Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,147 Members 48,673 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TUTORIAL]How to Customize your Status Bar Icons!!!

Tip us?
knowledge561 Old
(Last edited by NRGZ28; 6th September 2011 at 09:30 PM.)
#1  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
Angry [TUTORIAL]How to Customize your Status Bar Icons!!!

Alot of people ask me how I get certain icons in my status bar. Simple explanation, I replace the previous ones.


How do we replace them you ask? Well that is what I am here to teach you. Before I do that, I want to thank GOMORRAH for the framework and systemui icons. I see him as one of the best themers on xda and he inspires a lot of my work and I love recreating his setups. I WILL NOT BE SHARING HIS ICONS. I also want to thank RAADIUS for the Tape and Vinyl music widgets on my homescreen. I also see him as one of the best themers on xda as well. He taught me alot when I had my Evo 4G, only thing is he was on MIUI and I was on CM7.

Now lets get down to business.
Things you will need: ADB Knowledge, 7-zip file manager, Icons:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1218876 and time. Lots and lots of time.

The first thing your gonna want are icons. I have included a link to the MIUI Carrier Logos thread where I get a lot of my stuff. You can make some also if you want. The preferred size is 38x38, 40x42. The backgrounds have to be transparent and they have to be saved as .png files.

Now that we have our icons, lets get adb started. This is why android-sdk is installed on our pcs' if you didnt know. Your gonna want to go to your android-sdk folder, and either look in tools or platform-tools. ADB will be in either one of these, depending on your setup.
See mines:


Now slow down, we don't want to just click it as is because it won't open. We will have to go up one folder, hold down shift+right click on the folder where adb is and select "Open Command Window Here"
Like this:


Then a command prompt will open up, such as so:


Okay, lets prep the phone. There are 2 ways to do this, wirelessly through adb wireless or plugged in.
Wirelessly: Open up adb wireless and turn it on, it will give you a address that you enter in the command prompt. I'll be doing it this way since I have no idea where my phone is right now but I know adb wireless is turned on already.
Plugged in: Plug the phone into your pc and make sure it is on CHARGE only.

Okay lets get the command going here.
Adb Wireless only, type "adb connect [your address here]". Your phone will connect now.

For everyone. Type "adb devices" this will list the devices connected and your phone should pop up with a long serial number. Type "adb remount" this will mount the phone as writable so we can access root.

Okay here's the selection. The alarm clock, wifi icons, 3g and 1x icons, headphones, vibrate and silent, gps-on and gps-off, and gps-acquiring icons are located in SystemUI.apk in /system/app. The battery icons are located in framework-res.apk in /system/framework. I will be showing you how to do the alarm clock so were gonna mod th SystemUI.apk with this tutorial. It's the same steps for all icons.

Type "adb pull /system/app/SystemUI.apk" this will copy the SystemUI.apk to the same folder where adb is. See SUCCESS


Now that we have the apk copied, lets open her up and do things to her. <--You like what I said there.

Right click on the file and select 7-zip, open archive. Navigate to /res/drawable-hdpi This is where the icons are. The easiest thing to do right here, is copy the entire drawable-res folder to the desktop(Keep the 7-zip folder open though) so you can see the icons in the folder. That way you can connect the names with what they look like. For example, your not gonna know what the alarm clock icon is called but you know what it looks like right?


Yea, so we browse through the folder until we see it. FOUND IT. Now copy the name of it to the new icon your replacing it with. I replaced mines with the kanye bear icon. So now my kanye bear will be the new alarm clock icon because it is named Stat_notify_alarm.png which is the original name of our original alarm clock icon.


If you modded just one icon, drag it into the 7-zipped apk folder we left open. If you modded more than one icon, then drag them all in. This comes in handy when your doing the battery icons. You don't want to drag 101 battery icons individually. It will ask you to "Copy" them. Choose yes. In this case, copy means "Overwrite." That will mod the apk with the icons you wanted.



Once its done copying, close the 7-zip folder, close the drawable folder that you copied where-ever. Close all folders that you don't feel are necessary to be open. You should still have your folder where adb is still open though, and your command prompt.

Time to push the apk back to your phone.
Type "adb push SystemUI.apk /system/app" and that will move it back. If you look at your phone, your status bar should have completely disappeared. No pulldown either. This is means your phone is waiting for a reboot.
Type "adb reboot" Once your phone is done, you will see your new icon in the status bar.
THE GREY ERRORS I MARKED OUT BECAUSE THEY SAY ERROR: DEVICE NOT FOUND. THATS BECAUSE I DIDNT WANT TO PUSH IT BACK TO MY PHONE. I DIDNT FEEL LIKE RESTARTING IT IN THE MIDDLE OF A CHARGE CYCLE! On yours it will give the copy speed.


That is it. Enjoy your new icons.
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thizzlemania91
Old
#2  
thizzlemania91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,530
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Cruz,CA
Yo, did you use Adobe to fix your icons to specific sizes. You made this tutorial very noob friendly by way
knowledge561 Old
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
Yeah photoshop
 
dased14
Old
#4  
dased14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7,115
Posts: 7,350
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: cincy,ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice tutorial knowledge

My rice krispies told me what to say
 
tbistone
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jun 2010
Can you do this without root?
knowledge561 Old
#6  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
Unfortunately, you need root.

Free Dirk!!!
 
tbistone
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jun 2010
booooooooooooooooo =[[ when i root i suppose ill check this out!!! thanks the for the info

Anybody suggest a certain root method?
 
mykrlz182
Old
#8  
mykrlz182's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 99
Join Date: Sep 2010
Can I use Gimp to resize, tweak icons?

Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk
 
thizzlemania91
Old
#9  
thizzlemania91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,530
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Cruz,CA
alrite so when i attempt to pull out SystemUI.apk it gives me the the same line with the data and everything, but when i look in the platform-tools folder i dont c the apk
knowledge561 Old
#10  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thizzlemania91 View Post
alrite so when i attempt to pull out SystemUI.apk it gives me the the same line with the data and everything, but when i look in the platform-tools folder i dont c the apk
Out of all the errors, u get that? Check your tools folder. Remember, it depends on where adb is.

Free Dirk!!!

Tags
bar, customize, icons, status, tutorial
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more