Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,985 Members 40,729 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Superwipe on the Sensation

Tip us?
 
narse
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 99
Join Date: Dec 2009
Question [Q] Superwipe on the Sensation

I am currently S-Offed and running a custom rom, but have seen in a few of the forums people talking about "Superwipe". I've searched around and it seems that the Superwipe is written for the HTC Dream. Is it safe to use the V2 script in this thread "http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=834812" on the Sensation, and what does it do that doing a wipe from CWM Recovery doesn't? Is it worth doing?

Thanks.
 
woody21
Old
(Last edited by woody21; 4th August 2011 at 12:24 PM.) Reason: awfull typing and spelling!!!!!! ha ha
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 38
Join Date: May 2008
i would not risk it myself as i dont know as im fairly new to android coming from winmo

But i have done my sensation and used the superwipe provided in the android revolution hd rom thread here. (half way down, just under the download link for the rom)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1098849

the file is named as if its specifically for the sensation and worked perfectly for me.
HTC Prophet (Still alive)
HTC Touch HD (EnergyROM) (SOLD)
HTC HD2 -(EnergyROM) <--- retired for now.
HTC Sensation - S-Off
 
freco
Old
#3  
freco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 698
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Athens
I used the Full_wipe.zip from CoreDroid rom which worked perfectly.

You can try this if superwipe does not work for you.
Galaxy Note 2 rules... Rom: Testing almost all available options
XDA & KTM Adventure 990 Fanatic

Don't be rude. If someone help you press thanks.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to freco For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leighaus
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 58
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: melbourne
same as woody, i did as he said and had no issues
 
supraman89
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 246
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio
Can we just wipe all the data using cwm, I want to root and apply a Rom, I'm not new to this as I have rooted and installed Roms on my vibrant. I never used no superwipe on my vibrant. After reading this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1261458 I don't even want to risk using superwipe
 
harky
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
me to, althought i use super-wipe but i also want to know how to use CWM to wipe too
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
 
mollybc
Old
#7  
mollybc's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Apex, NC
You can do it in CWM but is just so much easier to run the superwipe script. I have been using Mike's ARHD Superwipe script practically from the day we got the Sensation unlocked and have never had a single issue. And don't read too much into the thread you linked b/c running the superwipe script will not do anything to brick your phone. If you don't want to superwipe then you can factory reset, clear cache, format cache, format system, format data, and wipe dalvic cache which should do the same as the script. Welcome on board and happy flashing

Quote:
Originally Posted by supraman89 View Post
Can we just wipe all the data using cwm, I want to root and apply a Rom, I'm not new to this as I have rooted and installed Roms on my vibrant. I never used no superwipe on my vibrant. After reading this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1261458 I don't even want to risk using superwipe
HTC ONE
ROM: Latest T-Mobile 5.5 Behold_this
Carrier: T-Mobile, North Carolina

Samsung GN 10.1 2014
Unrooted, running Nova Launcher
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mollybc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ste05
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody21 View Post
i would not risk it myself as i dont know as im fairly new to android coming from winmo

But i have done my sensation and used the superwipe provided in the android revolution hd rom thread here. (half way down, just under the download link for the rom)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1098849

the file is named as if its specifically for the sensation and worked perfectly for me.
The DL link for SuperWipe seems to be dead in that thread. Does anyone have an alternative link for where to download it from?

It's my first time flashing a ROM so I'm trying to follow instructions exactly to have minimal possible issues.
 
EddyOS
Old
(Last edited by EddyOS; 6th October 2011 at 04:12 PM.)
#9  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2889
Posts: 13,084
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
I use this if moving to a different ROM:

http://www.multiupload.com/CYTE1KKXHS

(new link to the one that was on mike1986's thread)
HTC One M8 (Gunmetal Grey) 16GB
ROM: 1.54.401.10 (KOT49H) | HBOOT: 3.16.0.0000 S-OFF | Recovery: Stock | Baseband: 1.16.2133156.UA15G_20.18m.4096.07L | Kernel: Stock | CID: HTC__001

OnePlus One (Sandstone Black) 64GB *** PENDING ***

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required) | [GUIDE] Return your OPO to 100% Stock
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ste05
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2011
That's great, thanks Eddy!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes