DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Lost CWM & Root Access in HC 3.2 ROM. Need Help

OP farazjk

27th August 2011, 08:30 PM   |  #1  
farazjk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Hi,

I updated my A500 from 3.1 stock to Taboonay 2.0 HC 3.2. For some reason I decided to revert back to HC 3.1 Stock but in trying to do so I messed up and lost both CWM and Root Access. Now I can still boot into Taboonay 2.0 HC3.2 but I cannot access CWM and I cannot flash any other ROM as I do not have Root Access. Also due to lack of Root Access I cannot install CWM.

Can someone please help me regain control of my device??? Please!!!
27th August 2011, 08:59 PM   |  #2  
jm77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Try iconiaroot.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
27th August 2011, 10:50 PM   |  #3  
farazjk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jm77

Try iconiaroot.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Already tried it and the previous version for it. It seems that they only work HC3.0 & 3.1.

Thanks for the advice though.
27th August 2011, 10:52 PM   |  #4  
Diablo67's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ħ℃ ∃Ṽϴ 4Ḡ
Thanks Meter: 2,766
 
2,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by farazjk

Already tried it and the previous version for it. It seems that they only work HC3.0 & 3.1.

Thanks for the advice though.

Iconiaroot is for 3.1,Quick answer:Acer Recovery Installer: https://market.android.com/details?i...=search_result
Last edited by Diablo67; 27th August 2011 at 10:55 PM.
28th August 2011, 12:06 AM   |  #5  
farazjk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Acer recovery installer also requires a rooted device to perform all of its functions including installing recovery.
28th August 2011, 12:21 AM   |  #6  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 517
 
2,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Wink
D/load and flash a full rom some of them will work thru reg Acer recovery for your SD card.
The Following User Says Thank You to erica_renee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2011, 12:25 AM   |  #7  
farazjk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erica_renee

D/load and flash a full rom some of them will work thru reg Acer recovery for your SD card.

Ok will give it a try. Do I have to rename the ROM as update.zip?
28th August 2011, 02:52 AM   |  #8  
Diablo67's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ħ℃ ∃Ṽϴ 4Ḡ
Thanks Meter: 2,766
 
2,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by farazjk

Ok will give it a try. Do I have to rename the ROM as update.zip?

No,just leave it as it is.
The Following User Says Thank You to Diablo67 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2011, 02:56 AM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Alexandria
Thanks Meter: 1
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
More
After the update, I hane access more to the USB flash memory as wll as to any Fat 32 USB hard drive. Do you have the same problem.
28th August 2011, 04:04 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by farazjk

Hi,

I updated my A500 from 3.1 stock to Taboonay 2.0 HC 3.2. For some reason I decided to revert back to HC 3.1 Stock but in trying to do so I messed up and lost both CWM and Root Access. Now I can still boot into Taboonay 2.0 HC3.2 but I cannot access CWM and I cannot flash any other ROM as I do not have Root Access. Also due to lack of Root Access I cannot install CWM.

Can someone please help me regain control of my device??? Please!!!

Same problem at my end...


Quote:
Originally Posted by erica_renee

D/load and flash a full rom some of them will work thru reg Acer recovery for your SD card.


Acer recovery needs "root" access....superuser can be seen in the list of apps but it is denying permission to all apps despite setting "allow" to all apps on default!

What to do?
Tried iconia root....."denied root access"
Tried Acer recovery....."needs root access"
CMW can't be booted into as somehow it is not there!
Tried factory data reset......no change in problem!
??
Help/suggestions needed!
Last edited by Neet; 28th August 2011 at 04:07 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
a500, cwm, hc 3.2, iconia root, root access
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes