Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,957 Members 38,643 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] error: more than one device and emulator???[SOLVED]

Tip us?
 
kassim3
Old
(Last edited by kassim3; 5th August 2011 at 01:13 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default [Q] error: more than one device and emulator???[SOLVED]

So i'm trying to root my asus transformer by following this guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1106587

i got to the part where it says to type the following command
Code:
adb push gingerbreakBB /data/local/
but i get the error
Code:
C:\Android>adb push gingerbreakBB /data/local/
error: more than one device and emulator
I ran adb devices to see what devices it recognises and it says

Code:
C:\Android>adb devices
List of devices attached
304D197CC264A27E        device
28841c943012497 device
what now
The Following User Says Thank You to kassim3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gee one
Old
#2  
gee one's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 562
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: linux command line
unplug one of your devices (maybe your phone?) or use
Code:
adb -s 304D197CC264A27E push gingerbreakBB /data/local/
you might have to swap the serial number, depending what you have plugged in.
HTC Dream
HTC Vision
ASUS Transformer

If you found this post helpful, please consider a donation to charity:
World Vision
International Red Cross
Wikipedia
International Justice Mission
or pick your own
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gee one For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kassim3
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2008
thanks mate it seemed like it rooted but it didnt lol. i got the progress bar on when i rebooted the device but it doesnt seem to be rooted hhmmmm any ideas?
 
gee one
Old
#4  
gee one's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 562
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: linux command line
Sorry, not sure... maybe your phone is rooted instead :0

Try starting over again without your phone plugged in
HTC Dream
HTC Vision
ASUS Transformer

If you found this post helpful, please consider a donation to charity:
World Vision
International Red Cross
Wikipedia
International Justice Mission
or pick your own
The Following User Says Thank You to gee one For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrevankyle
Old
#5  
mrevankyle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 540
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
if you are on linux or have access to a linux machien use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1198303
Otherwise do this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1125714
Galaxy Note II-OmniRom Asus Transformer- Stockish(Media Center)
"Thank the devs, Thank the contributors"
The Following User Says Thank You to mrevankyle For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kassim3
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee one View Post
Sorry, not sure... maybe your phone is rooted instead :0

Try starting over again without your phone plugged in
LOLOLOL you were right my phone was plugged in HOWEVER it still didnt work. the progress bar did show up again but wasnt rooted

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrevankyle View Post
if you are on linux or have access to a linux machien use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1198303
Otherwise do this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1125714
thanks i'll try that out later today. i think its sign for my to go to sleep its 3 am right now lolol. i'll post what happens today morning
 
kassim3
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Nov 2008
Oh yeh going to sleep did the trick. I woke up and removed everything by doing the commands

Code:
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/boomsh
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/sh
and also followed the this video tutorial

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaZ4B...layer_embedded

aand it worked it!

Thanks gee one and mrevankyle
 
Calbha
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 53
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mesa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kassim3 View Post
Oh yeh going to sleep did the trick. I woke up and removed everything by doing the commands

Code:
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/boomsh
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/sh
and also followed the this video tutorial

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaZ4B...layer_embedded

aand it worked it!

Thanks gee one and mrevankyle
also would like to add to anyone else encountering this error with other uses of adb to make sure all of bluestacks processes are killed.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Calbha For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jack6911
Old
#9  
Jack6911's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rimouski
I had the same issue when I've tried to room my XT1032 (Moto G)... I fail to install with the SuperBoot way! So I've decide to install CWM and a modified recovery.

On my first try, I receive this message:

Code:
error: more than one device and emulator
When I used the command
Code:
adb devices
I've 2 device... My XT1033 and an AndroidEmulator...

Quote:
C:\Fastboot>adb devices
List of devices attached
emulator-5554 offline
TA88305ZDH offline
Also, the command
Code:
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/boomsh
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/sh
is not working for me...

I've use the command:
Code:
adb kill-server
After, I've plug back my XT1033 via USB and launch the command:
Code:
adb usb
Only my XT1033 is now show when I use the
Code:
adb devices
!

So, I've finish my installation with
Code:
fastboot-moto-windows flash recovery recovery.testkeys.img
and I've run a sideload installation with:

Code:
adb-windows sideload supersu.motog.zip
Try this and share me your opinion!

---------- Post added at 11:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:10 PM ----------

I had the same issue when I've tried to room my XT1032 (Moto G)... I fail to install with the SuperBoot way! So I've decide to install CWM and a modified recovery.

On my first try, I receive this message:

Code:
error: more than one device and emulator
When I used the command
Code:
adb devices
I've 2 device... My XT1033 and an AndroidEmulator...

Quote:
C:\Fastboot>adb devices
List of devices attached
emulator-5554 offline
TA88305ZDH offline
Also, the command
Code:
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/boomsh
adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/sh
is not working for me...

I've use the command:
Code:
adb kill-server
After, I've plug back my XT1033 via USB and launch the command:
Code:
adb usb
Only my XT1033 is now show when I use the
Code:
adb devices
!

So, I've finish my installation with
Code:
fastboot-moto-windows flash recovery recovery.testkeys.img
and I've run a sideload installation with:

Code:
adb-windows sideload supersu.motog.zip
Try this and share me your opinion!
[MySetup]

BRAND: LG/Google
MODEL: Nexus5 (unrooted)
BOOTLOAD: Stock
RECOVERY: Stock
ANDROID: KitKat 4.4.4
BUILD: KTU84P

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes