5,601,298 Members 56,171 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

Tip us?
 
southern87
Old
#1  
southern87's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 421
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Command Center
Default [HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol
Device: Moto Z
ROM: Stock Rooted
Recovery:
Kernel: Stock
Device: HTC One (Killed by a wall)
ROM: GPE Converted
Recovery: TWRP
Kernel: Stock
Device: HTC Evo 3D (Died in Cuba)
ROM: MeanRom
Recovery: TWRP
Kernel: Chad.Goodman


Roll Tide
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to southern87 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hdnet1
Old
#2  
hdnet1's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 87
Join Date: Aug 2010
I've heard not all of the towers use all of the codecs.. but I'd think that wouldn't be a problem unless roaming or in rural areas.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA Premium App
Galaxy S3
Galaxy Nexus
HTC One
 
ranger61878
Old
#3  
ranger61878's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 1,657
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN

 
DONATE TO ME
This has been posted for weeks...just sayin.
 
Compusmurf
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 975
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Already in the stickied FAQ at the top of this forum. You should request this be deleted.
__________________
Current Phone: TMobile Galaxy Note III
ROM: Rooted "stock" NB4 kitkat
Current Tablet: Nexus 7 (Rooted stock)
 
fsunoles157
Old
#5  
fsunoles157's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 302
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Dont mind all the other ignorants thanks for your help youve helped me thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by southern87 View Post
This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol

www.coreylees.com
Get your Cookies!
 
polarized
Old
(Last edited by polarized; 7th August 2011 at 06:21 AM.) Reason: error
#6  
polarized's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area
EDIT: I got it to work
 
edufur
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 926
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hillsboro
I did this on my EVO 4G... I don't think it made any difference whatsoever.
--
After switching to Samsung, I find myself asking... WHY did I stay with HTC for so long?
... NEVER going back!
 
LiquidSolstice
Old
#8  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4050
Posts: 4,376
Join Date: Jan 2008
Tried this on Synergy's latest nightly. It didn't automatically reboot the phone, but I lost signal completely. I'm manually rebooting now, I'm praying that it works properly.

What are the default values, in case I need to change it back?
Respect open source development and the benefits that it brings; say no to CyanogenMod.

Why Focal is No Longer Part of CM
Arbitrary and Negative Development Decisions by CM
 
mitchellvii
Old
#9  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 970
Posts: 4,411
Join Date: Jul 2010
Have tried this before and completely lost signal. YMMV.

I am trying to figure out the completely unnecessary use of profanity at the end of your post though. Try to have some class when posting in a forum read by all age groups. Read the Forum Rules regarding use of language which may be offensive to others.
 
LiquidSolstice
Old
#10  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4050
Posts: 4,376
Join Date: Jan 2008
I ended up booting just fine, got my signal back as well. I guess Synergy just wasn't interested in getting rebooted :P

I'll see if it works, it's about 4 in the morning for me, so I can't really call anyone.
Respect open source development and the benefits that it brings; say no to CyanogenMod.

Why Focal is No Longer Part of CM
Arbitrary and Negative Development Decisions by CM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Decompile, Edit, and Recompile in One Tool with APK Studio

If you’ve ever modified precompiled applications, you have undoubtedly spent … more

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more