Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,866 Members 51,442 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Hey devs will this work for virtuous galaxy rom -The Best RAM Optimization

Tip us?
 
MJ-12
Old
(Last edited by MJ-12; 2nd August 2011 at 04:58 PM.)
#1  
MJ-12's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 644
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Arrow Hey devs will this work for virtuous galaxy rom -The Best RAM Optimization

I found this, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12
>>>o0000Nexus 5 >>>o0000000ddMoto G>>>o0000000000ddNote 10.1>>>o0000ooooodd

Still knocking about the house somewhere . . . ZTE Blade (my very first droid!) - Galaxy S2 - Acer Iconia
Gone . . . Galaxy S3 - Asus Transformer - Advent Vega (tablet)

_________________
 
OrionBG
Old
#2  
OrionBG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 1,060
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Plovdiv
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12 View Post
I found this today, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12
This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!
Nokia Lumia 1520 32GB
History: Nokia 5110, Ericsson R320, Xda IIs, HTC Universal, Nokia E90, HTC HD, HTC Magic, HTC HD2, HTC Desire HD, SonyEricsson Xperia X10, HTC Sensation, Samsung Galaxy S, Galaxy S2, Galaxy S3, Galaxy S4, LG G2
 
MJ-12
Old
#3  
MJ-12's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 644
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionBG View Post
This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!
Well I think if you read it you will see that its not about giving more ram...

Its optimized (I think) with the best set up to keep your apps in the ram, thus not having to start them over and over again.

Thus more speed and no lag.

Do you see?



MJ-12
>>>o0000Nexus 5 >>>o0000000ddMoto G>>>o0000000000ddNote 10.1>>>o0000ooooodd

Still knocking about the house somewhere . . . ZTE Blade (my very first droid!) - Galaxy S2 - Acer Iconia
Gone . . . Galaxy S3 - Asus Transformer - Advent Vega (tablet)

_________________
 
Vereynn
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 173
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington, DC
I can see a small benefit of this kind of script on RAM-constrained devices, but the A500 has a gigabyte of RAM, not sure you'd really need this (and not sure the script will even work on 3.0 devices). Maybe when Ice Cream Sandwich comes out and expects all tablets to have quad-core CPUs and 4GB RAM
 
erica_renee
Old
#5  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 505
Posts: 2,350
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Louisville

 
DONATE TO ME
Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.
They are my Nexus 7,Note 10.1 and Note 2 phone.
Get your own.Play nice and follow the rules or you WILL end up in the knob jail Cell
 
MJ-12
Old
#6  
MJ-12's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 644
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by erica_renee View Post
Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.
wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?
>>>o0000Nexus 5 >>>o0000000ddMoto G>>>o0000000000ddNote 10.1>>>o0000ooooodd

Still knocking about the house somewhere . . . ZTE Blade (my very first droid!) - Galaxy S2 - Acer Iconia
Gone . . . Galaxy S3 - Asus Transformer - Advent Vega (tablet)

_________________
 
stevo9er
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12 View Post
wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?
Urge to troll you... so strong..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more