Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,050 Members 42,843 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Trick] Speed Up Satelite Fix for GPS on Android

Tip us?
 
Xenova
Old
(Last edited by Xenova; 17th August 2012 at 03:45 AM.) Reason: Improve the Script and Introduce new tool to inject AGPS
#1  
Xenova's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,306
Posts: 513
Join Date: May 2011
Angry [Trick] Speed Up Satelite Fix for GPS on Android

Guys,

I decided to write this because a lot of us here still facing GPS issue on their device. I almost give up on my HTC Desire HD because of the GPS problem. After I find this trick, now I realized that HTC devices have one of the most brilliant GPS hardware. It always get a location lock within 5 - 15 seconds.

This trick not only to speedup the satelite fixing. Some also found that it increase the reception (strong signal even during cloudy, light raining, and inside building's window). I am one of this case .

Here is the tricks. It is tested on HTC desire HD, SGSII, and speculated to work on most Android device (Please note that it is in sequential order):

Requirements:
  • Rooted Device
  • File Manager: e.g. Root Explorer


1. Searching for NTP server information
  • At the right side of webpage, there is "Active Servers". Go in and look for the setting of your 1)region and 2)country
  • For example, one's region is Europe then you write down the NTP server for that: 0.europe.pool.ntp.org; 1.europe.pool.ntp.org; 2.europe.pool.ntp.org; 3.europe.pool.ntp.org
  • Then the servers for your country from the list down there and click the link(Example: Switzerland Ś ch.pool.ntp.org; 0.ch.pool.ntp.org; 1.ch.pool.ntp.org; 2.ch.pool.ntp.org; 3.ch.pool.ntp.org
  • The "Italic" words are the information you need to jot down for later use



3. Modify the gps.conf file (Most Crucial Stage)
  • Copy the codes in grey box (in first post) to a notepad, then change the extension name from .txt to .conf then copy to your phone
  • Use file manager to copy to this location: /etc/gps.conf and replace the original gps.conf
  • Open and Edit the gps.conf using rootexplorer or others file managers
  • Change the COUNTRY and REGION in following lines with the info you got from the website just now. Keep other values unchange unless you know what it is. Example of REGION such as NorthAmerica, Asia, Africa, Europe.
  • Your new gps.conf should look as below:

NTP_SERVER=0.COUNTRY.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=1.COUNTRY.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=2.COUNTRY.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=3.COUNTRY.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=0.REGION.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=1.REGION.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=2.REGION.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=3.REGION.pool.ntp.org
NTP_SERVER=COUNTRY.pool.ntp.org <-This is changed from the top line to here. It may works better if we put it here.

XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

# DEBUG LEVELS: 0 - none, 1 - Error, 2 - Warning, 3 - Info
# 4 - Debug, 5 - Verbose
DEBUG_LEVEL =0

# Intermediate position report, 1=enable, 0=disable
INTERMEDIATE_POS=0

# Accuracy threshold for intermediate positions
# less accurate positions are ignored, 0 for passing all positions
ACCURACY_THRES=0

# Report supl ref location as position, 1=enable, 0=disable
REPORT_POSITION_USE_SUPL_REFLOC=1

# Wiper (wifi positioning), 1=enable, 0=disable
ENABLE_WIPER=1

################################
##### AGPS server settings #####
################################

# FOR SUPL SUPPORT, set the following
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
SUPL_NO_SECURE_PORT=3425
SUPL_SECURE_PORT=7275
SUPL_TLS_HOST=FQDN
SUPL_TLS_CERT=/etc/SuplRootCert

# FOR C2K PDE SUPPORT, set the following
C2K_HOST=c2k.pde.com
C2K_PORT=1234

CURRENT_CARRIER=common
DEFAULT_AGPS_ENABLE=TRUE
DEFAULT_SSL_ENABLE=FALSE

# TRUE for "User Plane", FALSE for "Control Plane"
DEFAULT_USER_PLANE=TRUE
  • Make sure the permission of the file is rw-r--r--

4. Reboot
  • Go setting, turn on your "use GPS satelites" and "Integrate Google Navigation"
  • Restart the device (normal restart)[/B]

5. Use GPS status and Toolbox
  • Tool available in market for free, please donate so developers are encouraged for better release in the future[/B]
  • Open app> tools> manage A-GPS state>Reset
  • Open app> tools> manage A-GPS state>Download
  • Optional restart device (not compulsory)
  • Use GPS status to start fixing satelites
  • Your satelite fixing speed should VERY FAST now
  • After get a successul GPS Lock, open your GPS applications and use like normal (e.g. Copilot, Sygic, or TomTom)

Extra Suggestion: Please make sure your GPS is enabled before your device is turnoff or restart. It won't actually use GPS unless you open map-related app or google.com.
CAUTION!!!: DO NOT use fasterfix after this. It will overwrite all the content in gps.conf


Credits: Thanks for JMax and Vault Killer for the gps.conf file
WARNING: Please do backup before messing with your device
Do it at your own risk, I cannot be held resposible for any damage or dysfunctional of your device



[Update: 17 August 2012]
Sometime even my phone won't work consistently. It won't able to get fix within 30seconds everytime. And i found this tool can be very very help to make sure my agps 95% up to date and thus has the best performance.

The tool is called "Leo AGPS Injector" developed by Tytung. Please click thanks or consider donation on the following post to thanks for the developer - Tytung. I have no credit at all for this tool. I just share it.
Here is the link http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1907

Step to use the tool:
  1. Install and place the widget on your home screen
  2. Ensure your GPS setting is on
  3. Make sure you're conencted to Internet / Mobile data
  4. Press on the widget to inject AGPS data
  5. Now you're good to go. The internet can be turn-off now. and your gps should work well

Note: I noticed once i connect to a big internet network (such as my university internet network). My GPS won't work anymore.
This is what i do to make it back to normal:
  1. Connect to Mobile data (3G) and use "Leo GPS injector"
  2. if it is still not working, i switch to airplane mode and back to normal mode again, then repeat step 1
And i notice, it works better if you use mobile internet, rather than fixed source internet at home. This is just what i feel, not necessary true.




Please post your feedback to let others know it works on your device model

Please click "Thanks" if you feel this post is useful for you
DHD, HOX
Useful GPS SpeedUp Trick: Click Here
How to Get More Battery from Your Android: Click Here
Things U must know about ur Battery:here
The Following 489 Users Say Thank You to Xenova For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Wacco001
Old
(Last edited by Wacco001; 29th August 2011 at 12:57 PM.)
#2  
Wacco001's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,362
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: .. just around the corner !
Thank you very much for this post.

Fortunately I've never had a GPS issue on my DHD, but still I would love to "fully" understand your solution ...
If it is possible, can you please explain what exactly these settings do, or can you post some links where I can find some extra info regarding these settings and their "´mpact" for my DHD ..

(Always curious, you know ! )

Quote:
# DEBUG LEVELS: 0 - none, 1 - Error, 2 - Warning, 3 - Info
# 4 - Debug, 5 - Verbose
DEBUG_LEVEL =0

# Intermediate position report, 1=enable, 0=disable
INTERMEDIATE_POS=0

# Accuracy threshold for intermediate positions
# less accurate positions are ignored, 0 for passing all positions
ACCURACY_THRES=0

# Report supl ref location as position, 1=enable, 0=disable
REPORT_POSITION_USE_SUPL_REFLOC=1

# Wiper (wifi positioning), 1=enable, 0=disable
ENABLE_WIPER=1

################################
##### AGPS server settings #####
################################

# FOR SUPL SUPPORT, set the following
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
SUPL_NO_SECURE_PORT=3425
SUPL_SECURE_PORT=7275
SUPL_TLS_HOST=FQDN
SUPL_TLS_CERT=/etc/SuplRootCert


# FOR C2K PDE SUPPORT, set the following
C2K_HOST=c2k.pde.com
C2K_PORT=1234

CURRENT_CARRIER=common
DEFAULT_AGPS_ENABLE=TRUE
DEFAULT_SSL_ENABLE=FALSE


# TRUE for "User Plane", FALSE for "Control Plane"
DEFAULT_USER_PLANE=TRUE

and, what exactly is meant by

Quote:
4. Reboot
Go setting, turn on your "use GPS satelites" and "Integrate Google Navigation" rw-r--r--
Restart the device (normal restart)[/B]
Do you want me to put permissions on a settings selection in the "Settings - Location" options ?

Sorry if my question is unclear, but I'm a bit puzzled by that part of your solution post.

AGAIN !! Thanks for the nice post and great effort .. Much appreciated !!

Samsung Galaxy Note II (N7100), powered by Android Revolution HD 31.0
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (N8000), powered by Android Revolution HD 11.2

How to SEARCH XDA Forums

WaccoPedia

THANKs received are appreciated !
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Wacco001 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DalSegno
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 128
Join Date: Jul 2008
Should we be removing extra lines at the top if we have less NTP servers available? For example, Canada only has 1, so should I be copying that multiple times or just put it in once?
 
Xenova
Old
(Last edited by Xenova; 29th August 2011 at 03:28 PM.)
#4  
Xenova's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,306
Posts: 513
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DalSegno View Post
Should we be removing extra lines at the top if we have less NTP servers available? For example, Canada only has 1, so should I be copying that multiple times or just put it in once?
Yes. Remove the extra lines if you need less servers for your place
DHD, HOX
Useful GPS SpeedUp Trick: Click Here
How to Get More Battery from Your Android: Click Here
Things U must know about ur Battery:here
 
Xenova
Old
(Last edited by Xenova; 29th August 2011 at 03:29 PM.)
#5  
Xenova's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,306
Posts: 513
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wacco001 View Post
Thank you very much for this post.

Fortunately I've never had a GPS issue on my DHD, but still I would love to "fully" understand your solution ...
If it is possible, can you please explain what exactly these settings do, or can you post some links where I can find some extra info regarding these settings and their "´mpact" for my DHD ..

(Always curious, you know ! )




and, what exactly is meant by



Do you want me to put permissions on a settings selection in the "Settings - Location" options ?

Sorry if my question is unclear, but I'm a bit puzzled by that part of your solution post.

AGAIN !! Thanks for the nice post and great effort .. Much appreciated !!
Hi Wacco,

That's rw--r--r things was an typo mistake, I will removed it. Thanks for pointing it out.

Unfortunately, a friend of mine send the file to me. He said all the descriptions are as per in the comment (#). I think he said he extracted from the firmware of a GPS system in my country. And i wasn't expert in GPS things, I afraid I'm not the right person to answer you Perhaps some experts may drop by and asnwer you question soon. I also wanted to know the details too
DHD, HOX
Useful GPS SpeedUp Trick: Click Here
How to Get More Battery from Your Android: Click Here
Things U must know about ur Battery:here
 
theblob27
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
The app faster fix will not work for me in my sgs2 it just shows a black screen is this step needed or can i miss it out?
The Following User Says Thank You to theblob27 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theblob27
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
Please ignore my nooby type post before i needed to upgrade my busybox duhh
 
wjsturgis3
Old
#8  
wjsturgis3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 522
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Newport News, VA
This works like a a champ. Best GPS lock time I've ever had!

Thanks a bunch.
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB Stock
Android 4.3
MK2

Spare: HTC InspireÖ 4G
Android Revolution HD-4G 6.3.1
2.6.35.14_RCMIX3D-ACS-ACE-NCR-V11.1
4EXT Recovery Touch v1.0.0.5 RC9
ACE PVT Ship S-OFF
HBOOT 0.85.0007
12.69a.60.29P_26.17.14.11_M
HTC-RIL 4.0.0015HM
SD: 16GB Class 10

Wintec FileMate Clear T720 7" Tablet
Android 4.0.3 ICS Stock
 
bongd
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 1,485
Join Date: Jun 2010
Tried it on my Motorola Atrix and it didn't make an improvement but it wasn't a detriment as well. Granted, my office is a cable head end with satellites and ****loads of cable equipment which may interfere.

I'm sure it will probably help if anything though. Thanks for the tips!
 
Xenova
Old
(Last edited by Xenova; 30th August 2011 at 02:14 AM.)
#10  
Xenova's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,306
Posts: 513
Join Date: May 2011
Yes. The surrounding is very influential to the working of GPS.
My car's windows are tinted with silver chrome tint. I nearly cannot get a single satellite fix inside my car.
But the GPS just work like charms in my bro's car with normal tints.


This trick mainly is to help users with slow GPS fix, it is not a magic
THe main idea is hope that before users mess with the risky fix (e.g. messing with hardware: physically adjust the antenna), they can try these low-risk tweak. So that they won't broke their device.

And most of the time, it is software issue, rather than hardware
DHD, HOX
Useful GPS SpeedUp Trick: Click Here
How to Get More Battery from Your Android: Click Here
Things U must know about ur Battery:here

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Xenova For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
android, fix, gps
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes