MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to update phone after rooting

OP Elriond

17th August 2011, 10:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Hi everibody,

tried searching for the result but couldn't find any answer... Also, I'm guessin it would wipe off all my data, rite?

- Software Version: 1.28.707.2
- Android Version: 2.3.3
- Baseband Version: 10.43.9007.00U_10.11.9007.19_M

Note: I tried to do the update once but my phone showed an "error" screen (yellow exclamation mark inside a triangle) and hung.

Any help is appreciated.
17th August 2011, 11:11 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
As far as i am led to believe you cannot update if you are rooted,(more advance users feel free to correct me!). I think you have to restore using the ruu.exe back to stock 2.3.3 unrooted to do the update!
17th August 2011, 03:49 PM   |  #3  
mattdub1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
624 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
yes this is correct, I do believe there is a way to accept the update while rooted and get it to work but once its applied it will break root anyway... if you want to stay rooted then might as well flash one of the stock rooted 2.3.4 roms available in the dev forum... the ones for the US aren't out yet. hope this helps
17th August 2011, 04:14 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
You might want to check this out:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=342

I haven't tried it myself.

If you do try it, I would love to hear back from you after as to how it went.
17th August 2011, 04:18 PM   |  #5  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,986
 
13,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
When I had my g2x I was running eaglesblood and when the T-Mobile update finally got released it gave me the notification to update but I didn't. It may work both ways

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA Premium App
17th August 2011, 04:42 PM   |  #6  
x Taz x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mobile
Thanks Meter: 49
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
The only way I have received ay updates is if I was running the stock ROM. If you are running a custom ROM you will have to wait until the Dev makes the update. I have accepted some updates holding my breath to not lose root and I have been lucky so far.
17th August 2011, 04:51 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Bydgoszcz
Thanks Meter: 4
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I've tried and done successfully without RUU, just with OTA package, Buck767 pointed to my post with guide how to do it
17th August 2011, 08:26 PM   |  #8  
smoochiezz24's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 123
 
409 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Most of the devs edit out the update option in the build.prop as it is not necessary if you are hoping to stay rooted and s-off. You may simply edit it back in but I certainly wouldn't take that chance of accepting an update accidentally.
22nd August 2011, 03:50 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
thanks for all the replies guys... was bz the past few days... will be trying poduy's method soon... btw, i'm running on stock...

update: just tried poduy's method... but my fone can't seem to update... all versions still remain... tried it twice... after updating, it says update successful... anybody has any clue?
Last edited by Elriond; 22nd August 2011 at 05:15 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes