Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Superwipe on the Sensation

OP narse

4th August 2011, 01:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I am currently S-Offed and running a custom rom, but have seen in a few of the forums people talking about "Superwipe". I've searched around and it seems that the Superwipe is written for the HTC Dream. Is it safe to use the V2 script in this thread "http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=834812" on the Sensation, and what does it do that doing a wipe from CWM Recovery doesn't? Is it worth doing?

Thanks.
4th August 2011, 01:23 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Thumbs up
i would not risk it myself as i dont know as im fairly new to android coming from winmo

But i have done my sensation and used the superwipe provided in the android revolution hd rom thread here. (half way down, just under the download link for the rom)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1098849

the file is named as if its specifically for the sensation and worked perfectly for me.
Last edited by woody21; 4th August 2011 at 01:24 PM. Reason: awfull typing and spelling!!!!!! ha ha
4th August 2011, 02:37 PM   |  #3  
freco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 59
 
726 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I used the Full_wipe.zip from CoreDroid rom which worked perfectly.

You can try this if superwipe does not work for you.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to freco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th August 2011, 02:47 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag melbourne
Thanks Meter: 3
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
same as woody, i did as he said and had no issues
26th September 2011, 12:59 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 9
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Can we just wipe all the data using cwm, I want to root and apply a Rom, I'm not new to this as I have rooted and installed Roms on my vibrant. I never used no superwipe on my vibrant. After reading this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1261458 I don't even want to risk using superwipe
26th September 2011, 04:41 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 6
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
me to, althought i use super-wipe but i also want to know how to use CWM to wipe too
26th September 2011, 04:51 AM   |  #7  
mollybc's Avatar
Junior Member
Apex, NC
Thanks Meter: 7
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
You can do it in CWM but is just so much easier to run the superwipe script. I have been using Mike's ARHD Superwipe script practically from the day we got the Sensation unlocked and have never had a single issue. And don't read too much into the thread you linked b/c running the superwipe script will not do anything to brick your phone. If you don't want to superwipe then you can factory reset, clear cache, format cache, format system, format data, and wipe dalvic cache which should do the same as the script. Welcome on board and happy flashing

Quote:
Originally Posted by supraman89

Can we just wipe all the data using cwm, I want to root and apply a Rom, I'm not new to this as I have rooted and installed Roms on my vibrant. I never used no superwipe on my vibrant. After reading this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1261458 I don't even want to risk using superwipe

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mollybc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th October 2011, 05:03 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody21

i would not risk it myself as i dont know as im fairly new to android coming from winmo

But i have done my sensation and used the superwipe provided in the android revolution hd rom thread here. (half way down, just under the download link for the rom)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1098849

the file is named as if its specifically for the sensation and worked perfectly for me.

The DL link for SuperWipe seems to be dead in that thread. Does anyone have an alternative link for where to download it from?

It's my first time flashing a ROM so I'm trying to follow instructions exactly to have minimal possible issues.
6th October 2011, 05:10 PM   |  #9  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,241
 
13,616 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I use this if moving to a different ROM:

http://www.multiupload.com/CYTE1KKXHS

(new link to the one that was on mike1986's thread)
Last edited by EddyOS; 6th October 2011 at 05:12 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th October 2011, 05:15 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
That's great, thanks Eddy!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes