Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Charger getting hot | Controller for quake

OP Humper.GFX

5th September 2011, 09:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Hi guys, I got 2 subject so I thought I'll just make one thread for this.

I'm from EU so I used my US charger with an other plug. Seemed to
work great, doesn't complain like it does with my HTC phone charger.

But now the charger gets pretty hot, along with the USBplug that is in the charger. Should I be worried? I would say its about 50-70celsius.

_______________________

So I got Quake from preware, but it doesn't work with touch only (even tho there r touch controls?) so Im wondering if its possible to get it working with this:
http://icontrolpad.com/

That would be nice with the snes emulator also so I might buy it, its very expensive tho but I like the oldschool'ness of it.
6th September 2011, 09:15 AM   |  #2  
Troute's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Location Location.
Thanks Meter: 169
 
1,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
You're likely to burn it out if you keep using it, don't leave it on unattended.
6th September 2011, 02:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troute

You're likely to burn it out if you keep using it, don't leave it on unattended.

Sure? Does your get hot?

The charger should handle ~220v as we got here. So I don't get why this shouldn't work.
6th September 2011, 02:02 PM   |  #4  
Adonis K.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Isnt there a way to find a compatible European charger without paying 30$ for the travel pack?
6th September 2011, 02:45 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag High Wycombe
Thanks Meter: 45
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Pretty much any micro-USB charge will charge the Touchpad, it is just some will be quicker than others. I am charging from the USB port on my laptop at the moment and it has upped the charge by 8% in the last hour or so with the screen off.
6th September 2011, 02:46 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarchant

Pretty much any micro-USB charge will charge the Touchpad, it is just some will be quicker than others. I am charging from the USB port on my laptop at the moment and it has upped the charge by 8% in the last hour or so with the screen off.

Yeah but the normal one gives about 30% on that time. But as I said, it should work, no problem. I don't think its uncommon for it to get hot but I'm not sure tho
6th September 2011, 02:55 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag High Wycombe
Thanks Meter: 45
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
My official charger gets quite warm, together with the USB plug. Clearly that is the only device that will charge at full speed and without a warning on the screen. However, as I was trying to point out, you don't have to go down the official charger route if you are prepared to either accept the on-screen warning or a slower charge rate. The Blackberry Playbook charger gives 5V 2A and although it comes up with the on-screen warning charges almost as quickly as the official unit.
6th September 2011, 03:33 PM   |  #8  
Troute's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Location Location.
Thanks Meter: 169
 
1,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I bought one of these http://www.mymemory.co.uk/iPod---iPa...od_iPhone_iPad the other day, rated at 2.1 amps (though the unit shows 3 amps). I get the dire message about not enough voltage or current but it works fine and quickly. Obviously I don't use the supplied Apple cable...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes