FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q&A] Ubuntu on the Transformer (eMMC install)

1,338 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,041
 
By lilstevie, Senior Recognized Developer on 29th July 2011, 06:11 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th January 2012, 02:44 PM |#1411  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
hi,

first thanx for this awesome program. it works like a charm.

but i have some problems switching between the OSs. when i boot prime and press long the power button i have only the options restart, recovery and cancel.
for restart it is booting android again and when i press recovery it seems that it recovers the second partition and therefore writing ubuntu into the first bootloader section as well?

so how to switch OSs? is there a way to just shut down prime (just long press power doesnt work) so that i can power+vol_down into recovery mode booting ubuntu?
or what do i have to press when for example if it also works when using the restarting option?

i'm sure that just some stupid thing but i cant figure it out by myself ^^

i also found on the prime 1.7 thread a zip including the missing shutdown option but how to install this without cwm that not there because of ubuntu?

thx in advance for all help!
 
 
7th January 2012, 03:21 PM |#1412  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by canedha

hi,

first thanx for this awesome program. it works like a charm.

but i have some problems switching between the OSs. when i boot prime and press long the power button i have only the options restart, recovery and cancel.
for restart it is booting android again and when i press recovery it seems that it recovers the second partition and therefore writing ubuntu into the first bootloader section as well?

so how to switch OSs? is there a way to just shut down prime (just long press power doesnt work) so that i can power+vol_down into recovery mode booting ubuntu?
or what do i have to press when for example if it also works when using the restarting option?

i'm sure that just some stupid thing but i cant figure it out by myself ^^

i also found on the prime 1.7 thread a zip including the missing shutdown option but how to install this without cwm that not there because of ubuntu?

thx in advance for all help!

OLife has an option to restore CWM (it's under Advanced) which you can use to install the patch for the shutdown option.
The Following User Says Thank You to rdnetto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th January 2012, 07:53 AM |#1413  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
hi there,

another question of a linux noob. ^^
i'm running ubuntu 11.10 in dualboot mode with android.

i found out that dropbox is not working under an arm based ubuntu but i would need to have access to the files in my dropboxfolder under ubuntu...
therefore i thought about syncing my files in android and then accessing them in ubuntu.

how do i get access to the data stored in the android partition when running ubuntu?
i think i have to mount the partition, but which one?
can anyone tell me the command line for that?

thx canedha
8th January 2012, 08:08 AM |#1414  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by canedha

hi there,

another question of a linux noob. ^^
i'm running ubuntu 11.10 in dualboot mode with android.

i found out that dropbox is not working under an arm based ubuntu but i would need to have access to the files in my dropboxfolder under ubuntu...
therefore i thought about syncing my files in android and then accessing them in ubuntu.

how do i get access to the data stored in the android partition when running ubuntu?
i think i have to mount the partition, but which one?
can anyone tell me the command line for that?

thx canedha

If 'apt-get nautilus-dropbox' doesn't work for you, you could try compiling the source (available on the Dropbox website). Alternatively, you can mount it like planned (see below).

I believe the partition is /dev/mmcblk0p7 (check the wiki). The command to mount it is 'sudo mount /dev/mmcblk0p7 /media/Android_Data' (presuming you've created a folder at the mount point). Alternatively, you can add the entry to /etc/fstab to have it mounted at boot.

I would like to point out that if you are using Unity, then you can just click on the corresponding media card icon on the Unity bar and it will automatically mount it.
The Following User Says Thank You to rdnetto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th January 2012, 03:01 PM |#1415  
*Detection*'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 838
 
Donate to Me
More
@ lilstevie

Is this video using one of your ROMs ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUkCScxGUm8

Just wondering how back in July this looks like a moderately working Ubuntu on TF101 but looking at the Wiki and reading your thread it sounds like your current version is still very much not for mainstream, am I missing something ?

Cheers
8th January 2012, 03:23 PM |#1416  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Detection*

@ lilstevie

Is this video using one of your ROMs ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUkCScxGUm8

Just wondering how back in July this looks like a moderately working Ubuntu on TF101 but looking at the Wiki and reading your thread it sounds like your current version is still very much not for mainstream, am I missing something ?

Cheers

That was Jhinta's ROM, which was the predecessor of the current ROM by lilstevie. Everything shown working in the video works (plus what's listed in the wiki), and it will be faster (in the video he's running it from the microSD, which is much slower than the emmc).

If you consider the July version to be 'moderately working', you'll have no problems with the current version. The release is not for mainstream use because some stuff (hw accel) doesn't work and some things (putting it into suspend [disable this or you won't be able to close the screen]) cause it to crash, and there's not yet a decent GUI to install it with. That said, most people who are comfortable with Linux shouldn't have too much trouble using it.
8th January 2012, 03:29 PM |#1417  
*Detection*'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 838
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnetto

That was Jhinta's ROM, which was the predecessor of the current ROM by lilstevie. Everything shown working in the video works (plus what's listed in the wiki), and it will be faster (in the video he's running it from the microSD, which is much slower than the emmc).

If you consider the July version to be 'moderately working', you'll have no problems with the current version. The release is not for mainstream use because some stuff (hw accel) doesn't work and some things (putting it into suspend [disable this or you won't be able to close the screen]) cause it to crash, and there's not yet a decent GUI to install it with. That said, most people who are comfortable with Linux shouldn't have too much trouble using it.

Thanks for that, yea I was wanting to give this current version a run, but was under the impression it was at a less working stage than this video - until I found this video and wondered how that was even possible.

H/W Accel is important but can live without it for testing purposes, and the dualboot option is great too


Thanks for the reply, its given me a good insight into where we are at with this release
The Following User Says Thank You to *Detection* For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th January 2012, 08:23 PM |#1418  
blk_jack's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 4,122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by canedha

hi there,

another question of a linux noob. ^^
i'm running ubuntu 11.10 in dualboot mode with android.

i found out that dropbox is not working under an arm based ubuntu but i would need to have access to the files in my dropboxfolder under ubuntu...
therefore i thought about syncing my files in android and then accessing them in ubuntu.

how do i get access to the data stored in the android partition when running ubuntu?
i think i have to mount the partition, but which one?
can anyone tell me the command line for that?

thx canedha

What I do is access my dropbox files from the web ui. Not a solution to getting the linux app itself working, but a decent work around.

Sent from my HTC Vision using xda premium
8th January 2012, 09:32 PM |#1419  
Senior Member
LA JOLLA
Thanks Meter: 551
 
Donate to Me
More
Is there any way to get a scroll down gesture on the touchpad?
9th January 2012, 07:02 AM |#1420  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blk_jack

What I do is access my dropbox files from the web ui. Not a solution to getting the linux app itself working, but a decent work around.

Sent from my HTC Vision using xda premium

i'm syncing my files in android now (with drop sync) and then access them in ubuntu.
thx for all your help!

but i have another question just 4 my understanding.
the bootloader has two "partitions" the primary and recovery. right now the recovery in my case is used by ubuntu. so if i want to use cwm i have to use the olife script, which is able to temporarily switch the recovery part of the bootloader to cwm and then back?
when i decide to go with another rom e.g. revolver, if i want to test the ics (later this year ) or if i want to update android or ubuntu, then i just have to flash these roms with nvflash to the primary partition? or will there be a problem because of the second partition? e.g. woudl i have to reflash ubuntu as well when updating android?

thx in advance,
canedha
9th January 2012, 09:10 AM |#1421  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yalkowni

Is there any way to get a scroll down gesture on the touchpad?

Not at present.

Quote:
Originally Posted by canedha

but i have another question just 4 my understanding.
the bootloader has two "partitions" the primary and recovery. right now the recovery in my case is used by ubuntu. so if i want to use cwm i have to use the olife script, which is able to temporarily switch the recovery part of the bootloader to cwm and then back?
when i decide to go with another rom e.g. revolver, if i want to test the ics (later this year ) or if i want to update android or ubuntu, then i just have to flash these roms with nvflash to the primary partition? or will there be a problem because of the second partition? e.g. woudl i have to reflash ubuntu as well when updating android?

The partitions you mentioned are called LNX and SOS. Each one contains a kernel and specifies which partition to load the OS from. LNX is used when you boot normally, and SOS when you hold down POWER + VOL_DOWN.

OLiFE has an option for updating the Android image without touching the Ubuntu partition. (I would recommend you backup your data before using nvflash though, since if something goes wrong you lose everything.) This will flash APP with system.img and LNX/SOS (depending on which is the default) with boot.img. Recovery.img isn't needed, as it contains CWM. Because UBT is the last partition and doesn't change the names of any others, it won't cause any problems.

Alternatively, if you know what you're doing, you could install the new ROM from within Ubuntu by writing system.img to APP with dd, and boot.img with CWM. This is a bit trickier though, so you're probably best off using OLiFE..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rdnetto For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes