Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,176 Members 51,383 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Touchwiz Update bricked my non-rooted Tab (static lines across screen)!

Tip us?
 
sfox8
Old
(Last edited by sfox8; 5th August 2011 at 05:44 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 112
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Touchwiz Update bricked my non-rooted Tab (static lines across screen)!

I decided to go ahead with the TW firmware upgrade. Everything seemed to be going fine until I tried to install it and it told me there was an error and I needed to hook it up to Kies first. I had already been using Kies with it on my Macbook for a couple weeks now so I went ahead and plugged it in. Kies recognized it as usual and all the information came up.

So I went on and tried to install again and it said it needed to reboot.

It reboots and comes to the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 screen like normal (right before it starts the galaxy animation). Next thing I know it comes to a screen that looks like the attached images! I immediately unplugged it from Kies and shut it down. Every time I start it back up it does the same thing. I honestly have NO idea what to do. I can't even return it as it's past the 14 day period and I (stupidly) didn't buy Staples' bogus $160 insurance.

I was not rooted before. This was a stock tab that I bought at staples. It had the firmware 4.24 when I bought it, I think.

Please, any help is appreciated. I tried doing firmware recovery in Kies but the pop up comes up in Korean and I have no idea what it says...

Edit: More info. I'm not the only one with this problem. Two other people have posted on AndroidPolice about this. http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/08...e-is-now-live/

The software is definitely running underneath all that mess but it's literally impossible to see what is going or to touch anything.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0030.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	678484   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0031.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	678485  
 
ansonantonym
Old
#2  
ansonantonym's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 446
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
I guess this thread is about the same issue
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1203610
The Following User Says Thank You to ansonantonym For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sfox8
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 112
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thanks, I'm checking the thread out now. I probably should have searched more than just Google before posting but I freaked out when it happened.
 
ansonantonym
Old
#4  
ansonantonym's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 446
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
No need to freak out . we have xda and dev to solve all our problems
 
vitii
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
i have exactly the same problem as you... what should i do now?
 
Amal Kadi
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2011
I get the same screen but after rebooting! pfft it's making me really sad :\
 
Amal Kadi
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2011
I'm sorry but I tried reading this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1171089 and couldnt understanding what should I do!
What CWM + my device is not rooted, all I could understand is that the thread contains instructions on how to root your device..
I just want my normal screen back!
Please tell me what to do in simple english :\
 
Amal Kadi
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2011
And now I did a wipe and the stripes are gone, but the screen is black instead :\ still not working. Please help me!
 
5thElement
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 273
Join Date: Jun 2011
Are you sure you didnt sit on it?
 
tonyurquiza
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amal Kadi View Post
I'm sorry but I tried reading this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1171089 and couldnt understanding what should I do!
What CWM + my device is not rooted, all I could understand is that the thread contains instructions on how to root your device..
I just want my normal screen back!
Please tell me what to do in simple english :\
haha i had the same problem go look at my threat that was posted above. in thier someone posted instructions on what to do the link you posted contains the download to the things needed heres a basic rundown of what you need to do

install clockwork recovery mod "CWM" to replace your bootloader.
download and install stock 3.1 and you should have your tab back to normal.

my help thread has the instructions to instal CWM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more