5,814,981 Members 40,710 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] [FROYO] EC03 Odin ROM

Tip us?
 
pastorbennett
Old
#21  
pastorbennett's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 239
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailblazer101 View Post
^
got long press working with google search xD I'll upload it later xD
you have to do some smali editing to fix it, that's why it wouldn't work xP

Sent from my SCH-I400 using XDA Premium App
Hell yeah, you kick ass! That was the one thing that was irritating me about the Froyo ROM. I'm just starting to learn all this development stuff. I was trying to modify the enhancedgooglesearchprovider.apk that made this feature work with DL17. You've made my day! I'm excited to get this working.
 
laureanop
Old
(Last edited by laureanop; 12th August 2011 at 07:11 PM.) Reason: another question
#22  
laureanop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 463
Posts: 1,672
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
I wanna install this on my wife's continuum but i don"t understand step 7. Isn't everything wiped when you odin the froyo.tar file? or is step 7 used if you wanna install the froyo file though cwm? Are the froyo kernel and radio included in the odin package?
 
samuelhadams
Old
#23  
samuelhadams's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 291
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by laureanop View Post
I wanna install this on my wife's continuum but i don"t understand step 7. Isn't everything wiped when you odin the froyo.tar file? or is step 7 used if you wanna install the froyo file though cwm? Are the froyo kernel and radio included in the odin package?
Step 7 is just wiping data you have stored from the ROM you're running now. It's cached data from the apps from your currently running ROM.

So again to clarify, step 7 is not an alternative method to installing this Froyo ROM via CWM. It's to wipe cached data. Wiping this data will prevent errors from occurring so make sure to do it.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using XDA App
 
Bierce22
Old
#24  
Bierce22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 1,616
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: canton ga
you can wipe the data with the normal bootloader cwm is there in case you want to make a back up or flash an add on.
Htc One M8 with google play rom
-phone, samsung Galaxy s3 retired
-Rom, Carbon 4.2.2- retired
---------------------------------------------
-computer asus k55a-rbr6
-OS- Arch Linux 64bit Xfce4
-My desktop http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvEQndl3F1g
 
Weudel
Old
#25  
Weudel's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 529
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Anyone know how to flash this thing in Heimdall? I don't have windows.

HTC Droid Eris... KaosFroyo'd 'til retirement
Samsung Continuum... EC03 Froyo
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play... Still Stock... Loaded with Emulators
Samsung Galaxy Nexus... RIP, Buggy Wonder
Nook Color... Rockin' the CM10
HTC One Max... Large And In Charge
 
Bierce22
Old
#26  
Bierce22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 1,616
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: canton ga
are you on mac or linux
Htc One M8 with google play rom
-phone, samsung Galaxy s3 retired
-Rom, Carbon 4.2.2- retired
---------------------------------------------
-computer asus k55a-rbr6
-OS- Arch Linux 64bit Xfce4
-My desktop http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvEQndl3F1g
The Following User Says Thank You to Bierce22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Weudel
Old
#27  
Weudel's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 529
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
linux (Ubuntu 11.04)

HTC Droid Eris... KaosFroyo'd 'til retirement
Samsung Continuum... EC03 Froyo
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play... Still Stock... Loaded with Emulators
Samsung Galaxy Nexus... RIP, Buggy Wonder
Nook Color... Rockin' the CM10
HTC One Max... Large And In Charge
 
Weudel
Old
#28  
Weudel's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 529
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Here's the UI

HTC Droid Eris... KaosFroyo'd 'til retirement
Samsung Continuum... EC03 Froyo
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play... Still Stock... Loaded with Emulators
Samsung Galaxy Nexus... RIP, Buggy Wonder
Nook Color... Rockin' the CM10
HTC One Max... Large And In Charge
 
pastorbennett
Old
#29  
pastorbennett's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 239
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weudel View Post
Anyone know how to flash this thing in Heimdall? I don't have windows.
Heimdall should work, but no guarantees on that. To flash via Heimdall, take the Odin image, remove .md5 from the file name, unzip, and input the appropriate files into Heimdall. zImage is the kernel, factoryfs.rfs is the system, and recovery.bin is of course recovery. If all else fails, throw the files on a thumb drive and use a friend's Windows machine. I'm Mac user, but I used Odin through Bootcamp to get this done.

You can also flash the zip file provided by imnuts, but you would still need to flash the modem and cwm recovery.
 
Bierce22
Old
#30  
Bierce22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 1,616
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: canton ga
u need the echo 3 image then use pda mode in heimden im pretty sure
Htc One M8 with google play rom
-phone, samsung Galaxy s3 retired
-Rom, Carbon 4.2.2- retired
---------------------------------------------
-computer asus k55a-rbr6
-OS- Arch Linux 64bit Xfce4
-My desktop http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvEQndl3F1g

The Following User Says Thank You to Bierce22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
continuum, froyo, i400, odin
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes