5,604,730 Members 33,042 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q&A] Ubuntu on the Transformer (eMMC install)

Tip us?
 
TheDeadCPU
Old
#31  
TheDeadCPU's Avatar
Senior Moderator - The Iceman Cometh
Thanks Meter 665
Posts: 2,012
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) Y U WANT MY LOCATION?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstevie View Post
that would explain it, although it should have been statically linked, which distribution are you using?
Ubuntu 11.04 64bit
Follow me on twitter?
Please only PM on very urgent matter. All other PMs will be ignored.
 
lilstevie
Old
#32  
lilstevie's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,284
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDeadCpu View Post
Ubuntu 11.04 64bit
Ok after doing a little searching abootimg needs to be recompiled for x86_64 machines as libblkid.so is not in ia32-libs. this is hard to test as my linux machines are 32bit
 
TheDeadCPU
Old
(Last edited by TheDeadCPU; 30th July 2011 at 01:56 AM.)
#33  
TheDeadCPU's Avatar
Senior Moderator - The Iceman Cometh
Thanks Meter 665
Posts: 2,012
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) Y U WANT MY LOCATION?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstevie View Post
Ok after doing a little searching abootimg needs to be recompiled for x86_64 machines as libblkid.so is not in ia32-libs. this is hard to test as my linux machines are 32bit
Maybe getting the 32bit libs would work. I don't know though..

I'll happily test any file compiled for 64bit if you want.

(I'll just VirtualBox Ubuntu 10.10 32bit for now)
Follow me on twitter?
Please only PM on very urgent matter. All other PMs will be ignored.
 
lilstevie
Old
#34  
lilstevie's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,284
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDeadCpu View Post
Maybe getting the 32bit libs would work. I don't know though..

I'll happily test any file compiled for 64bit if you want.

(I'll just VirtualBox Ubuntu 10.10 32bit for now)
let me know how it goes, I will put together a 64 bit compatible pack soon.
 
lilstevie
Old
#35  
lilstevie's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,284
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
flashpack has been updated

the only change to this pack is support for 64bit host machines
The Following User Says Thank You to lilstevie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
salamandar
Old
(Last edited by salamandar; 30th July 2011 at 05:00 AM.) Reason: dumb question i answered myself
#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 249
Join Date: Feb 2009
nevermind removed 8)
 
whiskeycoke
Old
#37  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Iowa
Sorry to be dense but I'm missing part of the process. I've downloaded the files and moved ubuntu.img and the android.img's to the /images folder but I don't know where to run the script from. I guessed, and copied the files to the /Removable/MicroSD/ folder and using Script Manager tried to run flash-linux-android.sh as root. I end up with errors that it can't find ./ubuntu/abootimg and ./nvflash.

So I guess my questions are, how do I extract the flash kit and not lose the ./ hidden folder and do I run the script from the /Removable/MicroSD/ folder or somewhere else?

Thanks so much for releasing this pack and helping a noob.
 
lilstevie
Old
#38  
lilstevie's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 998
Posts: 1,284
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskeycoke View Post
Sorry to be dense but I'm missing part of the process. I've downloaded the files and moved ubuntu.img and the android.img's to the /images folder but I don't know where to run the script from. I guessed, and copied the files to the /Removable/MicroSD/ folder and using Script Manager tried to run flash-linux-android.sh as root. I end up with errors that it can't find ./ubuntu/abootimg and ./nvflash.

So I guess my questions are, how do I extract the flash kit and not lose the ./ hidden folder and do I run the script from the /Removable/MicroSD/ folder or somewhere else?

Thanks so much for releasing this pack and helping a noob.
you run the scripts from a linux computer (windows coming soon)
 
whiskeycoke
Old
#39  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstevie View Post
you run the scripts from a linux computer (windows coming soon)
I'm running Ubuntu x64, (thanks for the update btw So do I use adb to start the script or do I run a command locally to install over usb?

If this is more support than you'd like to provide for this release I will understand, I'm just anxious to get started with Ubuntu on the Transformer.
 
jcarrz1
Old
#40  
jcarrz1's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1427
Posts: 1,627
Join Date: May 2009
2 questions, first is are graphics drivers/unity working yet, second is where should I be looking at to avoid asking this question and follow updates? Twitter, mystery thread, IRC? Am I missing something?

Thanks
HTC Sensation z710a
T-Mobile G1 on AT&T US (retired)
Asus Transformer TF101-A1

.............................................Click "Thanks" if I helped..........................................
PM me if you have questions.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes