FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[FIXED][CONFIRMED] Adobe Flash now working properly in Stock Browser and Dolphin HD

833 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
By Roach2010, Recognized Developer on 26th August 2011, 07:16 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have come up with a solution for low fps in the Browser when viewing Adobe Flash videos.

The problem is that some devices somehow end up with a missing file that the Browser uses to talk to Flash Player. In my case if I clear the Browser data and reinstall the latest version of Flash Player from the market the config file does not get recreated.

/data/data/com.android.browser/app_plugins/com.adobe.flashplayer/.macromedia/Flash_Player/config.data

I don't yet know what circumstances have led to the file not being created when flash is installed and why it seems to be generated on some roms but not others.

What I do know is that after adding this file, Flash starts working again in the Browser at 30fps.

If you only get 9-10 fps with the youtube speed test video then give this a try and report your findings in here.

If this works for you here's a link to some awesome videos from the guys who directed the batelco infinity video some of you may have seen.
http://www.alexandsteffen.com/hd/

Opera seems to still be laggy but this works for the Stock Browser and Dolphin HD

Flash this in CWM recovery or push the config.data file manually.

Here are patches that will fix either the Stock Browser or Dolphin HD
Attached Files
File Type: zip FlashFix - DolphinHD.zip - [Click for QR Code] (152.2 KB, 3464 views)
File Type: zip FlashFix - Stock Browser.zip - [Click for QR Code] (152.2 KB, 6353 views)
File Type: zip FlashFix - Dolphin For Pad.zip - [Click for QR Code] (157.0 KB, 1758 views)
Last edited by Roach2010; 29th August 2011 at 02:34 AM. Reason: Added patch for Dolphin HD
The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to Roach2010 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
26th August 2011, 08:36 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I was waiting for this few weeks. Working in stock browser. Tahanks.
In Dolphin for Tablet still 10 fps
26th August 2011, 08:37 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Worked for me. Thanks for the fix.
Before: ~10fps in test video
After: ~30fps in test video
26th August 2011, 08:40 PM |#4  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoViolence

I was waiting for this few weeks. Working in stock browser. Tahanks.
In Dolphin for Tablet still 10 fps

Heh, almost as long as I've been trying work out the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dneez

Worked for me. Thanks for the fix.
Before: ~10fps in test video
After: ~30fps in test video

Thanks for testing, looks like the fix is a good un.
26th August 2011, 09:07 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
It doesn't work for me. The video on the link you posted is stuttering.

Edit : well, the speed test is working, but not the HD video on http://www.alexandsteffen.com/hd. I guess the bitrate is too high.
Last edited by aibo; 26th August 2011 at 10:41 PM.
27th August 2011, 12:16 AM |#6  
residentorca's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
I wish I could report success but I can't. There was not even a slight improvement. I tried the stock browser and Dolphin HD.
27th August 2011, 12:18 AM |#7  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by residentorca

I wish I could report success but I can't. There was not even a slight improvement. I tried the stock browser and Dolphin HD.

What framerate does the youtube test video average at 720p?

It will either go no higher than 10 or will peak at around 30-31.
27th August 2011, 12:51 AM |#8  
residentorca's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roach2010

What framerate does the youtube test video average at 720p?

It will either go no higher than 10 or will peak at around 30-31.

A lowly 10, my friend. Is there any additional info that would help?
27th August 2011, 01:28 AM |#9  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by residentorca

A lowly 10, my friend. Is there any additional info that would help?

Yeah, can you check to make sure that file is definitely where it should be?

It also needs to have the right permissions set on it.

The other files in that folder will have UID and GID of app_xx(some number)

Assuming the file is there (if it's not you can copy it in manually) set the UID and GID of config.data to match that of the other files...

i.e.
chown app_xx config.data
chgrp app_xx config.data

Once that's done try the speed test again.


Your worst case scenario would be to clear all browser data and reinstall Flash from the market and follow the above steps again. This worked for me today every time.

Note that my fix only works with the Stock Browser
Last edited by Roach2010; 27th August 2011 at 01:30 AM.
27th August 2011, 01:50 AM |#10  
residentorca's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roach2010

Yeah, can you check to make sure that file is definitely where it should be?

It also needs to have the right permissions set on it.

The other files in that folder will have UID and GID of app_xx(some number)

Assuming the file is there (if it's not you can copy it in manually) set the UID and GID of config.data to match that of the other files...

i.e.
chown app_xx config.data
chgrp app_xx config.data

The config.data file was not in the Flash_Player folder. It contained two folders (#SharedObjects and adobe.com) and a single file named cfg_req_ts.

For the file named cfg_req_ts, owner and group were both set to app_67. So I changed the properties of config.data from owner:system and group:sdcard_rw to owner:app_67 group:app_67 and it worked!

I am getting 30 fps now. Thanks so much!

Will I need to repeat this procedure each time Flash Player is updated?
Last edited by residentorca; 27th August 2011 at 02:23 AM.
27th August 2011, 01:59 AM |#11  
Roach2010's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 2,261
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by residentorca

The config.data file is not in the Flash_Player folder. It contains two folders (#SharedObjects and adobe.com) and a single file named cfg_req_ts.

I will copy config.data to the folder but if I understand you correctly, there should be some other files there get the UID and GID from and there are not.

My FlashFix.zip can't have worked right on your cwm. once you copy that file in manually you should test your flash speed and only mess with the the permissions if that doesn't work. Here's mine to show you what they should look like (your number will most likely be different).


Code:
drwx------ app_48   app_48            2011-08-26 15:11 #SharedObjects
drwx------ app_48   app_48            2011-08-26 15:11 adobe.com
-rw-rw---- app_48   app_48         13 2011-08-26 15:11 cfg_req_ts
-rw-rw-rw- app_48   app_48         55 2011-08-26 15:12 config.data
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Roach2010 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes