Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to apply RUU to HTC unlocked bootloader devices

OP Albert Poon

23rd August 2011, 04:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
If you unlocked your device using HTC unlock method (www.htcdev.com), and accidentally bricked your device (like I did, my device hangs in the HTC logo screen during boot), last resort is to apply RUU to resurrect your device.

Requirement:
1. The device can still enter FASTBOOT
2. You have the corresponding RUU

Procedure:
1. Enter FASTBOOT, and then connect to your computer (FASTBOOT USB will be shown)
2. Open command prompt in your computer
3. Relock your device by typing "fastboot oem lock" (you should know what is this if you HTC-unlock your phone before), the device will reboot.
4. Enter FASTBOOT again (you will see *** RELOCKED ***)
5. Apply the RUU
6. You device will be stocked

Note: The device must be relocked in order to apply the RUU.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Albert Poon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2011, 09:47 PM   |  #2  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,649
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
trying this now
Trying this now!
25th August 2011, 03:15 AM   |  #3  
ChadH42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 303
 
1,073 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedomax

Trying this now!

So... how did it work??
25th August 2011, 03:26 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 23
 
859 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
link to ruu? wouldn't this be an easy way to unroot?
25th August 2011, 04:22 AM   |  #5  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,649
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
keep getting errors
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadH42

So... how did it work??

I keep getting errors with all RUUs, I've tried all of them and believe me, I tried pretty hard all day long!!! No luck yet but will keep trying tomorrow.
25th August 2011, 06:37 AM   |  #6  
graffixnyc's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 5,142
 
5,721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedomax

I keep getting errors with all RUUs, I've tried all of them and believe me, I tried pretty hard all day long!!! No luck yet but will keep trying tomorrow.

You can only use the 2.08 RUU. No earlier RUU's will flash. HTC built in Hboot version checks(among other checks) so if the Hboot in the RUU you are trying to flash is older than the 1.50 bootloader it will not flash.

If you are using the 2.08 RUU you have to relock before the RUU will flash.
25th August 2011, 07:26 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
My HBOOT is 1.49.0012 and it worked flawlessly. 1.50 doesn't reach Asia yet...
25th August 2011, 07:37 AM   |  #8  
graffixnyc's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 5,142
 
5,721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert Poon

My HBOOT is 1.49.0012 and it worked flawlessly. 1.50 doesn't reach Asia yet...

No one in this section will have the Hboot 1.49.0012. That's the GSM version. The CDMA version shipped with 3 different hboots. 1.40, (one before 1.40) and now 1.50
25th August 2011, 07:43 AM   |  #9  
mattfmartin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, FL
Thanks Meter: 355
 
4,441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
@OP
Is your last name really Poon?
26th August 2011, 01:02 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattfmartin

@OP
Is your last name really Poon?

Yes, why?

And Yes, I am using the GSM version.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bricked, fastboot, htc unlocked, ruu
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes