Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,529 Members 40,259 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't install large apps anymore

Tip us?
 
boggiano
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default [Q] Can't install large apps anymore

Suddenly I can't download from market any large apps ( about 25 MB), using logcat I see "... not enough free space in internal downlad storage".

90% of the installed apps are on the sd, and I have a lot of free space :
SD 3 GB free
Internal 1,36 free
Emmc 11 free

I tried to clear cache and vm cache from recovery, but no luck.

I am using a cyanogenmod rom.

Any advice,pls ?
 
natious
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 439
Posts: 1,464
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you using the new market? If so that has been causing the same problems for me

nspaull.com

Note III [COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"Temasek CM11[/COLOR] @ 2.5ghz
Galaxy SIV foxhound @ 2.1ghz
Galaxy Nexus franco + slim @ 1.3ghz
Galaxy S CM7 @ 1ghz
Galaxy Tab overcome @ 1.4ghz

Desire Z CM7 @ 1.2ghz[/STRIKE]
DesireCM7 @ 1.2ghz[/STRIKE]

GALAXY TAB MEIZU DARK THEME
GALAXY TAB HONEYCOMB THEME
 
boggiano
Old
(Last edited by boggiano; 14th August 2011 at 08:50 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by natious View Post
Are you using the new market? If so that has been causing the same problems for me
I tried both: at the beginning I had the old market, after I tried with the new one: same result!

I looked around and I found that the problem could be the /cache folder.

I have:

Filesystem------Size--Used--Free--MountPoint
/dev/block/stl1 30.7M 4.1M 26.7M /cache

If the system uses the /cache downloading I could never install an app like that (about 28MB).

Can I mount/link the /cache fs in another place ?


EDIT:
Funny situation, indeed!!
I switched from cyano to overcome (full wipe).
My /cache was 30 MB and with 4k used, so I could install one big application!
I started to install another one.... no space left!

Again... now I have /cache with 4MB used, so I can't install any other big application!!

Browsing with root file manager I really can't see anything of 4MB size (even hidden!!)

EDIT [SOLVED]

Using the script in this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ighlight=cache

Code:
stratosk - 27/07/2011
# Corgar - 28/07/2011 ( changed location of cache in dbdata for onenand i/o, decreased cache dimension to 50mb )
# Remount /cache partition with a larger one (54.5 MB / 50mb cache)

# create a file 54.4 MB
dd if=/dev/zero of=/data/cache.img bs=1024 count=55808

# create ext4 filesystem 
mke2fs -F -T ext4 /data/cache.img

# unmounting old cache partition
umount /cache

# mount 
losetup /dev/block/loop7 /dbdata/cache.img
mount -t ext4 /dev/block/loop7 /cache

chown system.cache /cache
chmod 770 /cache
All the applications can be installed!!
The Following User Says Thank You to boggiano For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CrazyJones
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2012
i have same problem
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes