5,596,235 Members 35,615 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Deprecated.

Tip us?
 
smokin1337
Old
#501  
smokin1337's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1522
Posts: 951
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetMonger View Post
Not sure what the point of this is? From what system panel says my second core isn't active unless it's needed anyway. Why disable it? If you're second core is being used while your phone isn't in use seems like you may have other issues you need to look at. No?
The mod makes the second core active all the time while your phone is awake. While its sleeping the second core gets turned off. It doesn't disable the second core.


Like my sig ? Click on it to get it and other user images..!!!
My Mods:
CPU Editor
Bootanimation4U
BProp editor - Aroma Based Build.prop Editor
Buy me a Beer ? Donate
:(){ :|:& };:

 
mikeyxda
Old
#502  
mikeyxda's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 13145
Posts: 3,459
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida - Gulf Coast

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokin1337 View Post
The mod makes the second core active all the time while your phone is awake. While its sleeping the second core gets turned off. It doesn't disable the second core.
Tried it and ended up removing it. Actually lost 20-30% speed in benchmarks. Try it, but be sure to run benchmarks before and after.

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
Some of my other creations (mostly digital photography software):
http://www.ddisoftware.com
 
guyver2077
Old
#503  
guyver2077's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 712
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Finally got to try a custom lock ring..super cool but reverted the home clock to default white background

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
Cingular 8125 on Cingular Network. 2006
EVO 4g on Sprint Network. 2010
EVO 3d on Sprint Network
Galaxy S2 on Sprint Network
Evo LTE on Sprint Network
Iphone 5 on Verizon
Galaxy S4 on Verizon
 
smokin1337
Old
#504  
smokin1337's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1522
Posts: 951
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
I only lost anything in linpack, i think its the dual cores messing it up. My test in quadrant doubled. But i guess everyone gets different results.


Like my sig ? Click on it to get it and other user images..!!!
My Mods:
CPU Editor
Bootanimation4U
BProp editor - Aroma Based Build.prop Editor
Buy me a Beer ? Donate
:(){ :|:& };:

 
GadgetMonger
Old
#505  
GadgetMonger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 1,218
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cheyenne Wyoming
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokin1337 View Post
The mod makes the second core active all the time while your phone is awake. While its sleeping the second core gets turned off. It doesn't disable the second core.
Ok. Seems like I misunderstood the way it works. That being said, the way you explain it doesn't make sense to me either. I can see how having both cores running would enhance your phones speed, but how would it improve batt life? Seems like that would straight destroy your battery. As for turning off the second core while the phone is sleeping, that happens anyway. Right?
 
macramentonate
Old
(Last edited by macramentonate; 30th August 2011 at 04:20 AM.) Reason: Thanks
#506  
macramentonate's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento

 
DONATE TO ME
Arrow beats audio (issue?)

I enabled beats audio in the music app with the dre beats connected and didn't hear a difference in the audio. Also the other equalizer options are not available. Any way to get a flashable zip of the old app or like a downloadable apk? Any word on that reflow thing a few pages back?

Nice ROM btw. Thanks Steel beautiful work.
Booyaka Booyaka that's the sound from my cannon!!
 
rmaxson29
Old
#507  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thank Steel the roms are awesome
 
theimpaler747
Old
#508  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2628
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Great rom. No LED flash on messages. That's my only complaint.
 
rleonard55
Old
#509  
rleonard55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 102
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Omaha
Steel, Iíve been using your rom from 2.0 to 2.1 and each step along the way. Each time everything has went off without a hitch. This time when trying to flash 2.1, I cannot seem to make this work.

If I try to flash over 2.02 it seems like it flashes ok but when I reboot the phone it stays on the flashing android boot animation and never(15min) moves beyond that point. It does seem to be doing something though since after a while the screen brightness shifts to 100% and then soon after the screen shuts off (with CRT animations), it can we woken up but nothing changes.

If I do a full wipe, again all seems well during flashing. After itís done I reboot , the phone actually Ďcomes upí to the screen where itís almost up (right before the lock ring actually show up normally). I see the background of the lock screen but the lock ring never comes up. I have the clock and all icons in the status bar but cannot swipe it down at all.(Pic attached) The phone can receive a phone call at this point but the dialer never comes up to allow answering although the green phone icon show in the notification bar.

I have tried re-downloading the rom again from both links. Iíve tried flashing my stock rooted nandroid backup and attempting 2.1 again from thereÖEach with identical results is there something else I should be trying or something stupid I am missing? Thanks for any thoughts you might have.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-08-29_19-28-21.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	44.9 KB
ID:	704499  
 
SteelH
Old
#510  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2897
Posts: 2,954
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by theimpaler747 View Post
Great rom. No LED flash on messages. That's my only complaint.
You don't have them turned on in settings then.


Tags
blue steel, steelrom
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes