Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How To Manually Wipe Data and Cache via CWM?

19th August 2011, 08:54 AM |#1  
benyben123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Hello all. Noob.

REFUSE V1.7 Installation instructions [LINK] states

"If you are coming from another ROM, manually wipe data and cache via CWM before installing."

Can anyone please explain this to me?

I am coming from a different ROM (Infused), and I cracking my skull here trying to understand what is CWM and how to get there and how to wipe the cache and data



Thanks!
 
 
19th August 2011, 09:11 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
In CWM scroll to wipedata/factory. N then wipe particions. N there you go.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App
The Following User Says Thank You to Auto-Android For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2011, 09:12 AM |#3  
benyben123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auto-Android

In CWM scroll to wipedata/factory. N then wipe particions. N there you go.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App



mmm... THANKS SO MUCH, but is what CWM? How do I get there? Is that an app?
19th August 2011, 10:49 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
You need to install modded 3e recovery. Theres a vid on youtibe that shows you how

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App
19th August 2011, 11:05 AM |#5  
nash2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
If you install rom from sd card (its an option on rom manager) you'll get options to wipe data and what not.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App
19th August 2011, 11:09 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nash2000

If you install rom from sd card (its an option on rom manager) you'll get options to wipe data and what not.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App

That to

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using XDA Premium App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes