Aqua Dark Material Theme for CM12

XDA Senior MemberSimix93prepared a nice looking theme changing the original colors into shades of green. … more

Fonts Collection for CyanogenMod 12

Check out this collection of amazing fonts ready to make your CyanogenMod 12 ROM even more beautiful. … more

Send Links to Any Nearby Device with CaastMe

There already are many solutions on the Google Play store if you want to send a link to one of … more

Samsung Galaxy S4 Is Getting Lollipop Update in Russia

Samsung Galaxy S4 users in Russia are getting the Lollipop update via OTA. The update … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Hey devs will this work for virtuous galaxy rom -The Best RAM Optimization

OP MJ-12

1st August 2011, 09:30 AM   |  #1  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 319
 
656 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I found this, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12
Last edited by MJ-12; 2nd August 2011 at 05:58 PM.
1st August 2011, 10:41 AM   |  #2  
OrionBG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plovdiv
Thanks Meter: 149
 
1,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12

I found this today, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12

This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!
1st August 2011, 11:15 AM   |  #3  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 319
 
656 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionBG

This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!

Well I think if you read it you will see that its not about giving more ram...

Its optimized (I think) with the best set up to keep your apps in the ram, thus not having to start them over and over again.

Thus more speed and no lag.

Do you see?



MJ-12
1st August 2011, 10:48 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Washington, DC
Thanks Meter: 28
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I can see a small benefit of this kind of script on RAM-constrained devices, but the A500 has a gigabyte of RAM, not sure you'd really need this (and not sure the script will even work on 3.0 devices). Maybe when Ice Cream Sandwich comes out and expects all tablets to have quad-core CPUs and 4GB RAM
2nd August 2011, 04:57 PM   |  #5  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 527
 
2,475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.
2nd August 2011, 05:56 PM   |  #6  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 319
 
656 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erica_renee

Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.

wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?
2nd August 2011, 07:00 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12

wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?

Urge to troll you... so strong..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes