Post Reply

[Q] Huawei IDEOS X3 (U8510) root need help.

OP mngt135

3rd August 2011, 11:18 AM   |  #1  
mngt135's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hi,
I want to root a Huawei IDEOS X3 (U8510) any leads?

Thanks in Advance,
6th August 2011, 01:58 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I tried Gingerbreak and it didn't work. Can someone help with this?
7th August 2011, 04:51 PM   |  #3  
mngt135's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Just rooted my U8510:
Using Huawei U8650 Firmware

These two worked for me to root:
U8650V100R001C223B826(Malaysia General)
http://www.huaweidevice.com/worldwid...01C223B826.zip

U8650-1 V100R001C86B823SP05(Spain Yoigo)
http://www.huaweidevice.com/worldwid...e&softid=39968

This firmware is compatible with our Huawei U8510.

Install the normal way by placing dload in SD and update (Settings,- storage,- Software Upgrade,- SD card Upgrade. accept, update installation will start when finished will restart and let it completely turn on.


To root:
download the file update.zip from here http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...13127313803713, copy it in your SD card (Leave it compacted in zip) then turn off the phone and put it in recovery mode (volume up+on/off switch for a few seconds).
Once in the recovery menu select "update from SD , chose the file, then reboot et voilą!
Your phone is rooted!

Note: the Huawei U8650 Firmware is 100% compatible but then you cant go back to U8510 firmare if you need the warranty. Also has a bug in compass.

Install at your own risk.

This is my only problem because i am new with ANDROID, is there is anyone that can help me with the recovering image for the Huawei U8510 just in case i need it.

But up till now the software is the same and running smoothly like original the Huawei U8510.
Last edited by mngt135; 31st August 2011 at 11:51 AM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to mngt135 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2011, 02:24 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mngt135

Just rooted my U8510:
Using Huawei U8650 Firmware

These two worked for me to root:
U8650V100R001C223B826(Malaysia General)
http://www.huaweidevice.com/worldwid...01C223B826.zip

U8650-1 V100R001C86B823SP05(Spain Yoigo)
http://www.huaweidevice.com/worldwid...e&softid=39968

This firmware is compatible with our Huawei U8510.

Install the normal way by placing dload in SD and update from SD.

To root:
download the file update.zip from here http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...13127313803713, copy it in your SD card then turn off the phone and put it in recovery mode (volume up+on/off switch for a few seconds).
Once in the recovery menu select "update from SD , chose the file, then reboot et voilą!
Your phone is rooted!

Note: the Huawei U8650 Firmware is 100% compatible but then you cant go back to U8510 firmare if you need the warranty.


This is my only problem because i am new with ANDROID, is there is anyone that can help me with the recovering image for the Huawei U8510 just in case i need it.

But up till now the software is the same and running smoothly like original the Huawei U8510.

Does anyone know if the above method works on s42hw (AKA. pocket wifi s II) which is sold under E-mobile in Japan?
I don't have the phone yet but I believe it is a same phone as U8510.
8th August 2011, 08:32 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I tried to do as you said, mngt135, but i get the error right when i select "upgrade from sd card": E:failed to mount /sdcard (no such file or directory)

Can u guys help me?
10th August 2011, 01:55 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Worked like a charm here. The only thing i miss is that the X3 Vodafone rom has toggles in the notification bar for wifi/gps/etc and at the U8650V100R001C223B826(Malaysia General) firmware doesn't. Someone tried the other rom? Does it have toggles in the notification area?
10th August 2011, 01:56 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MALLL

I tried to do as you said, mngt135, but i get the error right when i select "upgrade from sd card": E:failed to mount /sdcard (no such file or directory)

Can u guys help me?

Do you have any SD-Card on your phone? Is it mounted and are you able to see its contents?
10th August 2011, 06:24 PM   |  #8  
mngt135's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cascalheira

Worked like a charm here. The only thing i miss is that the X3 Vodafone rom has toggles in the notification bar for wifi/gps/etc and at the U8650V100R001C223B826(Malaysia General) firmware doesn't. Someone tried the other rom? Does it have toggles in the notification area?

No it doesn't have togglers i use Extended Controls

attention cascalheira the two roms i have mentioned work to root the others like (U8650 V100R001C00B828SP03(general) did not work.
Last edited by mngt135; 10th August 2011 at 06:34 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to mngt135 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th August 2011, 01:34 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
After disabling some system services i ended up with an unbeatable phone (Stuck at Huawei logo). After some time trying everything finally and almost getting mad, finally came across a way to reinstall it:

Put the update file in the dload folder on the sdcard root (using another phone or a card reader), and start your phone by pressing Volume Up+Volume Down+Power (Flash mode i think). It will install the file on the dload folder.

Probably these are OLD news for everyone else here, but anyway decided to post it so it can save some time to someone else.
Last edited by cascalheira; 11th August 2011 at 01:41 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to cascalheira For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th August 2011, 05:56 PM   |  #10  
mamv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisboa
Thanks Meter: 29
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Compass
Followed your steps to root the phone and everything worked perfectly. The only thing that doesn't work for me is the compass...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank