Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,670 Members 44,643 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

Tip us?
 
southern87
Old
#1  
southern87's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 459
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Command Center
Default [HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol
Device: Moto Z
ROM: Stock Rooted
Recovery:
Kernel: Stock
Device: HTC One (Killed by a wall)
ROM: GPE Converted
Recovery: TWRP
Kernel: Stock
Device: HTC Evo 3D (Died in Cuba)
ROM: MeanRom
Recovery: TWRP


Roll Tide
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to southern87 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hdnet1
Old
#2  
hdnet1's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 88
Join Date: Aug 2010
I've heard not all of the towers use all of the codecs.. but I'd think that wouldn't be a problem unless roaming or in rural areas.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA Premium App
Galaxy S3
Galaxy Nexus
HTC One
 
ranger61878
Old
#3  
ranger61878's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 1,657
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN

 
DONATE TO ME
This has been posted for weeks...just sayin.
 
Compusmurf
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 1,009
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Already in the stickied FAQ at the top of this forum. You should request this be deleted.
__________________
Current Phone: TMobile Galaxy Note III
ROM: Rooted "stock" NF1 kitkat
Current Tablet: Nexus 7 (Rooted stock)/Microsoft Surface Pro 2
 
fsunoles157
Old
#5  
fsunoles157's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Dont mind all the other ignorants thanks for your help youve helped me thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by southern87 View Post
This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol

www.coreylees.com
Get your Cookies!
 
polarized
Old
(Last edited by polarized; 7th August 2011 at 06:21 AM.) Reason: error
#6  
polarized's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area
EDIT: I got it to work
 
edufur
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 939
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hillsboro
I did this on my EVO 4G... I don't think it made any difference whatsoever.
--
After switching to Samsung, I find myself asking... WHY did I stay with HTC for so long?
... NEVER going back!
 
LiquidSolstice
Old
#8  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,435
Posts: 4,638
Join Date: Jan 2008
Tried this on Synergy's latest nightly. It didn't automatically reboot the phone, but I lost signal completely. I'm manually rebooting now, I'm praying that it works properly.

What are the default values, in case I need to change it back?
OnePlus One | CM11S | Franco

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCguy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarkiieh View Post
No the screen is facing up, towards god
The sensor isn't capable of sensing the proximity to god, only to other earthly objects.
 
mitchellvii
Old
#9  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,197
Posts: 5,353
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Have tried this before and completely lost signal. YMMV.

I am trying to figure out the completely unnecessary use of profanity at the end of your post though. Try to have some class when posting in a forum read by all age groups. Read the Forum Rules regarding use of language which may be offensive to others.
 
LiquidSolstice
Old
#10  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,435
Posts: 4,638
Join Date: Jan 2008
I ended up booting just fine, got my signal back as well. I guess Synergy just wasn't interested in getting rebooted :P

I'll see if it works, it's about 4 in the morning for me, so I can't really call anyone.
OnePlus One | CM11S | Franco

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCguy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarkiieh View Post
No the screen is facing up, towards god
The sensor isn't capable of sensing the proximity to god, only to other earthly objects.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more