HTC Sensation z710a
T-Mobile G1 on AT&T US (retired)
Asus Transformer TF101-A1

.............................................Click "Thanks" if I helped..........................................
PM me if you have questions.
 
jcarrz1
Old
(Last edited by jcarrz1; 1st August 2011 at 10:23 PM.)
#127  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1428
Posts: 1,627
Join Date: May 2009
the attached image might provide a little more information about the issues people are having with not executing the included bins in the linux flash kit.

look especially at the terminal output. this has been chmod +x'd and a+x'd. and same issue before and after with nautilus as well.

anyone? idk what to do either...

live usb btw, and ignore my noobishness in remembering to use sudo :{

edit, ignore the attachment its squished. BAD XDA



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	673843  
HTC Sensation z710a
T-Mobile G1 on AT&T US (retired)
Asus Transformer TF101-A1

.............................................Click "Thanks" if I helped..........................................
PM me if you have questions.
 
jcarrz1
Old
#128  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1428
Posts: 1,627
Join Date: May 2009
I fixed that problem by remounting my external drive where I was working with simpler permissions. just
Code:
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/blah4 /media/blah5
and it worked.

now, i get from the script "usb device not found"...?
HTC Sensation z710a
T-Mobile G1 on AT&T US (retired)
Asus Transformer TF101-A1

.............................................Click "Thanks" if I helped..........................................
PM me if you have questions.
 
lilstevie
Old
#129  
lilstevie's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1020
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarrz1 View Post
your md5 is wrong for nvflash-ubuntu.tar.gz.

correct is 95eda389e64461533c51fd1e4e237a30

ubuntu.img contained inside is 43d8da14b2952c0a62302518c66707cf
yeah I forgot to update the md5sum here when I did the last update to the rootfs, thanks for being the only person in 5 days to actually check the md5 of your download.
 
lilstevie
Old
#130  
lilstevie's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1020
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarrz1 View Post
I fixed that problem by remounting my external drive where I was working with simpler permissions. just
Code:
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/blah4 /media/blah5
and it worked.

now, i get from the script "usb device not found"...?
run lsusb, do you see nvidia corp on the list of attached devices?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes