Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Install CyanogemMod 7 in your Milestone 2

OP jorgebaruchi

12th August 2011, 02:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Old Thread:
Quote:

Hi guys,

With this new kernel and a lot of new ideas, isnt better if we try a new port of cyanogen with no motoblur?? Particulary, i prefer that ROM...

I didnt know how to do, but i can test...

There are so many roms for droid 2, like fission, that i want to use in my milestone 2, but see that mike and others try to port but doesnt work. But now, we have new roms and new oportunites...

=)

Is that port possible now (with leaked CHINA rom)?

Rom UPDATED!! (02/09): Check on DEV Section using the link below

New Rom Release (28/08):

Hi Guys,

A new CM7 Rom was just released in DEV forum by Endless7 (thanks!)... If anyone (like me!) dont be able to post in DEV forums and need suport for this ROM... PLZ!! USE THIS TREAD....

Im working now, but I will try this ROM at Night, finger crossed! THIS IS THE WAY

Bye..
Last edited by jorgebaruchi; 2nd September 2011 at 10:27 PM. Reason: New ROM just released and I want to create a topic for noob users to discut this new idea
12th August 2011, 02:53 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 121
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebaruchi

Hi guys,

With this new kernel and a lot of new ideas, isnt better if we try a new port of cyanogen with no motoblur?? Particulary, i prefer that ROM...

I didnt know how to do, but i can test...

There are so many roms for droid 2, like fission, that i want to use in my milestone 2, but see that mike and others try to port but doesnt work. But now, we have new roms and new oportunites...

=)

Is that port possible now (with leaked CHINA rom)?

Well, I'm still learning the basics of android building. As soon as I get my custom hijack for 2nd init working I will try to port CM to the Milestone2. Note that I'm not promising any dates. My free time is very short and I'll do my best, but I don't want to get under pressure because of this
The Following User Says Thank You to r2beta0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2011, 03:35 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 4
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I think a leaked unlocked bootloader would do the trick
Just jocking. As I see it, nothing has changed regarding custom roms, as the bootloaded stays the same.

But I am quite confident, that r2beta0 will have progress on 2nd-init soon.
12th August 2011, 04:59 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypressious

I think a leaked unlocked bootloader would do the trick
Just jocking. As I see it, nothing has changed regarding custom roms, as the bootloaded stays the same.

But I am quite confident, that r2beta0 will have progress on 2nd-init soon.

filgers crossed!! but i remender that there are some blocks on system booting with froyo rom... then, i thinked that new rom could change this issue... =/

well, thks everybody!
12th August 2011, 06:25 PM   |  #5  
dangpzanco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2beta0

Well, I'm still learning the basics of android building. As soon as I get my custom hijack for 2nd init working I will try to port CM to the Milestone2. Note that I'm not promising any dates. My free time is very short and I'll do my best, but I don't want to get under pressure because of this

I think we don't need the 2nd-init built specially for GB rom, since Defy's CM7 (and Droid 2/X's) still have the base SBF on froyo. Maybe if we exchange the boot.img and devtree.img from GB leak to the ones inside Defy's CM7 update.zip (don't forget to delete /system/etc/motorola/bp_nvm_default/pds_init too, or you'll get all that GSM problems again)?

Edit: Won't Apex 2.0 RC2 work on GB Mile2?

@Milestone 2 (Finnaly on Gingerbread!)
12th August 2011, 08:28 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 121
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dangpzanco

I think we don't need the 2nd-init built specially for GB rom, since Defy's CM7 (and Droid 2/X's) still have the base SBF on froyo. Maybe if we exchange the boot.img and devtree.img from GB leak to the ones inside Defy's CM7 update.zip (don't forget to delete /system/etc/motorola/bp_nvm_default/pds_init too, or you'll get all that GSM problems again)?

Edit: Won't Apex 2.0 RC2 work on GB Mile2?

@Milestone 2 (Finnaly on Gingerbread!)

We need 2nd-init in order to change the boot sequence required by CM7. DroidX already have a customized 2nd-init for CM7, but I don't want to use it yet as it uses bootscripts inside a /system/etc/shadow-boot.zip. I prefer to have my files ready to edit and not inside a zip file. Also, trying to make my own hijack is giving me knowledge I will need when trying to port CM to M2.
12th August 2011, 09:06 PM   |  #7  
dangpzanco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2beta0

We need 2nd-init in order to change the boot sequence required by CM7. DroidX already have a customized 2nd-init for CM7, but I don't want to use it yet as it uses bootscripts inside a /system/etc/shadow-boot.zip. I prefer to have my files ready to edit and not inside a zip file. Also, trying to make my own hijack is giving me knowledge I will need when trying to port CM to M2.

Hm... Okay, nice! So we have a better coded 2nd-init.
PS: If you need to unpack a boot.img to get the scripts/zImage, I got it with dsixda's Kitchen

@Milestone 2 (Finnaly on Gingerbread!)
13th August 2011, 03:53 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 121
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dangpzanco

Hm... Okay, nice! So we have a better coded 2nd-init.
PS: If you need to unpack a boot.img to get the scripts/zImage, I got it with dsixda's Kitchen

@Milestone 2 (Finnaly on Gingerbread!)

Yeps, I'm using that one too.
17th August 2011, 06:22 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hi guys,

Searching the web, i found a oficial port of MIUI for droid 2, than i think: "Can we port this version with the ch kernel and change the baseband?"

If its possible, i think that this way is more simple, however port a defy rom and fix the incompatible bugs...

=)
17th August 2011, 11:30 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 121
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebaruchi

Hi guys,

Searching the web, i found a oficial port of MIUI for droid 2, than i think: "Can we port this version with the ch kernel and change the baseband?"

If its possible, i think that this way is more simple, however port a defy rom and fix the incompatible bugs...

=)

We should check first if this ROM is compatible with the kernels we have available. If so, we can try to port from that. Some ppl into Development forum are already trying to do that.

The Following User Says Thank You to r2beta0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cyanogem, cyanogen, gingerbread, leaked china rom, milestone 2, port
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes