Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,029 Members 42,685 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Did this method work for you?
Yes 51 68.00%
No 24 32.00%
Voters: 75. You may not vote on this poll

[GUIDE] Get Stock Recovery/Install OTA Updates without losing data.

Tip us?
 
vasujahagirdar
Old
#101  
vasujahagirdar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 616
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: raichur,karnataka
Default ota update with cwm

hi everyone
i flashed stock rom india few days back from tmous stock with supercid .with s-off and cwm.after flashing i lost root and cwm.than i got security update.which i couldnt install with stock recovery.so searched many threads couldnt get any solution.than i thought of flashing custom rom so i tried to install revolutionary than root.but after running revolutionary.exe and installing cwm mistakingly i pressed update from sd/update .zip instead of going for rooting zip.to my surprise the update zip (which contained ota file earliear downloaded and renamed as update.zip.)got installed.after rebooting i checked the software version it sucessfully showed the updated version .after than i got an appication update which also got installed automatically.so my device presently S-OFF,CWM.SUPERCID,AND NOT ROOTED.
any experts opinion??
 
namila007
Old
#102  
namila007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 517
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kurunegala

 
DONATE TO ME
great..im looking for this.thank you

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA App
 
fje
Old
#103  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default Put back Stock Recovery, which RUU to use?

Hi, after having put CWM for a while to be able to put my Sensation in Root and S-OFF and to do a Backup of the full system, I want to go back to Stock Recovery, and I'm trying to follow your suggested method.

BUT I have a problem in choosing the apporpiate RUU for the ROM my device had. The official ROM I have is 1.45.75.3, with HBOOT 1.1800 and it is coming from Orange.

The closest ROM I can find in the links with the official ROMs is 1.35.75.1, also from Orange, but this ROM has HBOOT 1.1700.

Can I use the RUU of this ROM for go back to Stock Recovery (as a full ROM flash is not done) or I would enter into troubles as the ROM and the HBOOT are not the same?

If thet ROM cannot be used, what alternative method can I use to go back to Stock Recovery? I already did a factory reset and CWM is still there...

Thanks for any help
 
JDR0iD
Old
#104  
JDR0iD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1035
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cardiff

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm sure the ruu changes the hboot then u can re root and s off your phone again. I had to put back to stock orange ruu to send my phone back for repair which was older hboot and then s off and re root then installed the latest hboot from mike for ics.

Worked for me.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using xda premium
__________________________________________________ ________________
JDR0iD's work.....
-HoneySense Rom Dev HTC Desire
-Senus Ville Port Dev HTC Sensation
-eXoDiZeD Rom Dev HTC One X
-eXoMiUI Rom Dev HTC One X


 
Y2kgsxr750
Old
#105  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: springfield
Default Security update for T-mo

Ok, I'm having sort of a sim issue.

My current software is 1.45.531.1 and im hboot 18

I know before I was 17.. But, i dont see my current OS ver. should I be using
1.29.531.2? to which I do have a RUU of this on my desktop.

I have Root, and S-off... What I want to do is update my phone with the current TMO update. Then worst case, use the supertool.exe to get root back.

If anyone would like to help a newb out, that would be great. PM...I'm not above small donations. Or heck, if your local... Stop on by. HA HA HA

really, and help, would be great. Let me know if im shorting out some details.
 
heldopsokken
Old
#106  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hi,

I've tried both methodes, but it did not work.
It seems that I'm unable to flash the recovery image:

e:\!htc sensation\ADB-Windows>fastboot flash recovery recovery_signed.img
sending 'recovery' (5428 KB)... OKAY [ 1.501s]
writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
finished. total time: 1.818s

Any hints on how to fix this?
Device: HTC Sensation PVT SHIP S-OFF /* Locked */
HBoot: 1.18.004
Recovery: CWR 5.0.0.8
Kernel: Stock
Rom: Stock Europe_1.45.401.3
Root: Rooted
Radio: 10.14.9035.01_M
CID: HTC__E11
 
JDR0iD
Old
#107  
JDR0iD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1035
Posts: 1,784
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cardiff

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you s off? Follow revolutionary, that installs a recovery. I am using 4 ext. Much better

Sent from my HTC Sensation using XDA App
__________________________________________________ ________________
JDR0iD's work.....
-HoneySense Rom Dev HTC Desire
-Senus Ville Port Dev HTC Sensation
-eXoDiZeD Rom Dev HTC One X
-eXoMiUI Rom Dev HTC One X


 
heldopsokken
Old
#108  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2008
Yes, I am S-Off.
At least that's whats my hboot menu tells me :)
And I did folow revolutionary, otherwise i could not get root, i guess.



Quote:
Originally Posted by leejames55 View Post
Are you s off? Follow revolutionary, that installs a recovery. I am using 4 ext. Much better

Sent from my HTC Sensation using XDA App
Device: HTC Sensation PVT SHIP S-OFF /* Locked */
HBoot: 1.18.004
Recovery: CWR 5.0.0.8
Kernel: Stock
Rom: Stock Europe_1.45.401.3
Root: Rooted
Radio: 10.14.9035.01_M
CID: HTC__E11
 
namila007
Old
#109  
namila007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 517
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kurunegala

 
DONATE TO ME
Hey.i have deleted lot of stock apps in my TMous sensation 4g. so. this want work in my phone unless i install them back??? can anyone provide these apps:-
-tMobile My Account, Telenav gps ,Lookout Security, T-Mobile TV,

if anyone can post a full list of stock apps in TMOBILE sensation4g
 
lockab
Old
#110  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 72
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Memphis, TN.
I had original stock rom backup with super user after using revolutionary tool with s-off no super cid. My hboot was 17.1111.1. After using tmobile 1.29.9351 recovery image it ran through process and said done, wait for phone to reboot in to recovery, however it just reboot into stock rom 1.45.9035.1. The OTA 14mb by t mobile was there to install. It install and said sucessfully update to 1.50.9035.1. I attempted to reboot into recovery but triangle with red popped up. With power button and volume button held it shows Locked, Pryamid PVT SHIP S-OFF RL, HBOOT 1.18.0000. I tried several times to run revolutionary tool which I used before coping and pasting generated key, however it continues to say invalid key. Question 1, with s-off show why is it locked and what can be done to get root again.

Tags
clockwork, custom recovery, ota, ruu, stock recovery
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes