Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] How to manually apply boot.img.p

14th August 2011, 06:25 AM   |  #1  
mtmichaelson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mt. Juliet, TN
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hello all I have looked everywhere on a way to manually patch the boot.img. I have the patch file just can't figure out how to apply it. What should I try? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Sent from my VS910 4G using XDA Premium App
14th August 2011, 10:11 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Strasbourg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Hi i'm not 100 % sure but :
Go on the recorvery --> Backup and restore --> Advanced restore --> go on the folder where is boot.img --> boot only

I'm not sure so don't try it now i'm not a expert...

(sorry for my bad english)
14th August 2011, 12:45 PM   |  #3  
mtmichaelson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mt. Juliet, TN
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lichter

Hi i'm not 100 % sure but :
Go on the recorvery --> Backup and restore --> Advanced restore --> go on the folder where is boot.img --> boot only

I'm not sure so don't try it now i'm not a expert...

(sorry for my bad english)

Ya that won't work :( thank you though!

Sent from my VS910 4G using XDA Premium App
14th August 2011, 12:53 PM   |  #4  
frosty_ice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
If you have the boot.img file, you should be able to flash it by booting into fastboot and using
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
Do not flash a different file this way though!
14th August 2011, 01:09 PM   |  #5  
mtmichaelson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mt. Juliet, TN
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty_ice

If you have the boot.img file, you should be able to flash it by booting into fastboot and using

Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
Do not flash a different file this way though!

I have the boot.img file but I am trying to flash a boot.img.p (update patch) to the current boot.img.

Sent from my VS910 4G using XDA Premium App
14th August 2011, 06:12 PM   |  #6  
mtmichaelson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mt. Juliet, TN
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
For more info, I have tried flashing using the apply_patch code in cwm, and I can't figure out how to open the .p file to try to make changes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Sent from my VS910 4G using XDA Premium App
15th August 2011, 03:23 AM   |  #7  
mtmichaelson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mt. Juliet, TN
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
1,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Anyone? Don't mean to be a bother. Sorry

Sent from my VS910 4G using XDA Premium App
15th August 2011, 03:24 PM   |  #8  
divyanshu308's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ghaziabad
Thanks Meter: 13
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
i guess you need to edit the original boot.img and compile the patches you made in that and repack it then flash.
Last edited by divyanshu308; 15th August 2011 at 03:27 PM. Reason: something left

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank