5,598,718 Members 39,504 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] video calling using just 3g and no application

Tip us?
 
thakur90
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 302
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Navi Mumbai
Default [Q] video calling using just 3g and no application

Is it possible for someone to develop a ROM that supports video calling on 3g without any application... Just using my service providers video calling service?
Or any modification to stock ROM?
thank you....

Sent from my Incredible S using Tapatalk
HTC One X+
 
KAwAtA
Old
#2  
KAwAtA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 917
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thakur90 View Post
Is it possible for someone to develop a ROM that supports video calling on 3g without any application... Just using my service providers video calling service?
Or any modification to stock ROM?
thank you....

Sent from my Incredible S using Tapatalk
That sounds impossible, correct me if I'm wrong but even the ability to call (dialer) IS an app

What you're asking sounds impossible
 
Shinugen
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2011
That's a little bit too literal..

I think OP meant no Third-Party Apps.
Just using the built-in dialer app.

I think it should be possible to re-create the dialer .apk, but I'm inclined to believe that it's pretty hard.

Good luck though!
Code:
Public Phone GetPhoneInfo()
{
   if (Phone = NULL)
   {
     Phone.setDevice("HTC_INCREDIBLE_S");
     Phone.setOS("Android 2.3.5");
     Phone.setHBoot("6.13.1002 S-OFF [Revolutionary]");
     Phone.setRadio("3805.06.03.03_M");
     Phone.setROM("Android Revolution HD 1.1.5");
     Phone.setAccessType("Root, UID 0.");
     Phone.setRecovery("4EXTRecovery v2.1.3 RC2");
   }
return Phone;
}


If I helped you, press thanks please.
 
ambuj
Old
#4  
ambuj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 603
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Singapore
In my old HTC diamond this feature was there but then there was no 3g. Now we have 3g but this feature has been withdrawn. I don't know what's the logic.
I agree this should be default in every phone.
Anyone has any update?

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using Tapatalk
 
KAwAtA
Old
#5  
KAwAtA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 917
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinugen View Post
That's a little bit too literal..

I think OP meant no Third-Party Apps.
Just using the built-in dialer app.
Ahh I see, still.. that probably wouldn't be too easy to do. (Although I think they could probably manage it.. however coming from the nexus one/incredible s and now the atrix.. I've never seen someone do something big like this on xda yet!) so probably possible but is it likely? I don't think so!
 
thakur90
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 302
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Navi Mumbai
Don't own one but I guess galaxy phones support this feature right? Even symbian... Just saying... I had a Samsung wave earlier and it had touchwiz... And supported direct video calling based on my 3G network....

Sent from my Incredible S using Tapatalk
HTC One X+
 
DJjay18
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex
It's bizarre how there's no 3G video call solution anymore on HTC phones. I used to call my girlfriend on her LG phone and mine was an old Nokia 6700 Slide (running different operating systems) and it worked fine, albeit pretty blocky picture quality.
Samsung Galaxy S4 9505 - GoldenEye version 15
Formerly the trusty HTC Incredible S, running Android Revolution 1.1.6
 
andrewxu
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 1,855
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thakur90 View Post
Don't own one but I guess galaxy phones support this feature right? Even symbian... Just saying... I had a Samsung wave earlier and it had touchwiz... And supported direct video calling based on my 3G network....

Sent from my Incredible S using Tapatalk
I think Sammy phones can do a lot more just because of their proprietary file system.

It's like touchwiz on older phones is just bada OS with Android compatibility hacked in (galaxy s were supposed to be bada OS until Android caught on). At least that's the explanation I've heard. I believe it 100%, because when I had a vibrant all the roms HAD to be based off of touchwiz somehow or another, except for cm7, and cm7 just as bad as android ports to Windows phones, so it seemed like an 'Android port' to me

Sorry for rambling haha

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using Tapatalk
 
suaji
Old
#9  
suaji's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 125
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kota Bharu - Seri Kembangan

 
DONATE TO ME
i thought will have 3G Call direct from this phone..
 
scoobysnacks
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 595
Posts: 2,928
Join Date: Jul 2011
my question is why is it important to you guys not to use an application?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more