FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

[FIX] Phone Bootlooping?

Thanks Meter: 19
 
By krazykrivda, Senior Member on 26th August 2011, 10:00 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
CONFIRMED WORKING ON LINUX.. waiting to hear for windows, mac...

NOTE: Please keep track of what your doing, because if you DON'T know what you broke, your going to have a hard time fixing it.

I'd recommend NOT wiping DATA/factory restore unless you literally have NO other choice (see post 11)


That being said...

Assuming you know what change(s) you made before your bootloop, you are saying to yourself "If i could only boot up so i can UNDO it" ... this IS for you! :)

Directions:
  1. Battery Pull
  2. Put Battery Back
  3. Hold M button on keyboard then power
  4. Use vol - button to go to BP TOOLS (don't select yet)
  5. Connect via USB to computer with ADB
  6. In terminal on computer...
    Code:
    adb wait-for-device shell
  7. On phone use vol + button to select BP Tools.. then wait for your terminal to get you into shell (this will happen while the phone is continuously bootlooping)
  8. according to djrbliss root method...
Code:
mv /data/local/12m /data/local/12m.bak 
ln -s /data /data/local/12m
exit
9.
Code:
adb reboot
10. wait for the power off then repeat steps 1-7
11. again thanks to djrbliss...

Code:
rm /data/local/12m 
mv /data/local/12m.bak /data/local/12m 
mv /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_usb=0" > /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_ih=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_core=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_panic=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_adb=1" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_core=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_efem=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_bp_log=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_ap_mot_log=0" >> /data/local.prop 
echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_gki_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
exit
12. then again, repeat steps 1-7
13. You should have root, now go ahead and fix whatever needs fixing and reboot 1 final time


ENJOY :)

-KrazyKrivda
Last edited by krazykrivda; 29th August 2011 at 11:05 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to krazykrivda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th August 2011, 02:44 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I followed this exactly but could never get an adb connection. My drivers are good and my adb setup works just fine (I was using it earlier). And idea what I could be doing wrong?

Thank you so much for posting this btw!
27th August 2011, 03:47 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
one more reason why I choose linux over winblows. Just a personal opinion.
27th August 2011, 05:03 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darksurf

one more reason why I choose linux over winblows. Just a personal opinion.

I tried both Windows and Linux. Are there any special steps in Linux I may be missing to get adb to work in this mode? I tried my OG Droid to test the adb setup and it worked fine.
27th August 2011, 07:29 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
you need to be in the android group and have adb properly installed and preferrably the current version. I use a gentoo based linux system so this stuff isn't an issue for me.

Ubuntu and debian based systems are a little different. I really dislike the package management system and Ubuntu separates users from the actual "linux" part of linux. its like linux for n00bs. Not saying its a bad distro, its just not my distro of choice.

But, if you are booting up your device correctly, you should be able to do adb start-server and then do a adb remount (if rooted) then push the files to /system/app/

if you have just ran updates, reboot your computer. If you aren't picking up the device, try using other ports (usb ports can go into a suspend mode to save power and sometimes don't like to wake up, it also happens in windows)
27th August 2011, 10:06 AM |#6  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny9797

I followed this exactly but could never get an adb connection. My drivers are good and my adb setup works just fine (I was using it earlier). And idea what I could be doing wrong?

Thank you so much for posting this btw!

Join us in IRC and I will try to talk you through it
27th August 2011, 11:04 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Hemet Ca
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
please help me!
i am having the same problem. i can get into recovery, fastboot, AP, and BP modes, and my device manager sees the ADB interface, but i cannot execute commands. I get this error "C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb remount error: device not found". i have the latest SDK and moto drivers installed... is there anyway i can install an update.zip from recovery to get me out of the bootloop?
27th August 2011, 11:08 AM |#8  
I've updated the OP.. there is no longer a "remount" part... so I'm not sure what you are doing.. again if you can join IRC ( webchat.freenode.com ... #krazyk is the chan ) i'd be more than happy to assist
27th August 2011, 08:09 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
guys, i need urgent help...
i did some **** by replacing the SystemUI.apk in RootExplorer and it started force closing. i rebooted and i started bootlooping i backed up the apk in a file on my sdcard called 'import'. now i tried BP tools but it wont recognize my device..i had adb working perfectly fine before. what should i do?
27th August 2011, 11:50 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Hemet Ca
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Krivda, even in VM ubuntu it still doesn't see my phone... i have jdk, sdk installed... windows and ubuntu both see my xoom but the D3 is not being seen...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes