5,594,438 Members 32,886 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Android APP developing: Patenting Apps?

Tip us?

tannerw_2010
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Default Android APP developing: Patenting Apps?

Alright here's the deal. I have an app idea for a game that I plan on creating that is very simple, and I have a good feeling it will take off. My worries is that developing it will almost be pointless because of the lax android market policy. I am a new programmer, so my worry is I will make the app pretty decent, and some more experienced programmer will be able to duplicate it and make it better. This just doesn't seem right. I know this happens all the time (Fruit Slice, for example, is a Fruit Ninja knockoff and it's free).

Android is a love it/ hate it relationship. Users love being able to download just as good of knockoffs for free, but I'm sure this is a major turn off for developers who worked hard on their original idea's, just to have it undercut by another developer who will offer a similar (or even better app) for free. Part of me wishes I could just develop it for iOS, but I don't have a Mac or iPhone, and don't ever plan on getting one.

My question is, is there anyway to stop it? Like a patent, or something similar? This is my major hesitation to developing for android. I know I'm not going to be the best programmer out there, but it's the idea that make the apps, and that's where I feel like (I'm sure a lot of other people do too) I could do some contributing. Let me know how you guys feel about this

tannerw_2010
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Anybody? 10Char

nyydynasty
Old
Thanks Meter 212
welcome to programming for any platform. There are (free) alternatives to almost every single program (android-based, windows-based, etc...)

Hans Schmucker
Old
Thanks Meter 23