Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,145 Members 45,824 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

Tip us?
 
southern87
Old
#1  
southern87's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 459
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Command Center
Default [HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol
Device: Moto Z
ROM: Stock Rooted
Recovery:
Kernel: Stock
Device: HTC One (Killed by a wall)
ROM: GPE Converted
Recovery: TWRP
Kernel: Stock
Device: HTC Evo 3D (Died in Cuba)
ROM: MeanRom
Recovery: TWRP


Roll Tide
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to southern87 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hdnet1
Old
#2  
hdnet1's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 88
Join Date: Aug 2010
I've heard not all of the towers use all of the codecs.. but I'd think that wouldn't be a problem unless roaming or in rural areas.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA Premium App
Galaxy S3
Galaxy Nexus
HTC One
 
ranger61878
Old
#3  
ranger61878's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 1,657
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN

 
DONATE TO ME
This has been posted for weeks...just sayin.
 
Compusmurf
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 1,010
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Already in the stickied FAQ at the top of this forum. You should request this be deleted.
__________________
Current Phone: TMobile Galaxy Note III
ROM: Rooted "stock" NF1 kitkat
Current Tablet: Nexus 7 (Rooted stock)/Microsoft Surface Pro 2
 
fsunoles157
Old
#5  
fsunoles157's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Dont mind all the other ignorants thanks for your help youve helped me thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by southern87 View Post
This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol

www.coreylees.com
Get your Cookies!
 
polarized
Old
(Last edited by polarized; 7th August 2011 at 06:21 AM.) Reason: error
#6  
polarized's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area
EDIT: I got it to work
 
edufur
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 942
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hillsboro
I did this on my EVO 4G... I don't think it made any difference whatsoever.
--
After switching to Samsung, I find myself asking... WHY did I stay with HTC for so long?
... NEVER going back!
 
LiquidSolstice
Old
#8  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,448
Posts: 4,647
Join Date: Jan 2008
Tried this on Synergy's latest nightly. It didn't automatically reboot the phone, but I lost signal completely. I'm manually rebooting now, I'm praying that it works properly.

What are the default values, in case I need to change it back?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
Yeah, like people read the OP. Thats the best place to keep a secret on XDA.
 
mitchellvii
Old
#9  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,205
Posts: 5,353
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Have tried this before and completely lost signal. YMMV.

I am trying to figure out the completely unnecessary use of profanity at the end of your post though. Try to have some class when posting in a forum read by all age groups. Read the Forum Rules regarding use of language which may be offensive to others.
 
LiquidSolstice
Old
#10  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,448
Posts: 4,647
Join Date: Jan 2008
I ended up booting just fine, got my signal back as well. I guess Synergy just wasn't interested in getting rebooted :P

I'll see if it works, it's about 4 in the morning for me, so I can't really call anyone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
Yeah, like people read the OP. Thats the best place to keep a secret on XDA.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more