Post Reply

Easy ROOT/UNROOT from Recovery Mode

8th September 2011, 10:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
I've made 2 update files to Root and Unroot i9001 from Recovery Mode

Pro:
  • Any ROM for i9001
  • Without Odin and Multidownloader
  • Easy unroot

Short Howto

WARNING!
You are responsible for your Phone! Blah Blah Blah... I am not responsible for your bricked phones.


To ROOT
  1. Put Root-i9001-Signed.zip into internal sdcard
  2. Reboot into Recovery mode (see here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=19 thanks to RiverSource)
  3. Use Volume buttons to choose apply update from sdcard in Recovery Menu.
  4. Press Home button to submit.
  5. Use Volume buttons to choose Root-i9001-Signed.zip on sdcard
  6. Press Home button to start update.
  7. 2 seconds and Root is installed.
  8. Choose reboot system now and press Home button to reboot your phone.


To UNROOT
  1. Put UnRoot-i9001-Signed.zip into internal sdcard
  2. Reboot into Recovery mode
  3. Use Volume buttons to choose apply update from sdcard in Recovery Menu.
  4. Press Home button to submit.
  5. Use Volume buttons to choose UnRoot-i9001-Signed.zip on sdcard
  6. Press Home button to start update.
  7. 1 second and Root is gone.
  8. Choose reboot system now and press Home button to reboot your phone.



UPDATE 09.09.2011

Please use this way to Recovery Mode: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=19 thanks to RiverSource


The old way
Do not use it.
For easy reboot into Recovery Mode.
I've made Easy Reboot Recovery.zip. It contains adb.exe, 2 dl from Adroid SDK, and RebootRecovery.bat.

To reboot into Recovery Mode make sure that drivers for phone are installed.

Enable USB Debugging (Phone Setting > Applications >Development > USB Debugging should be checked)

Connect your phone to PC with USB cable and run RebootRecovery.bat
The phone will reboot into Recovery mode.
When you see white box with an arrow and droid, Press Menu button to open Recovery menu.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Root-i9001-Signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (506.2 KB, 359783 views)
File Type: zip UnRoot-i9001-Signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (118.7 KB, 105256 views)
File Type: zip Easy Reboot Recovery.zip - [Click for QR Code] (243.7 KB, 85900 views)
Last edited by KeksKlip; 9th September 2011 at 11:29 AM.
The Following 111 Users Say Thank You to KeksKlip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th September 2011, 01:12 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Has anyone tried this?
Sry for not trusting u =P
I'd try out by myself but i dont own the i9001.
My girlfriend does and she is quite anxious about rooting a phone and those hidden menus blablah...
So if i root her phone and anything is not workin as ill explain, im doomed
The Following User Says Thank You to lololololol For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th September 2011, 02:25 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Winschoten
Thanks Meter: 16
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Thumbs up Root from recovery menu
I just tried this method with the I9001XXKP4 ROM and it worked fine.
SuperUser was installed, and I'm now restoring my apps+settings with Titanium.

It was actually an easy root method, just don't forget to plug in your USB cable before you press [VolUp + Home + Power]

Kudos + thanks for KeksKlip !
The Following User Says Thank You to djsadhu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th September 2011, 05:07 PM   |  #4  
shad0wboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Genève
Thanks Meter: 144
 
1,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Thank you very much indeed !
8th September 2011, 05:15 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hi.

I tried this > copied the root file to my micro-sd card, then turn off the phone and power up again with volup+home+pwr and my phone goes into RAM DUMP MODE because of a forced upload?

After removing the battery phone restarts as normal. What to do to root?
8th September 2011, 05:19 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikz.nl

Hi.

I tried this > copied the root file to my micro-sd card, then turn off the phone and power up again with volup+home+pwr and my phone goes into RAM DUMP MODE because of a forced upload?

After removing the battery phone restarts as normal. What to do to root?

Please, try Easy Reboot Recovery.zip (find in attachments) to reboot into recovery mode.
Last edited by KeksKlip; 8th September 2011 at 05:26 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KeksKlip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th September 2011, 06:16 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeksKlip

Please, try Easy Reboot Recovery.zip (find in attachments) to reboot into recovery mode.

Phone is connected.
I get an error:

* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
error: device not found

OS: Win7 Home 64-bit

Any help?
8th September 2011, 06:33 PM   |  #8  
shad0wboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Genève
Thanks Meter: 144
 
1,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtonial

Phone is connected.
I get an error:

* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
error: device not found

OS: Win7 Home 64-bit

Any help?

Check the drivers...i don't think your device drivers are installed.
8th September 2011, 06:38 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtonial

Phone is connected.
I get an error:

* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
error: device not found

OS: Win7 Home 64-bit

Any help?

You need phone drivers for USB
You should install Samsung Kies
or just Drivers google for "SAMSUNG_USB_Driver_for_Mobile_Phones.exe"

Sorry, it's not aloud me to post links
The Following User Says Thank You to KeksKlip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th September 2011, 07:27 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hi KeksKlip, I got that same issue: device not found.

Kies is installed, and finds my device.

Phone is version I9001 XXKG1, FW 2.3.3

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes