FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

Hey devs will this work for virtuous galaxy rom -The Best RAM Optimization

658 posts
Thanks Meter: 319
 
By MJ-12, Senior Member on 1st August 2011, 08:30 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I found this, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12
Last edited by MJ-12; 2nd August 2011 at 04:58 PM.
 
 
1st August 2011, 09:41 AM |#2  
OrionBG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plovdiv
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12

I found this today, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12

This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!
1st August 2011, 10:15 AM |#3  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionBG

This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!

Well I think if you read it you will see that its not about giving more ram...

Its optimized (I think) with the best set up to keep your apps in the ram, thus not having to start them over and over again.

Thus more speed and no lag.

Do you see?



MJ-12
1st August 2011, 09:48 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Washington, DC
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I can see a small benefit of this kind of script on RAM-constrained devices, but the A500 has a gigabyte of RAM, not sure you'd really need this (and not sure the script will even work on 3.0 devices). Maybe when Ice Cream Sandwich comes out and expects all tablets to have quad-core CPUs and 4GB RAM
2nd August 2011, 03:57 PM |#5  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 527
 
Donate to Me
More
Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.
2nd August 2011, 04:56 PM |#6  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erica_renee

Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.

wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?
2nd August 2011, 06:00 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12

wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?

Urge to troll you... so strong..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes