Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Screen off when useing HDMI

OP smd3235

8th August 2011, 10:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
this was asked in another fourm but never got a solid answer. I have my tablet connected to my TV in my bedroom and it is connected to my media server so i can watch movies from it and have it displayed on the tv. The issue is im staring at the tablet and TV both screens are on. Here is the question that the other user asked on the other fourm

"Is it possible to turn the a500 display off when connecting to a TV using HDMI out? If you try to lock the device (hit the power button), it halts the device completely. There is not brightness option for "completely off," so that's not an option. Ideally, I'd like to save battery if I'm watching a movie via HDMI.

Does this require a 3rd party app, if so, do you know of any? Thanks in advance! "
9th August 2011, 12:38 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
849 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Yeah I stumbled on that one too and I don't think you can I hope someone prove me wrong I hope.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
10th August 2011, 04:55 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 68
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
it's dual screen so no way to turn it off, unless Acer decide to do it so...

but why not just cover the screen..... with the case..
10th August 2011, 05:05 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 277
 
2,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
I think the point of turning it off is to save battery. I also am in the same position. I use it to watch netflix on my upstairs tv but it sucks cause it depletes the battery quicker then if I could just turn the screen off on the tablet. Hopefully something can done to resolve this. Maybe a mod or something.
11th August 2011, 03:28 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 68
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
don't tell me that you are not going to watch 8 hours in a row movies from the tablet on your TV.... without plugin on power your tablet... or even if you are in a friends house, you are watching a 3 hours movies but you will not stick to your tablet 8 straight hours...
or you bring your powercharger...
11th August 2011, 04:11 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanaell

don't tell me that you are not going to watch 8 hours in a row movies from the tablet on your TV.... without plugin on power your tablet... or even if you are in a friends house, you are watching a 3 hours movies but you will not stick to your tablet 8 straight hours...
or you bring your powercharger...

+1 +1 +1 +1, if you wanna use it as a dvd player plug it in.
11th August 2011, 05:59 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
You could conceivably use Widgetsoid or something similar to reduce screen brightness to 0%.
17th August 2011, 06:38 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Has anyone tried looking at Tasker to see if it has functionality to allowing this?
17th August 2011, 08:29 PM   |  #9  
vanisleguy1976's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver Island
Thanks Meter: 317
 
759 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragnorok64

You could conceivably use Widgetsoid or something similar to reduce screen brightness to 0%.

But if you reduce the screen brightness to zero, will it not in turn reduce the output to your tv to zero? As far as I know, the tv will show exactly what the tablet shows. As someone else pointed out, just close the case. That's what I do! And heck yes, plug the tablet in so you can enjoy the awesomeness longer

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D using Tapatalk
18th August 2011, 05:40 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanisleguy1976

But if you reduce the screen brightness to zero, will it not in turn reduce the output to your tv to zero? As far as I know, the tv will show exactly what the tablet shows. As someone else pointed out, just close the case. That's what I do! And heck yes, plug the tablet in so you can enjoy the awesomeness longer

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D using Tapatalk

Changing the brightness on the tablet does not affect the brightness of what's output over HDMI.

Also note that I said "conceivably" I woudn't suggest actually lowering the brightness to 0%, and hitting OK, it'd be difficult to get it back up whiel blind poking.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes