5,598,820 Members 32,406 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Samsung boot animations

Tip us?
 
Reborn627
Old
#1  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 303
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
Default Samsung boot animations

I've not seen this listed in the continuum forums so I thought I'd post the link. I'm pretty tired of seeing Verizon every time I reboot my phone. The shutdown animations are easy enough to change but I've had little luck finding or figuring out the .qmg file thing. I was poking around and I found this thread in the Epic forums. I am currently running the Charge boot animation and it works great. The one hitch, after you install through recovery you'll need to go in an explorer, I use root explorer, to system/media and rename the your bootsamsung.qmg to something like boot.sam and rename the bootani.qmg file to bootsamsung.qmg. Hope you anjoy. Credit goes to nubecoder.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1206374

Peace,
Ray
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Reborn627 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ciscogee
Old
(Last edited by ciscogee; 9th September 2011 at 07:32 PM.)
#2  
ciscogee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 878
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wa State

 
DONATE TO ME
Good find

Looks Like once you rename the files after the flash, you can reflash another without having to change names again.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
posted via esp with help from fingers
 
trailblazer101
Old
#3  
trailblazer101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 292
Posts: 783
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for this!

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
Samsung Continuum, The Phone That Could-- With a Community To Match.
 
espidroid
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default messed up somewhere

I did the whole rename thing but when i did it they came together(the names) then i didnt know which was which. Anyway some how i got boot.ani boot.sam & bootsamsung on there. dont know how to get back, any help would be much appreciated. Now all i get is the droid charge sound but no animation
 
Reborn627
Old
#5  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 303
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
The one you want to use has to have the .qmg file extension. So, it would be bootsamsung.qmg

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding; and in all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:56

Samsung Gallaxy S3 - Mastamoon CM10.2 w/ GideonX BMS 3.4.y
Amazon Kindle Fire HD - Hashcode CM10.1
Samsun Continuum - Ciscogee EG04 Gingerbread
 
espidroid
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Sorry please forgive my ignorance. What do I do with that file exactly? You said use it? How?
 
Reborn627
Old
#7  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 303
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
You use CWM recovery to flash it. Once flashed you need to rename the files as outlined above.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding; and in all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:56

Samsung Gallaxy S3 - Mastamoon CM10.2 w/ GideonX BMS 3.4.y
Amazon Kindle Fire HD - Hashcode CM10.1
Samsun Continuum - Ciscogee EG04 Gingerbread
 
espidroid
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
I did that, and the first reboot had started with the continuum boot then showed the droid eye, then came on. After i changed the names but somehow got boot.sam, bootani.qmg, bootsamsung.qmg all in the media folder. Now I can hear the droid charge boot animation just cant see it. Was thinking should i just reflash the DC07 rom. then try this again or is there an easier way? Thanks
 
Reborn627
Old
#9  
Reborn627's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 303
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
No need to reflash the ROM. I'd reflash the shutdowns and repeat the process. I've not got a clue what you might have done.

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding; and in all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths." Proverbs 3:56

Samsung Gallaxy S3 - Mastamoon CM10.2 w/ GideonX BMS 3.4.y
Amazon Kindle Fire HD - Hashcode CM10.1
Samsun Continuum - Ciscogee EG04 Gingerbread
 
espidroid
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok, thanks a bunch, think Ive got it now.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more