FORUMS

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

[CM7][OMFGB]Software GPS Fix | V1.5.1 - 9/25/11 | Keep the (GPS) lights on!

550 posts
Thanks Meter: 430
 
By strictlyrude27, Senior Member on 3rd August 2011, 01:37 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
4th August 2011, 08:05 PM |#31  
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 430
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellrb19

Just installed 1.3 and getting 0 in view with gps test and no lock. An hour after installing it gps would not show up as actively searching in notification even after toggling setting in menu and checking permissions (which appear correctly). I am on glitch, so will flash latest nightly and try with stock kernel and gpsd.

I also performed the instructions in original thread and had occasional locks. Thanks for this, progress is made every day with gps. Will report back after update.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA Premium App

Try 1.3.1. That has fixed permissions for long term orbital data. After reboot, I get 6 used/13 in view after 5 seconds, 130ft accuracy. [EDIT: and on reboot, nothing in sight.. and on reboot AGAIN, 6/13 with 130ft accuracy.] I need more confirmation that this works though.

If that doesn't work, try this at a terminal:

Code:
su
mount -o rw,remount /system
rm /etc/init.d/90getgps_lto
rm /data/gps/lto.dat
mount -o ro,remount /system
reboot
This will remove long term orbital data entirely. I wonder how this will perform along with no agpsd.
Last edited by strictlyrude27; 4th August 2011 at 08:43 PM.
 
 
4th August 2011, 08:30 PM |#32  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
GPS Aids (v2) from the Market will also inject LTO data; might be worthwhile to give that a try.

John
4th August 2011, 08:32 PM |#33  
Mannymal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
No joy on the fix. Just like following the instructions on the other thread, it did nothing, and might have introduced the Android System battery leak related to GPS, will have to wait longer but so far Android System is the biggest drainer since installing this.

Will download the one with LTO to see if that helps.
4th August 2011, 09:03 PM |#34  
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 430
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mannymal

No joy on the fix. Just like following the instructions on the other thread, it did nothing, and might have introduced the Android System battery leak related to GPS, will have to wait longer but so far Android System is the biggest drainer since installing this.

Will download the one with LTO to see if that helps.

I'm in the same boat you are - GPS tends to drain the crap out of my battery. If you're a Tasker user, check my sig - I wrote a Tasker profile system that lets you load/unload the GPS driver. Alternatively, install Trigger Redux, since Roman included a GPS load/unload toggle in his tweaks as well.
5th August 2011, 04:41 AM |#35  
elsocplayer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Installed 1.3 and I finally get to say I have a usable gps lock since more than a month ago when I had bionix Rom installed. Thanx a lot for this zip and for ur work. I get 10meter accuracy and gps locks even on the move at 60mph. Can't get lock at some indoor places but I don't mind, I only use it when on the go anyway. Again, thanx!

Sent from SGS Vibrant w/CM7
5th August 2011, 07:33 AM |#36  
Member
Flag Utah
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Can anyone confirm that the fix lasts more than a day? In my experience it works great the first day, even if you toggle GPS on and off in between uses. But after a couple days the GPS icon doesn't even show up in the notification bar if you go into Maps or Angry GPS (of course, GPS is technically turned on). This is sort of remedied by a reboot, but even then the performance is nothing like it was after first applying the fix.

I'm curious... I know that this has to do with the software, but what if I applied this hardware fix? I think I'll try it, for science. I'm sure it won't hurt.
Last edited by OPTheory; 5th August 2011 at 07:39 AM.
5th August 2011, 08:01 AM |#37  
Senior Member
Flag Grand Forks, North Dakota
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Just want to say that if you do not have a CM7 rom, stay away from this. I just flashed Simply Honey 5.0b2, and this CWM zip directly after the mandatory reboot and sitting period. My GPS couldn't get a lock to save it's life. Not only that, but I couldn't roll back the changes even by replacing all the files changed by the CWM zip. I ended up ODIN'ing back to stock and starting my GB adventure all over again...

If anyone is interested, I did have AMAZING locks using the GPSD from this thread with Simply Honey 4.0. That's literally all I did was replace the GPSD file, with awesome results.
5th August 2011, 08:34 AM |#38  
Member
Flag Utah
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Mmkay, for science:

Before: Just flashed 1.31, went out and stood on my porch, opened Angry GPS in Standalone mode, got 13 satellites in about 20 seconds and 4.5 meter accuracy.

That plastic cover was a nightmare to get off... Ok, the little contact has been moved up to make contact with the antenna on the panel. Put everything back together...

After: It was noticeably faster. It detected 1, then 13 satellites within 10 seconds and went down to 5 meter accuracy faster than before.

Yes, I know this isn't very scientific, but hey - it seemed to do something.
Last edited by OPTheory; 5th August 2011 at 08:35 AM. Reason: clarification
The Following User Says Thank You to OPTheory For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th August 2011, 03:57 PM |#39  
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 430
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdchris12

Just want to say that if you do not have a CM7 rom, stay away from this. I just flashed Simply Honey 5.0b2, and this CWM zip directly after the mandatory reboot and sitting period. My GPS couldn't get a lock to save it's life. Not only that, but I couldn't roll back the changes even by replacing all the files changed by the CWM zip. I ended up ODIN'ing back to stock and starting my GB adventure all over again...

oops yeah, this is definitely for CM7-based ROMs only..

Quote:

If anyone is interested, I did have AMAZING locks using the GPSD from this thread with Simply Honey 4.0. That's literally all I did was replace the GPSD file, with awesome results.

That's the same gpsd as used in this fix! I might post just the gpsd file, but it's also packed in the script file, so I don't know how necessary that would be.
5th August 2011, 03:59 PM |#40  
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 430
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPTheory

Mmkay, for science:

Before: Just flashed 1.31, went out and stood on my porch, opened Angry GPS in Standalone mode, got 13 satellites in about 20 seconds and 4.5 meter accuracy.

That plastic cover was a nightmare to get off... Ok, the little contact has been moved up to make contact with the antenna on the panel. Put everything back together...

After: It was noticeably faster. It detected 1, then 13 satellites within 10 seconds and went down to 5 meter accuracy faster than before.

Yes, I know this isn't very scientific, but hey - it seemed to do something.

Hardware fix is definitely worth it, as you've learned glad both fixes are helping out! I would like to know your results after a day of use though - it seems that some people have lots of luck immediately after flashing, but after 24 hours it doesn't work so well anymore (but a reflash makes it work again). I'm in the same boat as the aforementioned people.
5th August 2011, 04:48 PM |#41  
Senior Member
Flag Grand Forks, North Dakota
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by strictlyrude27

oops yeah, this is definitely for CM7-based ROMs only..



That's the same gpsd as used in this fix! I might post just the gpsd file, but it's also packed in the script file, so I don't know how necessary that would be.

I know that it is only labeled for CM7, but how will you know if it works on other rooms if no one ever tries? That gpsd for cm7 works pretty damn well, after all...

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes