Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more
Post Reply

Hey devs will this work for virtuous galaxy rom -The Best RAM Optimization

OP MJ-12

1st August 2011, 08:30 AM   |  #1  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 317
 
644 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I found this, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12
Last edited by MJ-12; 2nd August 2011 at 04:58 PM.
1st August 2011, 09:41 AM   |  #2  
OrionBG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plovdiv
Thanks Meter: 142
 
1,060 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12

I found this today, it looks like it could be handy

Will this work for virtuous galaxy or indeed any of our roms or phones?

Video included...

Credit - Juwe11


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=tablet



MJ-12

This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!
1st August 2011, 10:15 AM   |  #3  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 317
 
644 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrionBG

This was made for the Galaxy S phones. They have 340MB of RAM (give or take) and all the TABs have nearly twice the amount of RAM! It may be of some use but I doubt it! I have never gone under 150MB free on my A500 and I don't use task managers/killers of any kind!

Well I think if you read it you will see that its not about giving more ram...

Its optimized (I think) with the best set up to keep your apps in the ram, thus not having to start them over and over again.

Thus more speed and no lag.

Do you see?



MJ-12
1st August 2011, 09:48 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Washington, DC
Thanks Meter: 28
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I can see a small benefit of this kind of script on RAM-constrained devices, but the A500 has a gigabyte of RAM, not sure you'd really need this (and not sure the script will even work on 3.0 devices). Maybe when Ice Cream Sandwich comes out and expects all tablets to have quad-core CPUs and 4GB RAM
2nd August 2011, 03:57 PM   |  #5  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 510
 
2,381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.
2nd August 2011, 04:56 PM   |  #6  
MJ-12's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag IN FRONT OF THE COMPUTER :)
Thanks Meter: 317
 
644 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erica_renee

Android does a great job handling ram.I only use a task killer to stop apps that have gone amuk .even good one can do this.the memory manager you install is likely going to use up more resources then it saves.

wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?
2nd August 2011, 06:00 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ-12

wow! this is not to save ram, it uses more ram but better... did anyone read the article?

Urge to troll you... so strong..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes