Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,296 Members 51,559 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Samsung boot animations

Tip us?
 
Reborn627
Old
#1  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 309
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
Default Samsung boot animations

I've not seen this listed in the continuum forums so I thought I'd post the link. I'm pretty tired of seeing Verizon every time I reboot my phone. The shutdown animations are easy enough to change but I've had little luck finding or figuring out the .qmg file thing. I was poking around and I found this thread in the Epic forums. I am currently running the Charge boot animation and it works great. The one hitch, after you install through recovery you'll need to go in an explorer, I use root explorer, to system/media and rename the your bootsamsung.qmg to something like boot.sam and rename the bootani.qmg file to bootsamsung.qmg. Hope you anjoy. Credit goes to nubecoder.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1206374

Peace,
Ray
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Reborn627 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ciscogee
Old
(Last edited by ciscogee; 9th September 2011 at 07:32 PM.)
#2  
ciscogee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 879
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wa State

 
DONATE TO ME
Good find

Looks Like once you rename the files after the flash, you can reflash another without having to change names again.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
posted via esp with help from fingers
 
trailblazer101
Old
#3  
trailblazer101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 292
Posts: 784
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for this!

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
Samsung Continuum: The Phone That Could-- With a Community To Match.
 
espidroid
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default messed up somewhere

I did the whole rename thing but when i did it they came together(the names) then i didnt know which was which. Anyway some how i got boot.ani boot.sam & bootsamsung on there. dont know how to get back, any help would be much appreciated. Now all i get is the droid charge sound but no animation
 
Reborn627
Old
#5  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 309
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
The one you want to use has to have the .qmg file extension. So, it would be bootsamsung.qmg

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding; and in all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:56

Samsung Gallaxy S3 - Mastamoon CM10.2 w/ GideonX BMS 3.4.y
Amazon Kindle Fire HD - Hashcode CM10.1
Samsun Continuum - Ciscogee EG04 Gingerbread
 
espidroid
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Sorry please forgive my ignorance. What do I do with that file exactly? You said use it? How?
 
Reborn627
Old
#7  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 309
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
You use CWM recovery to flash it. Once flashed you need to rename the files as outlined above.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding; and in all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:56

Samsung Gallaxy S3 - Mastamoon CM10.2 w/ GideonX BMS 3.4.y
Amazon Kindle Fire HD - Hashcode CM10.1
Samsun Continuum - Ciscogee EG04 Gingerbread
 
espidroid
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
I did that, and the first reboot had started with the continuum boot then showed the droid eye, then came on. After i changed the names but somehow got boot.sam, bootani.qmg, bootsamsung.qmg all in the media folder. Now I can hear the droid charge boot animation just cant see it. Was thinking should i just reflash the DC07 rom. then try this again or is there an easier way? Thanks
 
Reborn627
Old
#9  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 309
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
No need to reflash the ROM. I'd reflash the shutdowns and repeat the process. I've not got a clue what you might have done.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding; and in all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:56

Samsung Gallaxy S3 - Mastamoon CM10.2 w/ GideonX BMS 3.4.y
Amazon Kindle Fire HD - Hashcode CM10.1
Samsun Continuum - Ciscogee EG04 Gingerbread
 
espidroid
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok, thanks a bunch, think Ive got it now.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more