Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stuck With Telus -> Which Model To Buy??

OP Corbino

15th August 2011, 09:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
So I have the Milestone 1 with Telus and I have 2 years left of contract. I played with Bell's model which was amazing and I need to upgrade!

I see the Droid 3 (Verizon's model) unlocked on Ebay for reasonable prices, but still cannot find the Bell model online.

What's the best option for a model to buy so I can use on Telus with everything enabled (like data and voice etc)?


Please let me know!

Thanks
15th August 2011, 10:53 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Both Verizon and Bell should work with Telus, as long as you unlock the GSM modem.
15th August 2011, 06:47 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
You better get the Bell one (XT860 4G). Verizon tampered with the GSM radio on the D3 to implement operators bans which, based on my very own Droid 2 Global experience, might not be the best experience you want. (I have D2G which I have had on both Rogers and Telus networks here, not without some issues)
17th August 2011, 11:48 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
So if I get the Bell version do I have to unlock it somewhere? Or can I buy this unlocked online?
18th August 2011, 12:56 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
both work well i have the d3 on rogers
18th August 2011, 07:00 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
I picked up the Bell one today. unlocked online and using it with Rogers. so far so good.

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
18th August 2011, 01:05 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leobg

I picked up the Bell one today. unlocked online and using it with Rogers. so far so good.

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk

Which unlocking service did you use?
21st August 2011, 05:13 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Most online ones should work. I went with mobileincanada as they are lightning fast and have proven themselves to me over the years. Code was emailed to me in 15 minutes.

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes