FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[GUIDE] How to apply RUU to HTC unlocked bootloader devices

384 posts
Thanks Meter: 124
 
By Albert Poon, Senior Member on 23rd August 2011, 03:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
If you unlocked your device using HTC unlock method (www.htcdev.com), and accidentally bricked your device (like I did, my device hangs in the HTC logo screen during boot), last resort is to apply RUU to resurrect your device.

Requirement:
1. The device can still enter FASTBOOT
2. You have the corresponding RUU

Procedure:
1. Enter FASTBOOT, and then connect to your computer (FASTBOOT USB will be shown)
2. Open command prompt in your computer
3. Relock your device by typing "fastboot oem lock" (you should know what is this if you HTC-unlock your phone before), the device will reboot.
4. Enter FASTBOOT again (you will see *** RELOCKED ***)
5. Apply the RUU
6. You device will be stocked

Note: The device must be relocked in order to apply the RUU.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Albert Poon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
24th August 2011, 08:47 PM |#2  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,734
 
Donate to Me
More
trying this now
Trying this now!
25th August 2011, 02:15 AM |#3  
ChadH42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 335
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedomax

Trying this now!

So... how did it work??
25th August 2011, 02:26 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 24
 
Donate to Me
More
link to ruu? wouldn't this be an easy way to unroot?
25th August 2011, 03:22 AM |#5  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,734
 
Donate to Me
More
keep getting errors
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadH42

So... how did it work??

I keep getting errors with all RUUs, I've tried all of them and believe me, I tried pretty hard all day long!!! No luck yet but will keep trying tomorrow.
25th August 2011, 05:37 AM |#6  
graffixnyc's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 6,008
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedomax

I keep getting errors with all RUUs, I've tried all of them and believe me, I tried pretty hard all day long!!! No luck yet but will keep trying tomorrow.

You can only use the 2.08 RUU. No earlier RUU's will flash. HTC built in Hboot version checks(among other checks) so if the Hboot in the RUU you are trying to flash is older than the 1.50 bootloader it will not flash.

If you are using the 2.08 RUU you have to relock before the RUU will flash.
25th August 2011, 06:26 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
Donate to Me
More
My HBOOT is 1.49.0012 and it worked flawlessly. 1.50 doesn't reach Asia yet...
25th August 2011, 06:37 AM |#8  
graffixnyc's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 6,008
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert Poon

My HBOOT is 1.49.0012 and it worked flawlessly. 1.50 doesn't reach Asia yet...

No one in this section will have the Hboot 1.49.0012. That's the GSM version. The CDMA version shipped with 3 different hboots. 1.40, (one before 1.40) and now 1.50
25th August 2011, 06:43 AM |#9  
mattfmartin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, FL
Thanks Meter: 356
 
More
@OP
Is your last name really Poon?
26th August 2011, 12:02 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattfmartin

@OP
Is your last name really Poon?

Yes, why?

And Yes, I am using the GSM version.
26th August 2011, 02:23 PM |#11  
stanglifemike's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag outside of ATL, GA
Thanks Meter: 455
 
More
Lol, because poon is a slang word used to refer to a females private parts. Check out "urban dictionary"

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA Premium App

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bricked, fastboot, htc unlocked, ruu
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes