FORUMS

Time-Lapse with ChronoSnap – XDA App Review

Some of the most interesting pictures are time-lapse animations that capture the … more

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

31st July 2011, 04:56 PM |#1  
southern87's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag The Command Center
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to southern87 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
31st July 2011, 05:11 PM |#2  
hdnet1's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I've heard not all of the towers use all of the codecs.. but I'd think that wouldn't be a problem unless roaming or in rural areas.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA Premium App
ranger61878
31st July 2011, 05:36 PM |#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This has been posted for weeks...just sayin.
31st July 2011, 07:44 PM |#4  
Compusmurf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 235
 
More
Already in the stickied FAQ at the top of this forum. You should request this be deleted.
31st July 2011, 10:13 PM |#5  
fsunoles157's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
Dont mind all the other ignorants thanks for your help youve helped me thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by southern87

This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol

7th August 2011, 06:07 AM |#6  
polarized's Avatar
Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
EDIT: I got it to work
Last edited by polarized; 7th August 2011 at 06:21 AM. Reason: error
7th August 2011, 09:55 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Hillsboro
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
I did this on my EVO 4G... I don't think it made any difference whatsoever.
7th August 2011, 12:07 PM |#8  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,794
 
More
Tried this on Synergy's latest nightly. It didn't automatically reboot the phone, but I lost signal completely. I'm manually rebooting now, I'm praying that it works properly.

What are the default values, in case I need to change it back?
7th August 2011, 12:23 PM |#9  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,360
 
More
Have tried this before and completely lost signal. YMMV.

I am trying to figure out the completely unnecessary use of profanity at the end of your post though. Try to have some class when posting in a forum read by all age groups. Read the Forum Rules regarding use of language which may be offensive to others.
7th August 2011, 12:26 PM |#10  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,794
 
More
I ended up booting just fine, got my signal back as well. I guess Synergy just wasn't interested in getting rebooted :P

I'll see if it works, it's about 4 in the morning for me, so I can't really call anyone.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes