FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

HTC Unlock Is now working

6,113 posts
Thanks Meter: 6,008
 
By graffixnyc, Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer on 18th August 2011, 08:23 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
18th August 2011, 08:42 PM |#11  
mwalt2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,519
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencer88

You have some balls to use their method to unlock if that's your only EVO 3D lol

Why? HTC makes the phone and software for it. Their methods are better than finding hacks and holes in the software to push the things needed for s-off, etc.
 
 
18th August 2011, 08:46 PM |#12  
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 362
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencer88

You have some balls to use their method to unlock if that's your only EVO 3D lol

I don't see why people are so scared to use the method. Yes you loose your warranty, but honestly how many people have used warranty to fix a phone? I personally have NEVER, but have used insurance 3 times over the last 10 years.
18th August 2011, 09:06 PM |#13  
Member
Flag Columbus,Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
i use htc unlock but cant get the recovery load just reboots...tried both custom recoverys
18th August 2011, 09:25 PM |#14  
DeMiNe0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nao2003

i use htc unlock but cant get the recovery load just reboots...tried both custom recoverys

^ Thats why i don't use the HTC Unlock.


S-ON will always be on using HTC's method. I believe it's to keep you from flashing the radio. If I'm correct the only extra thing you can actually flash with htc's unlocker is the system, data and boot partition. Or certain recovery's authorized by HTC can be flashed.
18th August 2011, 09:29 PM |#15  
graffixnyc's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 6,008
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencer88

I wonder if you can run the fastboot command "setsecureflag" if that will change the S-ON to S-OFF.

Hmm ill try when I get home. It's not my phone. It's my friends. Hehe mine has been s-off since the day it was released.

Ok so can't flash splash screens. I tried flashing it via fastboot and the zip. When i try in fastboot I get a bootloader signiture error. When i try the zip it starts to parse it but then boots me out. Engine hboot zip did the same thing. While its partially unlocked I think they still locked down some things. Fastboot erase recovery errors out saying not allowed.



Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
18th August 2011, 09:32 PM |#16  
umbra6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Loxahatchee, FL
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwalt2

Why? HTC makes the phone and software for it. Their methods are better than finding hacks and holes in the software to push the things needed for s-off, etc.

This is also what differentiates a tester and a follower...trying it out for yourself .

Edit...quoted the wrong part...should have quoted the having balls part...
18th August 2011, 09:33 PM |#17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I have used my warranty Prolly 10 times in the last 3 years. Good luck with your EVO and if it screws up your screwed

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
18th August 2011, 10:00 PM |#18  
uh60james's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Really? 10 times in 3 years. This is why HTC is reserving the right to void your warranty. Phones will be offered as is before long if others are destroying them as fast as you.

Sent from my EVO 3D using Tapatalk
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to uh60james For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th August 2011, 10:15 PM |#19  
cruise350's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Memphis, TN
Thanks Meter: 625
 
More
Can someone show me the quoted text from HTC's site that says if you unlock using their method that your warranty is void. Or is everyone just assuming this because they want your serial number to unlock.
18th August 2011, 10:24 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Flag Kenosha
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
LMAO


Your warranties are now invalid



Should have used revolution, and keep your warranties intact.
18th August 2011, 10:32 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Flag Costa Mesa, CA
Thanks Meter: 163
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruise350

Can someone show me the quoted text from HTC's site that says if you unlock using their method that your warranty is void. Or is everyone just assuming this because they want your serial number to unlock.

They did mention "part or all of your warranty" in their press release for this. It should follow the magnuson-moss act (would only apply to US residents). They can't void your warranty for aftermarket items/upgrades unless the upgrade/item caused the issue. So if your LCD dies, or your power button they can't blame the rom you used.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes