Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,452 Members 42,907 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Custom MTD Partitions for the Wildfire (Increase Internal Memory Size)

Tip us?
 
3xeno
Old
(Last edited by 3xeno; 7th April 2012 at 07:26 AM.) Reason: Note on CWM
#1  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1425
Posts: 3,563
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Default [GUIDE] Custom MTD Partitions for the Wildfire (Increase Internal Memory Size)

Custom MTD Partitions for the Wildfire

WARNING - NOT recommended if you are using a Sense based ROM. Read Storage Requirements and Notes below.

06/10/2011 - Updated version (v1.5.8) available. Check this post by zexcrazy. The version attached to this post works fine as well.

Disclaimer - This procedure is given here in a "as-is" format. I have personally verified it and have it running, but, the ultimate responsibility of performing this lies on you. I will not be responsible for dead / bricked devices or any such similar unfortunate situations.


This process has been tested by me using:
- Cyanogenmod 7 Nightlies
- Clockworkmod 3.2.0.0 j_r0dd's Mod
- Clockworkmod 5.0.2.0

I do NOT claim ANY credit for this. The credits all goes to the original creators of the scripts, and daedelus82 and HebrewToYou for their original how-to guides on their respective device fora. I am just recreating the thread(s) here in the Wildfire Section, (The only difference is I am attempting to make it as simple as possible) because there isn't one.

What does this do?
As you must know, the Wildfire ships with a 512MB ROM Image. Of this, 250MB is reserved for the /system partition (This is where your ROM is installed to), 183MB for the /data partition (This is your actual 'internal' memory for apps), and 40MB for the cache.

Now, since no ROM for the Wildfire will ever get close to the 250MB limit of the /system partition, it is possible to 're-allocate' this extra space to the /data partition. If you want even more space, you can take around 20-25MB (Upto 35MB) from the /cache partition as well, implying you now have ~300MB on the /data partition for installing apps.

Advantages:
  • Utilizes your internal memory better
  • Removes the needs for Apps2SD Scripts
  • Gives you a potentially smoother and stabler device (Apps will always be more "stable" when in the internal memory then when on EXT)

Pre-Requisites:
  • S-OFF using AlphaRev X / Revolutionary
  • Clockworkmod Recovery (Preferably a version in which you know Nandroid Restore works without issues)

The Actual Process:

Step 1
  • First, make sure that you have backed up your entire SD Card somewhere else, like your PC. Also make sure your apps are backed up with an app like Titanium Backup (Just for insurance)
  • Now, Reboot to Clockworkmod Recovery (NOTE - Do not use ROM Manager to boot into Clockworkmod Recovery. Use HBoot)
  • Create a Nandroid Backup
  • Place the 2 attached files on your SD Card.
  • Create a new text file on your SD Card called mtdpartmap.txt (UPDATE - File Attached. Simply edit the values as per your needs) (This includes the file extension, so make sure you are not naming it as mtdpartmap.txt.txt, else, it will obviously not work)
  • In this file, type mtd followed by be 2 numbers. The first number will be the size of your /system partition, and the second number will be the size of your /cache partition.
  • Example: mtd 150 25 (Here, 150MB will be the size of the /system partition and 25 will be the size of the /cache partition)
  • There should NOT be anything else apart from the mtd text and 2 numbers in this Text file. Also, make sure that this is not placed in any folder or sub-folder.
Step 2
  • Once this text file is created successfully, you WILL have to format your entire device. So, perform the following one-by-one
  • Go to "Mounts and Storage" in Clockworkmod Recovery
  • Here, select format /cache
  • Then select format /data
  • Lastly, select format /system
  • Then, perform a Wipe Data / Factory Reset in Clockworkmod Recovery. (Not essential, but I performed it anyway)
  • Then, flash the attached file bravo-recovery-v1.5.3-CustomMTD.zip
  • Once this is done, do NOT reboot. Go to Advanced Again and select Reboot Recovery
  • Once Clockworkmod Recovery Reboots, Restore your previously taken nandroid backup
  • Once restoring is done, without restarting, flash the attached file bravo-boot-v1.5.3-CustomMTD.zip
  • Done, then you can Reboot your Wildfire.
  • The reboot will take longer than normal, it is normal
You should then see your new custom partition sizes. The command to check the partition (Before/After/Anytime) sizes in Terminal Emulator is busybox df -h. (After typing su, and also, you must have Busybox installed)

Reverting back to Stock

- Formatting all the 3 partitions. (i.e. /cache, /data, and /system)
- You will then need to flash a "Stock" Clockworkmod Recovery Image. Links (and procedure to flash) available in the Index Thread

To end, here's a screenshot:



NOTE
  • When you flash a new ROM/Restore a Nandroid Backup, you WILL lose the new settings ("partially"). To overcome this, after flashing your new ROM, flash the bravo-boot-v1.5.3-CustomMTD.zip attachment immediately after flashing the ROM/Restoring the backup before restarting your device. This will again give you the new partitions. If you fail to do this step, you will be stuck on the White HTC Screen.
  • The standard Apps2SD Feature included in Android (Froyo and above) is unaffected. You can still move your apps to the SD Provided the app supports it. (Or use CM7's In-built App Moving Feature)
  • You can very well use this in conjunction with Apps2SD Scripts like DT, should your need be.

==================================================


Storage Requirements for various ROMs (/system Partition)

1: CyanogenMod 7 (And most probably it's derivatives/"based" ROMs)
- 145MB (Keeping a 10MB buffer, includes GApps)
- 10MB Cache (CM7 includes a script that automatically moves downloads (market, browser etc) to the /data partition if it is larger than the cache size)

2: Sense Based ROM's
- Sorry Guys, it seems Sense ROM's need ~210-225 MB, making this guide pretty much pointless. You can take the 40MB, but that will not make a substantial difference. Your best bet in such cases is to stick with A2SD Scripts like DarkTremor.

To build this list, please post the space needed by the ROM you use. There's 2 ways:
- Check the Graph of the "System ROM" memory usage in Titanium Backup (As you can see in the screenshot above)
- Use the busybox df -h command in Terminal Emulator (after typing su). This will list ALL partitions and you will have to hunt a bit.
Attached Files
File Type: txt mtdpartmap.txt - [Click for QR Code] (10 Bytes, 9369 views)
File Type: zip bravo-boot-v1.5.3-CustomMTD.zip - [Click for QR Code] (252.4 KB, 4937 views)
File Type: zip bravo-recovery-v1.5.3-CustomMTD.zip - [Click for QR Code] (252.5 KB, 4597 views)
LGE Google Nexus 4 16GB - AOSPA 4.0+
iPod Touch 3rd Gen - iOS 5.1.1 JB | B&N Nook Simple Touch - Stock
Device History -
Nokia 5110 >> Nokia 8310 >> Nokia N-Gage QD >> Nokia 6681 >> Nokia N82 >> Nokia 5320 XM >> HTC Wildfire >> Samsung Galaxy SII


The Following 79 Users Say Thank You to 3xeno For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Starwarrior1981
Old
#2  
Starwarrior1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 111
Join Date: Sep 2008
It's works!!! Thanks a lot mate
Latest Devices:
ZTE Grand X In, HTC Desire, Huawei Ascend P6
bx19 Old
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Good work testing this on wildfire.

Sent from my Blade using XDA App
 
pyroblazer
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 375
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ahmedabad
ok.. quick question
how do i know if i can substitute this for a2sd script... i mean i have around 400mb used of my 1gb ext... so will i be able to 'fit in' all my apps after this procedure??
The Following User Says Thank You to pyroblazer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
3xeno
Old
#5  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1425
Posts: 3,563
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroblazer View Post
ok.. quick question
how do i know if i can substitute this for a2sd script... i mean i have around 400mb used of my 1gb ext... so will i be able to 'fit in' all my apps after this procedure??
You can perform the check command (busybox df -h) and verify for yourself how much space is free in /system and /cache, and substitute that in the /data partition for apps.

But, since you have over 400MB of your EXT in use, its unlikely you can switch to this without leaving out Apps2SD (Atleast the inbuilt Froyo Apps2SD) entirely. The least values I would suggest are 150MB for /system and 10MB for /cache, thus leaving our 310MB for /data.
LGE Google Nexus 4 16GB - AOSPA 4.0+
iPod Touch 3rd Gen - iOS 5.1.1 JB | B&N Nook Simple Touch - Stock
Device History -
Nokia 5110 >> Nokia 8310 >> Nokia N-Gage QD >> Nokia 6681 >> Nokia N82 >> Nokia 5320 XM >> HTC Wildfire >> Samsung Galaxy SII


The Following User Says Thank You to 3xeno For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pyroblazer
Old
(Last edited by pyroblazer; 25th August 2011 at 04:43 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 375
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ahmedabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xeno View Post
You can perform the check command (busybox df -h) and verify for yourself how much space is free in /system and /cache, and substitute that in the /data partition for apps.

But, since you have over 400MB of your EXT in use, its unlikely you can switch to this without leaving out Apps2SD (Atleast the inbuilt Froyo Apps2SD) entirely. The least values I would suggest are 150MB for /system and 10MB for /cache, thus leaving our 310MB for /data.
thnx mate... i was only talking bout a2sd not the inbuilt apps 2 sd... cool thnx... will check it out and let u know...

another question... if i dont move my cache to sd ext... as in wildpuzzle 0.8... i would get around 100-102 mb free internal.... now is this equivalent to not having a2sd atall?? and would there be a considerable change in performance if i keep the cache on phone??
The Following User Says Thank You to pyroblazer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
3xeno
Old
#7  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1425
Posts: 3,563
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroblazer View Post
thnx mate... i was only talking bout a2sd not the inbuilt apps 2 sd... cool thnx... will check it out and let u know...

another question... if i dont move my cache to sd ext... as in wildpuzzle 0.8... i would get around 100-102 mb free internal.... now is this equivalent to not having a2sd atall?? and would there be a considerable change in performance if i keep the cache on phone??
Frankly, I will not be able to answer that, since I have completely uninstalled DTApps2SD (Along with my EXT Partition) and now solely rely on Android's (And Cyanogenmod's) built-in Apps2SD. This is something you will have to experiment yourself, and arrive at your own conclusion.

For me, when I was using DTApps2SD, I did find that keeping the cache on the phone was indeed better. Else, it led to instability, random SD Card errors etc. I got so peeved with it (And I was pretty new then to this entire thing), that since then, I have always kept the Dalvik Cache on the internal memory itself.
LGE Google Nexus 4 16GB - AOSPA 4.0+
iPod Touch 3rd Gen - iOS 5.1.1 JB | B&N Nook Simple Touch - Stock
Device History -
Nokia 5110 >> Nokia 8310 >> Nokia N-Gage QD >> Nokia 6681 >> Nokia N82 >> Nokia 5320 XM >> HTC Wildfire >> Samsung Galaxy SII


 
Alex_GP
Old
#8  
Alex_GP's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 599
Join Date: May 2009
This is really nice.
Great tutorial, easy to follow!


Too bad i`m too lazy to s-off my Wildfire .
 
3xeno
Old
#9  
3xeno's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1425
Posts: 3,563
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex_GP View Post
Too bad i`m too lazy to s-off my Wildfire .
Initially, I hadn't thought there would be a big deal in S-OFFing my Wildfire (Apart from bragging rights, to the admittedly very few that cared), but, Fastboot is a real life saver in certain situations, and additional stuff like this thread only strengthens the stand of getting S-OFF, rather than not.

I hope you do get over your laziness one day though.
LGE Google Nexus 4 16GB - AOSPA 4.0+
iPod Touch 3rd Gen - iOS 5.1.1 JB | B&N Nook Simple Touch - Stock
Device History -
Nokia 5110 >> Nokia 8310 >> Nokia N-Gage QD >> Nokia 6681 >> Nokia N82 >> Nokia 5320 XM >> HTC Wildfire >> Samsung Galaxy SII


The Following User Says Thank You to 3xeno For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Alex_GP
Old
#10  
Alex_GP's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 599
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xeno View Post
I hope you do get over your laziness one day though.
Yeah, I think I`ll s-off my little gem in a couple of weeks, I really need my (smart)phone now...

This will be the first mod I`ll install

/off-topic

on-topic:

Any side-effects? Are 150 MB enough for, let`s say, the SFM Sense Rom ?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes