5,599,677 Members 46,883 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] CIFS Streaming fix/optimization

Tip us?
 
bradputt
Old
(Last edited by bradputt; 29th August 2011 at 09:51 AM.)
#11  
bradputt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 761
Join Date: Jun 2010
i tried comma, semi colon

but i get "segmentation fault"

any ideas guys>???


edit: ok somehow i have to put directio first . working now.

how to check the transfer speed?
 
gns168
Old
#12  
gns168's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradputt View Post
i tried comma, semi colon

but i get "segmentation fault"

any ideas guys>???


edit: ok somehow i have to put directio first . working now.

how to check the transfer speed?
Hi,

I am having the same issues, but not following "edit: ok somehow i have to put directio first . working now."

Would it be possible for you to cut and paste how you entered your multi options in cifsmanager.

Tia
 
bradputt
Old
#13  
bradputt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 761
Join Date: Jun 2010
i typed in the options field.

directio,iocharset=utf8
 
JoeTF
Old
#14  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonoflux View Post
Confirmed. It is ****ing amazing. Well worth the coin. Regular updates, loving it.

This fix is going to make it so much better Cheers guy!
We're clearly running different Transformers. DICE is only as fast as Tegra2 failware allows, and Tegra2 cannot process files with bitrate>2000, or crf<21. Which happens to be every single 720p mkv release ever made. (some, like bd based releases have bitrate of 9000).
 
sontin
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 278
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTF View Post
We're clearly running different Transformers. DICE is only as fast as Tegra2 failware allows, and Tegra2 cannot process files with bitrate>2000, or crf<21. Which happens to be every single 720p mkv release ever made. (some, like bd based releases have bitrate of 9000).
Na, the problem is the decoding of the ac3 stream. Combine this with the cpu usage for the video decoding and 1000Mhz is not high enough for smooth playback.

I have no problem to play high Profile 720p videos with over 2000kbit and aac audio.
 
jodahall
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Calgary
I don't want to hijack the thread, but i was wondering if the stock rom has the required cifs module needed for cifsmanager to run....

I'm asking because i have a rooted tf101 and when i try to run cifsmanager it says superuser permission denied....does that mean it's trying to get permission to something that isn't there aka the cifs module or is there something else wrong ??

I know i'm rooted because i just did the left speaker fix.

I've tried some other cifs connection programs too and i get the same error.

if it doesn't have what i need do i have to load a new rom that has the cifs module in it or can i just install the module
Current devices
Bell Atrix 4G, rooted, B/L unlocked
Asus Transformer, rooted
HP touchpad
nexus one, nexus 4, nexus 7
 
Spidey01
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 1,023
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Duluth
You probably need to read the logs; I know from exp that it works on Roach's Prime ROM's.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk

- Samsung Galaxy S3 (T-Mobile )SGH-T999, stock+rooted.
- ASUS Transformer TF201 32GB, CyanogenMod.
- ASUS Transformer TF101 32GB, Prime ROM (damaged/retired).
- HTC MyTouch 4G Slide, CM 9.1-stable, retired.
- HTC MyTouch 4G, my first CyanogenMod (7.1), sold.
- LG Optimus T, stock+rooted. gifted to a beautiful Firefly.
My journal

Tags
bandwidth, cifs, speed, stream
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...