Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO]Change to EVRC-B(Improve voice quality)

OP southern87

31st July 2011, 05:56 PM   |  #1  
southern87's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag The Command Center
Thanks Meter: 98
 
476 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to southern87 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st July 2011, 06:11 PM   |  #2  
hdnet1's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I've heard not all of the towers use all of the codecs.. but I'd think that wouldn't be a problem unless roaming or in rural areas.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA Premium App
ranger61878
31st July 2011, 06:36 PM   |  #3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
This has been posted for weeks...just sayin.
31st July 2011, 08:44 PM   |  #4  
Compusmurf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 215
 
1,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Already in the stickied FAQ at the top of this forum. You should request this be deleted.
31st July 2011, 11:13 PM   |  #5  
fsunoles157's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 23
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Dont mind all the other ignorants thanks for your help youve helped me thanks again


Quote:
Originally Posted by southern87

This is my first how to here so I know it will sucks but oh well lol.

I saw someone post on general forums about voice quality. For what reason this isn't set to default i don't know.

What this does is enables and changes your Voice codec(unless its called something else) to EVRC-B.

Requirements: Need your MSL #

To get your MSL # you can either call sprint and play dumb(I say i need to reprogram my phone) or since we have root download MSL Reader off the market.

Step 1: Once you have the MSL # go to you dial pad and press ##3282#.
Step 2: You will get a window that says EPST, hit the Edit Mode. This will prompt you for your password. Type in your MSL number there and hit OK.
Step 3: Now your are in the EPST, Go to the Advanced menu.
Step 4: Scroll down till you see Vocoder. Enable this if it not by pressing on it and slecting enable.
Step 5: Below Vocoder is the EVRC-B, do the same thing if it is not enabled.
Step 6:Next setting is the Home Orig and Roam Orig. You want to change these to EVRC-B.
Step 7: Press your menu button, Commit Modifications will appear. Press it to save the changes. This will automatically reboot your phone.

Once it is back up, people should notice a better call quality from you.




Written pretty ****ty huh? lol

7th August 2011, 07:07 AM   |  #6  
polarized's Avatar
Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 6
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
EDIT: I got it to work
Last edited by polarized; 7th August 2011 at 07:21 AM. Reason: error
7th August 2011, 10:55 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Hillsboro
Thanks Meter: 66
 
963 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
I did this on my EVO 4G... I don't think it made any difference whatsoever.
7th August 2011, 01:07 PM   |  #8  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
4,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Tried this on Synergy's latest nightly. It didn't automatically reboot the phone, but I lost signal completely. I'm manually rebooting now, I'm praying that it works properly.

What are the default values, in case I need to change it back?
7th August 2011, 01:23 PM   |  #9  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,248
 
5,470 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Have tried this before and completely lost signal. YMMV.

I am trying to figure out the completely unnecessary use of profanity at the end of your post though. Try to have some class when posting in a forum read by all age groups. Read the Forum Rules regarding use of language which may be offensive to others.
7th August 2011, 01:26 PM   |  #10  
LiquidSolstice's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
4,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I ended up booting just fine, got my signal back as well. I guess Synergy just wasn't interested in getting rebooted :P

I'll see if it works, it's about 4 in the morning for me, so I can't really call anyone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes