Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q&A] Ubuntu on the Transformer (eMMC install)

OP lilstevie

1st August 2011, 01:53 PM   |  #121  
franky1029's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
How would I go about getting the kernel to get the headphone jack working?

And thank you to everyone who's gotten us this far, it's really awesome work! I hope to one day contribute myself. (Have some learning to do...)

Sent from my HTC Vision using Tapatalk
1st August 2011, 02:51 PM   |  #122  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Ok... well...

Got my wifi boot script working.
Daily Unity updates to fix the sidebar.
Logitech cordless mouse is working perfect.
Downloading codecs from the restricted repository...

All I really want now is speakers and touchpad. I'm unfortunately not much of a coder, so I doubt I can be of any dev help, but would be glad to try.

Thanks for making this possible. We are turning tablets into beasts!

Edit: Having trouble getting a Flash plugin installed. Searched a few sites but all the methods lead me nowhere.
Last edited by mgalyan; 1st August 2011 at 03:19 PM.
1st August 2011, 03:44 PM   |  #123  
lilstevie's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,040
 
1,334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgalyan

Edit: Having trouble getting a Flash plugin installed. Searched a few sites but all the methods lead me nowhere.

flash does not exist for arm linux distributions, there are plugins which act as an intermediary service for firefox though I believe
1st August 2011, 05:43 PM   |  #124  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
At work showing off Ubuntu on my TF101, is there a way to add a 2nd wifi AP to the wpa_supplicant.conf? Something along the lines of duplicating the info with my works SSID and Key?
1st August 2011, 06:39 PM   |  #125  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstevie

flash does not exist for arm linux distributions, there are plugins which act as an intermediary service for firefox though I believe

It exists, but I wasn't able to make it work. This one is compiled for Armel OMAP 3430. It's actually version 9, but patched to appear as version 10. When I tried to ld <name>.so it showed me bunch of warnings maybe that's why it makes ff crash.(I placed it in the correct folder) I can get you the whole maemo rootfs for n900 if you want.

http://maemo.org/packages/package_in.../3.0.0.82+0m5/
Attached Files
File Type: rar libflashplayer10_0_53.rar - [Click for QR Code] (2.13 MB, 12 views)
Last edited by aligatro2010; 1st August 2011 at 07:28 PM.
1st August 2011, 11:08 PM   |  #126  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,432
 
1,627 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
your md5 is wrong for nvflash-ubuntu.tar.gz.

correct is 95eda389e64461533c51fd1e4e237a30

ubuntu.img contained inside is 43d8da14b2952c0a62302518c66707cf
1st August 2011, 11:21 PM   |  #127  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,432
 
1,627 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
the attached image might provide a little more information about the issues people are having with not executing the included bins in the linux flash kit.

look especially at the terminal output. this has been chmod +x'd and a+x'd. and same issue before and after with nautilus as well.

anyone? idk what to do either...

live usb btw, and ignore my noobishness in remembering to use sudo :{

edit, ignore the attachment its squished. BAD XDA



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	673843  
Last edited by jcarrz1; 1st August 2011 at 11:23 PM.
1st August 2011, 11:55 PM   |  #128  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,432
 
1,627 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I fixed that problem by remounting my external drive where I was working with simpler permissions. just
Code:
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/blah4 /media/blah5
and it worked.

now, i get from the script "usb device not found"...?
2nd August 2011, 03:47 AM   |  #129  
lilstevie's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,040
 
1,334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarrz1

your md5 is wrong for nvflash-ubuntu.tar.gz.

correct is 95eda389e64461533c51fd1e4e237a30

ubuntu.img contained inside is 43d8da14b2952c0a62302518c66707cf

yeah I forgot to update the md5sum here when I did the last update to the rootfs, thanks for being the only person in 5 days to actually check the md5 of your download.
2nd August 2011, 03:49 AM   |  #130  
lilstevie's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,040
 
1,334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarrz1

I fixed that problem by remounting my external drive where I was working with simpler permissions. just

Code:
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/blah4 /media/blah5
and it worked.

now, i get from the script "usb device not found"...?

run lsusb, do you see nvidia corp on the list of attached devices?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes