5,596,568 Members 41,842 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Difference between Clockworkmod Recovery.

Tip us?
 
kongmyy
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2008
Question [Q] Difference between Clockworkmod Recovery.

The title says it all, I don't understand what is different between Clockworkmod Recovery 150mb, 250mb and 400mb? If I flash a 400mb recovery can I install a rom that requires 150mb? If I flash a 150mb can I install a rom that requires 400mb recovery?
In this thread, at the download section.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=908528
It says " 4.X is bigger then 2.X so you need at least a 390mb system partition. If you flashed the recovery with 360mb modded file, you have to reflash it again " How do I check the modded file size? and reflash what?
 
Marvlesz
Old
#2  
Marvlesz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 724
Posts: 2,253
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia
Hello,

The size speaks of itself. Some Roms (like Sense Roms) have lots of components which requires more space from your Internal Memory (NAND) . And others don't, (like MIUI and CM) . And if you flashed a 400mb Recovery you MAY be able to use a 150mb ROM on it but it's absolutely not recommended as the rom may malfunction. and when you try to use a 150mb recovery with a 400mb size rom it will not install . (even if it did, it will stick on a bootloop) .

You can check the modded size by checking flash.cfg (open with notepad)
Do you have a question about the HD2 ? Ask it here for an instant response.

nexus⁴: Stock 4.4 rooted & xposed.
The Following User Says Thank You to Marvlesz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
samsamuel
Old
#3  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Nov 2006
The quoted size refers to the size system partition that is created, and the system partition must be big enough for the rom you flash.
Yes you can flash a small rom to a large partition with no side effects,,,BUT you lose the extra space. So a 150 Meg rom on a 250meg partition results in 100meg totally wasted. A 250meg rom won't flash to a 150 partition.
If the rom doesn't tell you what size to use, extract the system folder from the ..zip, and see how big it is, (right click-properties) and add a few Meg.
O2 UK (Contract) APN settings data & MMS combined

Various radios, stock roms and tools HERE

UK 3.14 hd2 stock roms on HTC.com

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE

PACpacPACpacPACpacPAC

'If there's an emergency, you have my permission to panic, and run about screaming.'

2nd nun says "yes, doesn't it." 1st nun says "no i said where's the POPE?"
The Following User Says Thank You to samsamuel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
likewei92
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yep just choose the size based on what ROM you want to install. You should check the individual ROM threads for instructions. And just btw I found this HD2 toolkit thing very useful. It allows you to repartition to any custom size you want (not only 150, 250 or 400 Mb), among many other things.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1090783
 
mmob18
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvlesz View Post
Hello,

The size speaks of itself. Some Roms (like Sense Roms) have lots of components which requires more space from your Internal Memory (NAND) . And others don't, (like MIUI and CM) . And if you flashed a 400mb Recovery you MAY be able to use a 150mb ROM on it but it's absolutely not recommended as the rom may malfunction. and when you try to use a 150mb recovery with a 400mb size rom it will not install . (even if it did, it will stick on a bootloop) .

You can check the modded size by checking flash.cfg (open with notepad)
How do you downgrade the mb? Like I installed a 250 mb cwm and I want to revert to 150 mb... How do I do it?
 
Nigeldg
Old
#6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1077
Posts: 2,957
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmob18 View Post
How do you downgrade the mb? Like I installed a 250 mb cwm and I want to revert to 150 mb... How do I do it?
Just flash the new partiton. This will delete everything on your NAND, so backup first.
Primary device: Nexus 4 running Paranoidandroid
Ultimate Nexus 4 Root guide

Secondary device: HTC HD2 running NexusHD2 JB
How to be a new user, and not a noob - Some people REALLY need to read this!
How to flash an HD2 with NAND Android
A guide to all of the terms for the HD2
Android 4.2 keyboard and Camera!
 
samsamuel
Old
#7  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmob18 View Post
How do you downgrade the mb? Like I installed a 250 mb cwm and I want to revert to 150 mb... How do I do it?
just the same as you did the 250, except you either edit flash.cfg or use the toolkit and select 150.
O2 UK (Contract) APN settings data & MMS combined

Various radios, stock roms and tools HERE

UK 3.14 hd2 stock roms on HTC.com

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE

PACpacPACpacPACpacPAC

'If there's an emergency, you have my permission to panic, and run about screaming.'

2nd nun says "yes, doesn't it." 1st nun says "no i said where's the POPE?"
 
mengfei
Old
#8  
mengfei's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 388
Posts: 919
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shenzen, China
i was wondering what the difference between the Blue & Orange CWM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Sony Xperia Z, ZL, ZR, and Tablet Z to Receive Official KitKat Update in May

It’s no secret that although Sony is one of the most … more

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more