5,814,720 Members 52,056 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can this Root Droid 3?

Tip us?
 
psouza4
Old
#171  
psouza4's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 270
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Meridian, ID

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by effinay View Post
I've been checking in on this thread for several days now and just wanted to give a huge THANK YOU to everyone who is working on rooting the D3!

I'm almost ready to renew my contract and am looking for an upgrade for my trusty rooted Eris and the D3 seems right up my alley.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!!! Communities like these are the reason I'm sticking with Android.
I agree wholeheartedly. Hundreds others are probably lurking and anxiously waiting too -- we all greatly appreciate any and all efforts here. Go team!
Helio Ocean -> HTC Touch Pro -> Motorola Droid -> Motorola Droid X2 -> Motorola Droid 3 -> HTC Rezound -> Samsung Galaxy Nexus -> Samsung Galaxy Note II -> Samsung Galaxy Note III
 
PWn3R
Old
#172  
PWn3R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Flagstaff

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplude View Post
And in true form I keep poking around. adb exists, access is denied.

I loved "/system/bin/fsck_msdos" in /system/bin/vold
-------------------------------------------
Still going, I'll edit this post if I find anythign interesting here
-----------------------------
hey, I fount the encryption method in vold

"/dev/block/dm-%u crypt twofish %s 0 %s 0"
-----------------------------------------------
output of an export probe:
Code:
ANDROID_ASSETS
ANDROID_BOOTLOGO
ANDROID_DATA
ANDROID_PROPERTY_WORKSPACE
ANDROID_ROOT
ASEC_MOUNTPOINT
BOOTCLASSPATH
EXTERNAL_ALT_STORAGE
EXTERNAL_STORAGE
HOSTNAME
LD_LIBRARY_PATH
LOOP_MOUNTPOINT
PATH
PWD
---------------------------------
also, /tmp has write permissions. can someone PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE just copy a su binary from an X2 or Atrix?

Can we use the set to set the root directory to another location (say the SDCARD with a copy of the root FS long enough to execute an SU binary and then copy the required files into the real system directory running as root?
 
eww245
Old
#173  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 486
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Throop
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWn3R View Post
Can we use the set to set the root directory to another location (say the SDCARD with a copy of the root FS long enough to execute an SU binary and then copy the required files into the real system directory running as root?
We would probably need chroot for this. Also the sdcard it mounted with noexec.
Droid 3 - CM7 Safely Strapped
#OPMOSH
Acer a100 ICS 015 - rooted deodexed
Backup your data with adb

Retired Sorry Bill!
ThrottleLauncher Plugins
Weather.com
GoogleTranslator and Dictionary
CallLog@

[RHOD500]
XDAndroid FRX06/WM6.5 stock
 
pplude
Old
#174  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southbury, CT

 
DONATE TO ME
Im thinking the /temp folder is probably our best bet for excecuting an exploit, as it has 777 permissions

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
Droid 3 - Rooted Stock
Acer Iconia A500 - Rooted - Virtuous Galaxy v. 1.0.5
 
PWn3R
Old
#175  
PWn3R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Flagstaff

 
DONATE TO ME
but if we tell it to mount the sdcard as root in / wouldn't it use the standard permissions for the / directory instead of those already assigned to sdcard?
 
nerdslogic
Old
#176  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 362
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Oregon
Newb question but why can't we sign a file as a "vender" and flash it in the vender flash mode? Or is that a dumb question?

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
Looking to get dropbox? Send a request TO ME....I could use the space for the referral....you will get free space too!
 
Adam.h.ogle
Old
#177  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 164
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWn3R View Post
but if we tell it to mount the sdcard as root in / wouldn't it use the standard permissions for the / directory instead of those already assigned to sdcard?
You need root in order to do that.

I believe it is safe to say that there are no legitimate ways to load and elevate an executable. This leaves exploits. I looked through most of the exploits on cvedetails.com for the 2.6.35.7 kernel and none of them look promising as they either require modules that we don't have loaded, or they've been out long enough to have already been patched by Motorola when they built the kernel. The search continues...
 
volcanomike
Old
#178  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 60
Join Date: Apr 2010
So webtop does start just in its own sandbox?

Sent from my DROID3 using XDA App
 
redddog
Old
#179  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jul 2011
If I were a Moto/dev, I would love to be watching you guys zero in on this. You guys are geniouses.
 
sparkyman216
Old
#180  
sparkyman216's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 154
Join Date: Nov 2010
What about the dbug file sits on sdcardex in transmits to Motorola. It called dbug.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes