Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stuck With Telus -> Which Model To Buy??

OP Corbino

15th August 2011, 09:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
So I have the Milestone 1 with Telus and I have 2 years left of contract. I played with Bell's model which was amazing and I need to upgrade!

I see the Droid 3 (Verizon's model) unlocked on Ebay for reasonable prices, but still cannot find the Bell model online.

What's the best option for a model to buy so I can use on Telus with everything enabled (like data and voice etc)?


Please let me know!

Thanks
15th August 2011, 10:53 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Both Verizon and Bell should work with Telus, as long as you unlock the GSM modem.
15th August 2011, 06:47 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
You better get the Bell one (XT860 4G). Verizon tampered with the GSM radio on the D3 to implement operators bans which, based on my very own Droid 2 Global experience, might not be the best experience you want. (I have D2G which I have had on both Rogers and Telus networks here, not without some issues)
17th August 2011, 11:48 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
So if I get the Bell version do I have to unlock it somewhere? Or can I buy this unlocked online?
18th August 2011, 12:56 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
both work well i have the d3 on rogers
18th August 2011, 07:00 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
I picked up the Bell one today. unlocked online and using it with Rogers. so far so good.

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
18th August 2011, 01:05 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leobg

I picked up the Bell one today. unlocked online and using it with Rogers. so far so good.

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk

Which unlocking service did you use?
21st August 2011, 05:13 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Most online ones should work. I went with mobileincanada as they are lightning fast and have proven themselves to me over the years. Code was emailed to me in 15 minutes.

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes