Post Reply

[GUIDE] CIFS Streaming fix/optimization

29th August 2011, 06:34 AM   |  #11  
bradputt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
i tried comma, semi colon

but i get "segmentation fault"

any ideas guys>???


edit: ok somehow i have to put directio first . working now.

how to check the transfer speed?
Last edited by bradputt; 29th August 2011 at 09:51 AM.
29th August 2011, 03:40 PM   |  #12  
gns168's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradputt

i tried comma, semi colon

but i get "segmentation fault"

any ideas guys>???


edit: ok somehow i have to put directio first . working now.

how to check the transfer speed?

Hi,

I am having the same issues, but not following "edit: ok somehow i have to put directio first . working now."

Would it be possible for you to cut and paste how you entered your multi options in cifsmanager.

Tia
30th August 2011, 07:41 AM   |  #13  
bradputt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
i typed in the options field.

directio,iocharset=utf8
30th August 2011, 09:34 AM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonoflux

Confirmed. It is ****ing amazing. Well worth the coin. Regular updates, loving it.

This fix is going to make it so much better Cheers guy!

We're clearly running different Transformers. DICE is only as fast as Tegra2 failware allows, and Tegra2 cannot process files with bitrate>2000, or crf<21. Which happens to be every single 720p mkv release ever made. (some, like bd based releases have bitrate of 9000).
30th August 2011, 12:29 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTF

We're clearly running different Transformers. DICE is only as fast as Tegra2 failware allows, and Tegra2 cannot process files with bitrate>2000, or crf<21. Which happens to be every single 720p mkv release ever made. (some, like bd based releases have bitrate of 9000).

Na, the problem is the decoding of the ac3 stream. Combine this with the cpu usage for the video decoding and 1000Mhz is not high enough for smooth playback.

I have no problem to play high Profile 720p videos with over 2000kbit and aac audio.
24th January 2012, 08:29 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
I don't want to hijack the thread, but i was wondering if the stock rom has the required cifs module needed for cifsmanager to run....

I'm asking because i have a rooted tf101 and when i try to run cifsmanager it says superuser permission denied....does that mean it's trying to get permission to something that isn't there aka the cifs module or is there something else wrong ??

I know i'm rooted because i just did the left speaker fix.

I've tried some other cifs connection programs too and i get the same error.

if it doesn't have what i need do i have to load a new rom that has the cifs module in it or can i just install the module
25th January 2012, 02:55 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Flag Duluth
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
You probably need to read the logs; I know from exp that it works on Roach's Prime ROM's.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bandwidth, cifs, speed, stream
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes